Forwards like Rory Jacob, Quigley and Doyle will have to start showing a bit of leadership for the Wexicans. They all have lots of ability but are far too inconsistent. Lyng should probably be moved to midfield too.
The cnut Diegnan on the Sunday game, commenting on something he had no right to speak about. The fucker was not at the match, and only had a view through the TV camera like most of the cnuts who will castigate Dec Pender. Yes, Penders pull was wild, dangerous and dirty and he deserved to get the line, but the TV camera was about 3 seconds late on the incident and missed Eddie Brennan driving the hurley up into Declans throat. This is now a favourite move of Eddie after doing same to Stephen Lucey in the 07 all-ireland final, even though he didnt open up Pender to the same extent.
Ah yes, ye Kilkenny folk will revert back to the antics of Pender kicking lads in the all-ireland, and it is something that I do not condone, and is not condoned in any quarters in Waterford. But ye are very quick to forget that KK used similar but more clinical tactics on Stephen Lucey and yound Seamus Hickey 12 months previous.
As for Tommy, that little fcuker has been at that shite for years. And would have got away with it yesterday only Kelly when back to give him a root, as the ref was happy to leave him play on. Ref should not have yellowed, Seamus and Jackie Tyrell though, and if he had of blown a free against Walsh then there would have been 3 yellow cards saved. He was way out of his depth yesterday.
But the above aside a very positive day for Waterford. Missing Aidan Kearney, Kevin Moran, Tony Browne , Brian Phelan, Eoin McGrath, Eoin Kelly, Dan Shanahan, John Mullane and Eoin McGrath from the starting 15, and still managing to beat Kilkenny is always as good day. Also very positive in that when we lost Kelly and Seamus Pender we coped far better with their loss than Kilkenny coped with the loss of Tommy and Jackie from the same incident. We needed fresh blood this year and Noel Connors and Richie Foley are both showing up well so far, and Jamie Nagle seems to have kicked on from last years promising start. We are not finished yet.
I wasnât there so I canât comment on what I didnât see Eddie Brennan do.
Tough if a bit over the edge tackling on the ball canât be compared to blatently kicking and kneeing players before the ball was even thrown in. Biggest mistake the waterford backs ever made that day.
I donât understand the reference to âyoungâ Seamus Hickey either. Should they take it easy on him because heâs a young fella or something.
Agree with all of this. Tommy should have gotten a yellow in the first instance but the same can be said for Prendergast (I think it was him) for pulling across Richie Power in the same fashion earlier in the game
[quote=âFranâ]
Tough if a bit over the edge tackling on the ball canât be compared to⌠[/quote]
over the edge, the 14 stitches that Lucey got in his chin, was not from over the edge tackling, it was from an off the ball dirty stroke.
[quote=âFranâ]
I donât understand the reference to âyoungâ Seamus Hickey either. Should they take it easy on him because heâs a young fellaâŚ[/quote]
âyoungâ was put in as I believe it was the reason he was targeted was that he was so young and he could be got at in his first all-ireland final.
No, i think that was Richie Foley, but his tapping at Richie Power whilst running after him cannot be compared to Tommys full swing on Eoin Kelly. Foleys incident was very Noel Hickey-esque. Ref would have been right to blow for a free in a black book Foley for the incident.
Kilkenny have won three in a row, they are a fantastic team, but the only way to beat them is to match the physicality and play them at there own game. Stand off them and admire them and they will crucify you.
Did he get the stitches because of the tackle from Eddie Brennan. That wasnât off the ball.
So whatâs your point.
A yellow card for striking. Same situation. The only difference was Richie Power winced in pain, looked at his arm and played on. Kelly decided to start a fight.
Agreed and I was very impressed with Waterford yesterday.
[quote=âFranâ]
So whatâs your point.[/quote]
Kilkenny picked out Hickey, as he was an easy target, no point going after Damien Reale or Mark Foley. Semantics aside, no matter what way you look at it, they knocked lumps out of Hickey.
I suppose Brennan dirty stoke on Lucey was technically on the ball, but had nothing to do with an attempt to play the ball.
[quote=âHangBlaaâ]Kilkenny picked out Hickey, as he was an easy target, no point going after Damien Reale or Mark Foley. Semantics aside, no matter what way you look at it, they knocked lumps out of Hickey.
He was targetted but not that unfairly I thought.
When is Mullane going to give you a new quote for your signiture btw
Have to say Iâm sick of Tommy Walshâs shit at this stage as well. I hate seeing too much of the off the ball shite as much as anyone, but at least that tends to involve the two lads squaring up to each other. Tommy Walsh seasons are always littered with these sly cowardly belts that more often than not he gets away with because theyâre done under the pretense of trying to play the ball. That belt on Kelly yesterday was as dirty as any youâd see on a hurling field and as youâve rightly pointed out, Kelly was dead right to make for the fucker as the ref clearly wasnât going to do anything about it.
