Ah this is too much, he hit Canty with a shoulder! On the ball may I add, to which Canty retaliated.
There’s no talking to you on this matter it seems, completely biased.
Ah this is too much, he hit Canty with a shoulder! On the ball may I add, to which Canty retaliated.
There’s no talking to you on this matter it seems, completely biased.
I can’t have that…Cadogan was mouthing off and got a finger in the mouth, he didn’t fish hook him or try and rip the jaw off him, it was done to shut him up and irritate him not to cause malaise…Kavanagh’s was twice as bad in my opinion, putting your two hands around an opponents throats carries far more implications and can do untold damage, if anyone has even got an innocuous belt into the throat playing a match will know the damage it does…
People are ignoring the underlying reasons for this anti-Galvin stuff as well. Cork are bitter as fuck over Kerry continually beating them when they have notions of winning the All Ireland themselves. Sure in 1998 didn’t Frank Murphy make is a personal mission to screw Clare after we hammered them in the first round. They were convinced they were going to win the All Ireland that year as well until we showed them how far away the were. As ever, they’re will be plenty of them who prefer making villians of the opposition to looking at their own faults. There’s nothing new about this.
He went with the fist. Now fuck off, your annoying me.
Pukey, he did pull in my opinion. Kavanagh shouldn’t have done what he did, not arguing that, but he was never going to damage him.
No mouthing deserves that though, from either player. Gooch is recognized as a sneaky cunt at times, and Kavanagh was reacting i’d say to that.
I wouldn’t argue red for Kavanagh, and i would have no objections is Galvin got 3-6 months. He needs to learn. He needs to be seriously suspended. He must be a stupid enough fucker not to be able to learn.
Ah here.
No way could Kavanaghs have “possibly” been a red and Galvins 3-6 months.
If somebody asked me what I’d prefer to happen me on the pitch I’d pick Paul Galvin sticking his finger in my mouth any day.
Now who’s telling lies. Did you read Donal Og’s book, Cork really appreciated that game against Clare, as you said it showed what was needed, but Cork, and i remember this clearly, never thought we were going to win an All-Ireland that year, for fuck sake '99 was still a massive surprise.
And on the Kerry thing, we ain’t bitter. Kerry have been beating us for donkeys years, with teams better than what we have now. They are better at the game, they are better set up for the game (for now) and they only really have one game. As Noelie said recently loosing to Kerry is nothing new, we’ve come back and beaten them before, we beat them 7 times in a row one time, but they came back.
I am a huge admirer of Kerry football, if you actually read what i post you’d get that. I don’t like the way some of the present team carry on. Aidan O’ Mahoney, Tom Sullivan, Galvin to name a few lack a bit of class when they win.
You’d want to stop living in the 90’s as well, hurling has moved on. If we go comparing records you’ll have logged out fairly quickly.
But you could say the same thing about galvan Kev…Galvan was acting the runt but wasn’t acting with malaise…
Jesus ye’re all a bit soft are ye, if someone caught me by the throat like that i’d just hit him a box.
The players did, but the players aren’t leading the whinge against Galvin either. Read Sean Kelly’s book to see what the auld boys thought. He was Munster Council Chairman at the time and he said the Cork and Tipp boys were out to do Clare no matter what it took.
Sadly kev, the fact that you can’t see any connection between the venom against Galvin and the recent defeats to Kerry make you look ridiculous. And don’t go crying about anti-Cork bias either.
Couldnt have put it better myself. Seems to me that the only people taking issue with Galvin are Cork people who are biased anyway. Its a with hunt and to call it anything else is straight up ignorance and bitterness.
How does your reaction change the intent of the act?
In my opinion, the two Cork lads are projecting here. It’s easier to vent at Galvin that look inward at the fact their team couldn’t close out a winning position yet again. I don’t have an issue with what Galvin did. Similarly, I wouldn’t have sent Derek Kavanagh off either. It’s championship football with a hard edge – there’ll be flashpoints; they’ll be dealt with at the time, which they were by Pat McEnaney, and the game moves on. Players have different characteristics on the field and some, like Galvin, are spiky and aggressive – it works for Galvin and I imagine he’ll retain that edge. It can get him into trouble, and has done in the past, but I didn’t see much in what happened on Sunday and I thought his reputation preceded him. As Kevin has spoken to people who were disgusted by it, I’ve spoken to quite a number who had a similar view to myself.
Something that needs to be looked at is the CCCCCCCC in all of this – what’s the current system? Did they ask McEnaney to revisit it or is the review taken out of the referees hands? I should know this but I haven’t been keeping abreast of the media too closely this week. If it was the former, then I imagine McEnaney would have seen what happened with Brian Crowe when he decided not to retrospectively rule Noel O’Leary out of the final a few years back. I don’t think he’s been given a big game by Croke Park since and I imagine McEnaney would like to get another All Ireland or two over the next few years.
I believe Pat Mc was asked to review the tape are a result of it being highlighted on the sunday game. I have no problem with that per se, I would argue that its most definitely not worth 8 weeks, but what sickens me is the sunday game being allowed be judge and jury on such matters. If they wish to go down this route, as you pointed out earlier in this thread bandage, then every game needs to be treated equally.
Again I refer to the example of Shane O Rourke, do you think an incident with him will be reviewed like Galvins was should one arise? It will in its hole. Its not right, and Galvin is being scapegoated here because of his profile.
Well the 8 weeks is a bit misleading.
He got 4 weeks, it’s only 8 weeks because of previous indiscretions.
I understand that runt, but its still not exactly right is it? I would also argue that he got 8 weeks the last time, surely the slate should be wiped clean at that point and move on again? The rules are still a mess and its not good enough to have us raving on for pages on a thread here over an issue that has been a problem in GAA for some years now, a decent disciplinary system.
Your opinion again is very wrong. Go back a few pages for proof. I am well aware of Corks failure to close out games.
WTB - I have long time hated the CCB of that time, i wouldn’t defend them one bit. I was defending the players and the general feeling of Cork GAA people of the time. There is a massive difference between those 2 groups and the Cork CB, as you know well.
No Cork official asked for anything to be looked at, none of them commented on it in anyway, it was pundits, journalists and former players. And, according to the CCCC themselves (not sure what to believe mind you) they did look at several incidents in every game from the weekend.
Citing is not the way to go with a amateur sport like the GAA games. Would cause absolute consternation.
I’ve said enough, most of the time on here debates generally mirror closely enough what i hear in the club, on the street, talking to friends and random ors the same. This one doesn’t, and as a place full of anti Corkies, its hardly surprising. Ye really are boring now.
Of course previous misdemeanor matters, and should be punished. To say they shouldn’t be is beyond idiocy. I’m getting the feeling your actually a mate of Galvins.
Previous misdemeanours should no longer matter once time is paid. Galvin done 8 weeks for his last indiscretion (which we should remember was provoked by the same individual as involved on Sunday). Why punish him on the double twice? Ridiculous system. You’re incredibly biased on this matter of course.