Official All Ireland Senior Football Championship 2011 Thread

no one really mac, if there was a bigger league format obviously there would be huge potential ala opta and prozoneā€¦

Coaches, trainers, bookies, professional gamblers, the media etc. Loads of people would be interested.

Teams generally now have computerized programs that generate stats from an easy entry system, players get their stats at half time in some cases. We were looking at building a program at one time and came across alot of whats out there. We didnā€™t have the time or the money to invest to do anything better than what was there so forgot about it.

just after watching a bit of gaelic football there.

have to say i couldnt disagree more with RTE panellists and those on here. didnt think the Dublin v Kildare game was up to much really. Competitive sure although Dublin seemed comfortable for most of the second half. Thought the first 20 minutes or so were dire. So many wrong options taken in the opposition halves.

The referee was simply atrocious, I thought 4 of Broganā€™s frees were ridiculously harsh. There was a square ball given against Sweeney in the first half that was ridiculous and Cluxton got away with a very soft free when the ball got stuck between his legs in the second half. Joe McQuillan the ref in the other game wouldnt have given them for sure. The refereeing in both games was completely inconsistent. Also didnt think Alan Brogan was as good as some on here made out. Twice in the second half he should have laid on goals, one for Connolly and for his brother. Felt Dublin were better alright, Flynn had the upperhand on Bolton who disappointed me. Kavanagh too was a disappointment as I think he is a good player.

Think the scoreline flatters Kildare I must say. Their full back line was excellent alright playing behind a poor half back line and midfield. B Brogan was well held by his young marker Lyons, only one cracking score from play which to be fair to his marker he made him earn it. A stupid yellow given to him by the ref too but he had a great game despite Spillane at half time saying it was a mistake to put it on him. MacLochlain should have started, White was terrible really. But I couldnt get over the decision to leave Doyle in midfield. It beggared belief with Dublin fielding a rookie corner back that the wily Doyle wasnt put in there or even on Oā€™Carroll. Instead McGeeney stupidly put in Lynch full forward and went for Wimbledon tactics near the end which of course suited the team with the man less. Oā€™Callaghan didnt play great but is a good forward. Leaving him on eventually played dividends. Doyle too could have made a score for himself or two if given a chance in there but instead McGeeney went for three big lads which was the height of stupidity. Earley is a huge loss at midfield, too much for Kildare really. That Mikey Conway would be a big plus at wing back too. Oā€™Flaherty was good from open play, always worth having forwards who can score imo.

Dublin will be happy to have seen it out. They protected the scoring area well until late on. Brennan I dont really rate but Oā€™Caroll was excellent as was Conlon. Think McMahon might get in ahead of Fitzsimons the next day. Tight call though. Felt their wing backs defended well in the main (until Oā€™Callaghan got a late run on McCarthy) but they arent great on the ball. They were simply appalling in midfield in the second half. With 14 men having two immobile options in Fennell and Bastick made no sense. Hardly remember Bastick touch the ball while Fennell made a contribution tripping up a Kildare lad in the build up to Flynnā€™s point. Cullen started well but faded badly again with an awful wide in the second half. Flynn as Ive said played well and A Brogan settled down after his point after about 20 mins as I thought he was one of many forwards to have started poorly. The opposite was true for Connolly who lost confidence after his missed goal chance but then again should have been played in by Brogan in the second half. Think Gilroy should have shown some faith in him though and left him on a bit longer. Oā€™Gara was fouled for two scored frees in the first half and I think also had an assist. His yellow was nonsensical I thought but his second one could have been a straight red. The kind of stupidity that would have cost Dublin against a better side. B Brogan was quieter than usual, always a threat but his playing for fouls might not pay dividends against a better ref. Once again the Dublin subs were poor when introduced and still think Gilroy has a good bit to learn on the bench.

Didnt watch all the Tyrone v Donegal game but saw enough. Tyrone really should have had a 6 or 7 point lead at half time. They were cruising. Donegal are certainly more disciplined and dogged than in recent years but are a very limited team. Their two forwards who are the only ones who can seemingly kick the ball were poor - McFadden and Murphy. I felt the game hinged on a refereeing decision, McQuilan had a good game but the failure to send off McLoone for an assault on Joe McMahon was crucial. McMahon had to leave injured when he had Murphy well beaten and his brother came on in his place and didnt look fit. Murphy was involved in the first goal, so was Karl Leacy who was excellent. Im nearly sure it was Justin McMahon who was at fault for the second goal. Kevin Hughes shouldnt have been sent off either, disappointed in Michael Hegarty going down like that. Always respected him as a player. Tyrone made big mistakes on the sideline too, doesnt seem as if Dooher, Oā€™Neill and McGuigan are 70 min men anymore. Dooher stayed on 20 mins more than he should have. Mulligan wasnt great but should have stayed on longer than Dooher. No need to start with all of them anyway. They were unlucky Penrose was sick as he was decent when he came on. Peter Harte missed a few very scoreable frees and the other new guy Donnelly made no impact so not sure if they have much youth coming through. Tyrone were the only side that tried to play football though it must be said but will need a handy qualifier run to get back in the mix I reckon. Kevin Cassidy and Leacy were the best players on view but Donegal were muck at midfield and think they will struggle to put up decent scores later in the year.

