Official All Ireland Senior Hurling Championship 2010 Thread

Ya, this latest one has me wondering. He’s going into it way too much on the plays. His earlier articles were far more insightful.

I’d say he’s from Clare or Galway.

His own interpretation of matches can be a bit off alright. Didn’t agree with his take on the Clare-Dublin game at all. I posted a message on his blog asking about the quality score system and he said he’d explain in later in the year when he got a chance.

Was on about his on Tonight’s TV thread but thought I’d throw it in here.
Was just trying to get an answer on how many All Ireland medals the current Kilkenny lads have? Shefflin def has 2000, 02, 03, 06, 07, 08, 09 hasn’t he?
Looked on wiki and it looks like Mick Kavanagh has also started in all seven finals but prob won’t feature this year. Eddie Brennan came on sub in 2000, while Hickey missed out last year’s final but prob got the medal.
So four Kilkenny lads looking to win their eighth medal but only two Shefflin and Brennan really looking likely to equal Doyle and Ring of winning 8 on the field of play.
They’d also be equalling the Kerry lads like Paidi O Se, Ger Power, Ogie Moran Mikey Sheehy and Spillane who also won 8 although I think either Sheehy or Spillane might have missed one of the finals.
Has anyone heard the likes of Ger Canning shiteing on about this yet?

An Moltoir was obviously in the jacks at half time boring the arse off some poor cunt with his musings on Tipps lack on enforced errors and missed the start of the second half.

No, the media seems to have very little sense of the size of the possible achievement of Kilkenny and the individual players.
I don’t think I’ve heard anyone talk about it much in the context you describe.

Also, I have made this point before but the level of attention given to Henry Shefflin becoming the highest Championship scorer of all time was fairly laughable.
When you compare what the NFL did for Favre when he threw his 421st TD to break Dan Marino’s record it is non-existent.
Say what you like about the yanks, but they certainly have a sense of legacy and history around records being broken.

Canning is an atrocious commentator.
Him and the rest of RTE only have 3 statistics.

1. “This is his [pause as he looks down at sheet] 32nd Championship appearance”
  2. “That is a point from the enterprising [pause as he looks down at sheet] Ballyhale man”
  3. “That is his [pause as he looks down at sheet] 22nd Championship point”

He honestly sounds like the commentator on pro-evolution. Robotic, and totally devoid of any emotion.

RTE are being totally outdone by TV3 with regard to match stats.

enterprising

[quote=“Watch The Break, post: 463737”]

enterprising[/quote]

Its one of Gers favourite words.

Yeah I remember highlighting it before. I don’t think I’ve ever heard anyone else use that word at a gaa match.

I remember before a Kildare match a few years ago Ger said some lad starting in goals for Kildare was the ‘fifth custodian curtailed by Mick O’Dwyer in his five year tenure’.

‘Lifting the siege’ is another big one of his.

“As we watch that in reprise” was a favourite of his for a while.

Reprise, love that one too! There’s loads of them just can’t think of them now for some reason.

Funniest thing is imagining some fella in the crowd actually using his phrases.

‘Fuck it but Tomas O’Se is fucking flyin, he’s playing some shtuff’

‘Yeah he’s a very enterprising wing back alright’

‘Huh?’

“He clears the ball defiantly up the field” is another one of his favourites

back once again

“Neither team wants to lose!”

“He’s giving it a right old go”

This is a joke, 1990’s kinda stuff. How are Carlow so behind when they are out of everything with a long time?

[size=“5”]Carlow starlet facing burnout[/size]
By Terry Reilly
Wednesday, August 11, 2010
A CARLOW minor hurler, who made his debut with the senior side this year, is on the verge of burning out after being asked to play six games in nine days.

Alan McDonald from the Erin’s Own club in Bagenalstown claims the county board are not doing enough to help players in his situation.

He said: “The county board needs to space out the matches. We weren’t really keen on playing the matches this week but the county board needed to have the matches played by a certain date (because of the Leinster club championships),” he said "When I was burnt out two weeks ago I was tired the whole day and I couldn’t sleep. I was staying up all night. You’d be hungry all the time and there’d be a load of things that would be wrong with you.

“You get bored of hurling. It’s how you feel when you’re burnt out. You’re tired and you’re not bothered. You don’t really want to play, but you have to do it, you don’t want to be letting down the team.”

McDonald’s club, who reached the county final for the first time in 39 years last season, are also angered by the demands.

“The big thing in the GAA is burnout. Every team has minors playing senior, so the county board can’t say that minor has nothing to do with senior,” said Erin’s Own PRO David Kelly.

"We’ve senior today, minor Monday, senior Wednesday, minor Thursday, intermediate Friday, senior Saturday, minor on Sunday and then the minor football starts on Monday night.

“The players are saying it’s crazy. 17- and 18-year-olds are being asked to go to the park every night of the week. We give them rest when they’re playing, we don’t train and of course that doesn’t help the club. But they’re only getting maybe one night off in 10 days.”

However the board says their hands are tied and county board chairman Pat Deering opined that minors might be banned from playing at senior level.

“Alan is a great player with a lot of potential and he needs to be minded. One would question whether he’s strong enough at this age to play senior hurling with the county team,” Deering said.

Read more: http://irishexaminer.ie/sport/gaa/carlow-starlet-facing-burnout-127497.html#ixzz0wIeQGAvw

jaysus when I was his age you couldn’t get enough games. Bit of a moaner this lad it seems

Mental fatigue I suppose

Harsh

FAO Link, Piles, CLD, Fran, HangBlaa, etc

http://www.crokepark.ie/media/latest-news/where-will-you-be-for-your-countdown-to-the-gaa-al

An exciting new event will take place in Croke Park Stadium on the eve of the GAA All Ireland Finals on the 4th and 18th of September.

Come along to soak up the atmosphere, mingle with GAA legends and get into the spirit of the occasion by meeting up at Croke Park.

• A welcome drinks reception will be held in the GAA museum at 7pm where a Two Team cocktail will be served upon arrival.

• A delicious 3 course dinner will be served in the Cusack Suite overlooking the pitch where guests can look forward to some fabulous music & entertainment whilst rubbing shoulders with GAA legends from past & present.

• There will be a few surprises on the night, including a chance to win GAA All Ireland Final tickets

Our hosts are Ger Gilroy and Eoin McDevitt from Newstalk’s Off the Ball.

Croke Park is the place to be for all GAA fans on the eve of the All Ireland Finals, it’s going to be a great night- you can count on it!!

Tickets are €59
Contact Sinead skelly@crokepark.ie for information or call 01-8192330