[quote=âHangBlaaâ]The cnut Diegnan on the Sunday game, commenting on something he had no right to speak about. The fucker was not at the match, and only had a view through the TV camera like most of the cnuts who will castigate Dec Pender. Yes, Penders pull was wild, dangerous and dirty and he deserved to get the line, but the TV camera was about 3 seconds late on the incident and missed Eddie Brennan driving the hurley up into Declans throat. This is now a favourite move of Eddie after doing same to Stephen Lucey in the 07 all-ireland final, even though he didnt open up Pender to the same extent.
Ah yes, ye Kilkenny folk will revert back to the antics of Pender kicking lads in the all-ireland, and it is something that I do not condone, and is not condoned in any quarters in Waterford. But ye are very quick to forget that KK used similar but more clinical tactics on Stephen Lucey and yound Seamus Hickey 12 months previous.
As for Tommy, that little fcuker has been at that shite for years. And would have got away with it yesterday only Kelly when back to give him a root, as the ref was happy to leave him play on. Ref should not have yellowed, Seamus and Jackie Tyrell though, and if he had of blown a free against Walsh then there would have been 3 yellow cards saved. He was way out of his depth yesterday.
But the above aside a very positive day for Waterford. Missing Aidan Kearney, Kevin Moran, Tony Browne , Brian Phelan, Eoin McGrath, Eoin Kelly, Dan Shanahan, John Mullane and Eoin McGrath from the starting 15, and still managing to beat Kilkenny is always as good day. Also very positive in that when we lost Kelly and Seamus Pender we coped far better with their loss than Kilkenny coped with the loss of Tommy and Jackie from the same incident. We needed fresh blood this year and Noel Connors and Richie Foley are both showing up well so far, and Jamie Nagle seems to have kicked on from last years promising start. We are not finished yet.[/quote]
A few things about whats being said here regarding dirty hurling etc,as i said on another site earlier you fellas are watching too much Sky Sports,whats the problem with a fella or two getting a decent wallop in an AI Final?,its not a fcuking practice match thats going on as Limerick in 07 and Waterford in 08 found out from Eddie Brennan,TOmmy Walsh,Noel Hickey etc.All Irelands are hard won,Kilkennys current breed can play it any way thats required,if you want to hurl they will hurl,rough stuff is no problem to them either asnd thats why they have pockets full of AI medals,if they couldnt look after themselves they would have won nothing,if Waterford can turn thier hurlers into warriers aswell nobody down there will complain.I felt sorry for Dec Pender yesterday to an extent,hes going to get 3 Months which is a long time with no games,he had to go for what he did,i watched the incident develop for 10 seconds or so and didnt see Brennan do anything to merit the belt,maybe he did. Finally Eoin Kelly,what a class act this one is going over to the Kilkenny dugout giving hand signals to Tommy Walsh and generally playing to the crowd who lapped it up,Tommy Walsh is ten of this towny knacker.
Fairly classy yourself Link.
Tommy Walsh is a filthy hurler, the kind of player who deserves public disdain because the clueless RTE commentators will never spot what he does. What Eoin Kelly did was irrelevant, youâre more than welcome to judge Kelly but unless you recognise Walsh for what he is it counts for little. As I said before, superb hurler, but a sneaky fucker.
I disagree with the statement that Tommy is a dirty hurler. I think he is undisciplined and petulant when his marker gets the better off him but I couldnât describe him as dirty.
i think people admire kks physicality and the extremes to which they will take it, but the problem is that they are judged and reffed differently to everyone else.
If a limerick player had butchered a KK player like Hickey in his hamstring moment in 07 as one example then the shefflin incident with Gerry Quinn would pale in significance.
It seems you must admire kks approach but god help you if you reciprocate, thats not on at all now is it.
Kelly may be a knack but the tide of admiration for little Tommy Walsh is turning with every year, the dirty little cunt gets away with murder, he is no better than Hickey and his time is up as the innocent poster boy
Eoin Kelly wasnât really getting the better of him though was he? It was just a chance to get a sly belt in and he took it. And in his own way of playing he was right, because the ref didnât even give a free for it.
Superb hurler,definitely.Sneaky fucker,definitely,he gets one in most games.One of hurlings best defenders over the past 5 Years,
no doubt about it.The best catcher of a ball under 6ft thats been seen in most of our memories,id say so.Every County in Ireland would love to have a clone of him to stick into thier team,they would.
There was very little said about Noel Hickeyâs carry against Clare in 2004 when he tried to take apart Tony Griffin like a lumberjack cutting down a treeâŚIf the likes of Gerry Quinn or Diarmuid O Sullivan or Liam Dunne et al had doen the same there would have been outcry and a long ban
I did think that Kelly was getting the better of him to be honest. Tommy had lorded it over Gary Hurney until Kelly was brought on and the game changed.