I agree with most of what you say there, didnā€™t think the match was up to much myself. Expect the quality in Killarney to be a notch above, all bias aside.

I just want to know where you copy and pasted it from, reading other sites iā€™d say? :rolleyes: :lol:

Anyway i havenā€™t seen Tyrone in that game yet, but on that Donnelly fella, iā€™ve only seen him maybe 4 times, but have never been impressed. Cannot believe he is in ahead of some other Tyrone players.

Donegal do have limitations, but they have got to their system far quicker than say Dublin have, who still struggle with theirs. Maybe J M cG being with the 21ā€™s fast tracked it i donā€™t know. He has also seemingly got the best out of McFadden and they have this other wonderkid coming through on top of Murphy. In a transfer market iā€™d take Murphy over anyone, considering age and his ability to play anywhere from No.8 on, his toughness and scoring ability. An out and out phenom in the making. He is getting really good at bring others into the game.

McBrearty from Kilcar.

Only 17 or 18 years old. Doesnā€™t drink or smoke and totally committed to football by all accounts. A star in the making.

Thats the boy i think, already on the panel ya? arenā€™t the Aussies mad after him or is that another Donegal kid?

By the way, on a slightly related point to farmers about drinking and smoking. I had noticed before i left over the past 2-3 years that the young players coming through now are seriously committed. Even at home in our own club the majority of them think nothing training 4-5 days a week and eating well, hitting the gym etc. I have noticed a few older county players comment on it as well recently.

He played against Cavan at corner forward. Got a goal.

He played against Tyrone as well and scored a point anyway, maybe more.

Havenā€™t heard of Aussie interest but there may well be some.

Doengal are a decent side with a good manager. Wouldnā€™t be surprised to see them make the semis at least.

Jesus, that lads a Minor? Whats the story with young Donegal lads having huge legs? Running in the dunes is it?

Brian Dooher has been playing for Tyrone longer than McBrearty has been alive.

Mad.

Give him time :wink:

Some talent alright though. Him, McFadden and Murphy is some forward line regardless of their rumoured negative tactics (something I donā€™t entirely buy into).

McBrearty and Murphy are very young as well. Throw in Mark McHugh who is only around 20 and you have a three great forwards for the future.

Was told today they are expecting Cork crowd to outnumber kerry 5 to 1 on sunday and the locals are saying there is double the accommodation queries from last year, when 35k Cork people went down. Iā€™d fucking love to be down there.

Anyway, annoying travelling Animals in Brizzie will be fun too.

Donegal have good talent in the forwards in Murphy, McFadden, McBrearty and Molloy but they play a horrible style. I will certainly be hoping Derry beat them and I think they will. Could see Donegal sneak into a quarter final but the semis will be beyond them Iā€™d say. They could always draw the Connacht winners of course though. The Ulster and Connacht final losers will have a tough time of it in the Round 4 qualifier as they will more than likely have to play six days later.

I thought I heard somewhere that McBrearty is eligible for the minor again next year although open to correction on that.

I googled him and he played u16 in 09. That doesnā€™t answer anything really, but iā€™m amazed heā€™s such a central player already. fair play to the fucker.

Cork v Kerry in Killarney last year was hardly top notch.

Surprised with some of the criticism of the Dublin v Kildare match, Iā€™d rank it as the best this yar so far, just ahead of Armagh v Down and Derry v Armagh. Both teams clearly have room to improve. Iā€™ve been disappointed with the quality of the football chapionship overall however, itā€™s well behind the standard of last years at the same point. Too much negativity. Apart from the favourites only Derry and Wexford have emerged as dark horses playing quality football. Whereas last year you had Down, Sligo, Louth, Monaghan etc all playing an attractive open style in the provinces, this year itā€™s the negativity and/or in some cases sheer incompetence of teams like Donegal, Mayo, Galway, Laois, Limerick, Cavan etc that is sticking in the mind. There was more openness in last yearā€™s chmpionship.

Kev, that is the height of bullshit. I was at the game in killarney last year and less than half the crowd was from cork. Stick to the facts and stop making stuff up please.

Anytime you see caoimhaoin mention ā€˜animalsā€™ tune out, the rest will be bullshit.

Actually just tune out anyway, youā€™ll be better off in the long run.

The Cork Senior Football team to play Kerry in the Munster Final on Sunday, July 3rd at 2pm in Killarney will line out as follows:

1. Alan Quirke
    Valley Rovers

2. Jamie Oā€™Sullivan 3. Graham Canty 4. Michael Shields
    Bishopstown Bantry Blues St. Finbarrā€™s

3. Noel Oā€™Leary 6. John Miskella 7. Paudie Kissane
    Cill na Martra Ballincollig Clyda Rovers

4. Alan Oā€™Connor 9. Aidan Walsh
    St. Columā€™s Kanturk

5. CiarĆ”n Sheehan 11. Patrick Kelly 12. Pearse Oā€™Neill
    Eire Og Ballincollig Aghada

6. Daniel Goulding 14. Donncha Oā€™Connor 15. Paul Kerrigan
    Eire Ɠg Ballydesmond Nemo Rangers

Captain: Graham Canty

thats bizarre, this is their hobby- i know they are paid for by the state by i dont think they pay paye on that so its really their hobby. why not be committed to the important things in their lives like family,career or why not take up a proper sport?