Official All Ireland Senior Hurling Championship 2010 Thread

god, the match today was brutal. tipp were on top from the start. Offaly were shit, nare a forward.

So this is where the cork lads were losing the run of themselves

You missed some great internetting.

Indeed I did, the cork lads missed some exciting hurling.

They also missed some fine refereeing.

East Cork Junior A Hurling - Castlemartyr 1-12 Carrigtwohill 1-10 FT.

Offaly were brutal. They were absolutely pathetic under the dropping ball all over the field. Didnā€™t win one puck out in the first half with a half forward line all over the 6 foot mark, and when they actually got a hand to the ball, it usually hopped off their palm and into a tipp hand. The backs were alright but the ball was coming back at them twice as quick as they were clearing it. Maybe it would have been different if they converted a few of the wides they had in the first half but I doubt it. Very disappointing display from the faithful.

Tipp looked good though, certainly favourites for the all-ireland now ahead of Waterford, Galway and Antrim.

Galway will beat us, perhaps even pulling away.

Ich donā€™t think so.
Not unless McIntyre has had them playing possum since the league finished and is only now going to get them to play properly.
Tis yeā€™re all-ireland to lose tt*

He was doing a job in the first half, went to shit after that. Weā€™re in trouble if we are relying on him. Heā€™s obviously just too big at club level, and isnā€™t up to the intensity of IC.

Cadogan wasnā€™t at fault for the goal, he was left stranded by someone else. Dan is the hero, but he nearly fucked it by not going in a step or two and hitting it too early, heā€™s a lucky man.

But he got it, so thats all that matters really.

Exciting maybe, shocking standard though. Davys tactics are not great to watch, but in fairness its all about winning so i donā€™t blame him for them.

Looked back at the 1st half there last night, icanā€™t believe that was a Cork senior team, it was more like a performance from one of the minnows like Carlow or Laois putting it up to Waterford, but just not having the nous or scoring ability. It was that bad.

Get the fuck out of here with that shite. Thereā€™s about 15 Cork threads youā€™ve set up you could post it in.

Ya, I said as much about the standard in the other thread.

I think the posession stats would be interesting as I reckon Cork must easily have had 60% of the ball over the course of the game but through a combination of wastefulness and tight marking by Waterford they never looked a real scoring threat. I donā€™t think Waterford hit a wide in the first half, but at the same time didnā€™t create that many chances but scored all those they did create.

One thing thatā€™s often missed with Davy Fitz teams as well is how few frees they give away.

I remember watching the Sixmilebridge U21 teams he trained and more often than not they didnā€™t give away one scoreable free in the entire game. I think Colin Ryan got two scoreable frees in total in the semi-final. Incredible discipline.

If youā€™re to believe them now Antrim have a real shot at beating them

Realistically if Gardiner had hit a better penalty Cork would have won the game and be 2nd favourites for the All Ireland

Ah wtb, iā€™d be the first to talk them up, but the forwards are brutal. If we were playing Dublin, and we had the injuries and all that people would say dublin have a shot. I still expect weā€™ll keep them quite up front, but a score like 15 points to 10 or something wouldnā€™t surprise me, with us getting mostly frees.

Iā€™ve been watching Cork for 30 odd years, and iā€™ve never, even in the lean years, seen a forward line like that. Gutless play is how iā€™d describe it.

FFS
castlemaggot beat carrigā€™s 5th choice team that was probably comprising of u-16ā€™s and againg alchoholics

Your terribly mis-informed about the local Cork club scene mickee.

you nearly 40 kev?