Official TFK GAA Coaches Corner

Obviously wasting your time with her, try ballet or something.

Definitely. There are games like ‘no mans land’ ‘clean the garden’ and ‘empty the nest’ which are way more suitable and enjoyable for that sort of age

Thats mental stuff mate. At that age it’s about fun and games and trying to incorporate a small bit of grip and swing stuff.

To be honest, we have girls who were very poor to engage when they were 6-10 but in the last 2/3 years they have really improved.

Its all gone a bit mental in my opinion. Time enough starting camogie/hurling until they are 6/7.

If they dont have ‘it’ by three, they’ll never have it.

U5s is very young for that. I don’t think our nursey plays any matches. To play devils advocate, your daughter is only 3 but there’s probably a cohort who are 5 and maybe in their 2nd year of nursery who looking for a bit more action. One solution is to organise two different activities for the last 10 minutes. Let the children who want to play the match do that and let the ones who want to play a game do that.

I’m just back from a blitz this morning where our best player was a lad who wouldn’t even look at a ball last year when he was 6, but he’s turned inside out this year. No doubt we’ll see the same with numerous other children over the next few years as long as we can keep them involved and enjoying whatever bit they do.

If she’s not hitting top bins by now you may leave it so

@StoneCold games at that age are bollocks. Don’t mind it. Just keep bringing her and let her opt in or out of the game. Some kids are mad for the game, some just want to talk Barbie or dinosaurs. All is fine.

Tell her she’s great and be grand

Just go along to the cul camp and see what the kids enjoy by watching and by taking to the coaches.
Repeat that.

7 is the magic age when lads suddenly become interested in sport from my experience. Almost overnight I went from being a Pokémon aficionado to wanting to play and follow every sport going. The nurseries are mad these days but probably more wholesome than 7/8 year olds being thrown straight into the deep end with an U10 team like 20 odd years ago.

My eldest was at blitz today…She wouldn’t get a kick in a horsebox and lucky not to get a parking ticket during the games but loved the whole marching behind the piper with the flags etc. at that age it’s fcuk all to do with playing well , all about being involved and feeling part of something.

The main thing is they enjoy it and want to go back every week.Being the “best” player at a young age isn’t what it’s about.

It’s informative to watch how different lads step up and drop back as you move up the grades. I had a lad once who in my naivety saw as a potential intercounty player at 9. By 11 he’d dropped back beyond all recognition, or the other lads had gotten their spurts. You learn a lot yourself over the years. Just keep em coming as Damien Hayes would say.

What kind of children are ye trying to raise at all. If your not first your last.

You need to bio band

I fucked him into the Development squad with the rugby players

Two storied sporting institutions. Each looking for marginal gains.

Someone’s rattled about Sundays champo match if they’re resorting to this

3,000 copies is fair going. I reckon if that was sold through offical channels it would get you on the best sellers list.

I didn’t bother with this one as I thought the last one was poor and I haven’t looked at it again after an initial flick through.

How many drills can you do to get 14 men behind the ball?