Official TFK GAA Coaches Corner

That’s culchies for you.

At Ogra GGA this morning covering 2017-2019 born kids…it’s for an hour & they spend 10 minutes or so at 5 or 6 different “stations” during it. Some football, some hurling, some general movement like a little obstacle course etc.

They were moving onto the first hurling one this morning when a parent legged it onto the pitch and took his son over to the side. “He won’t be doing any of the hurling drills as we’re not happy with the risk of head lice from the communal helmets”. :rofl:

23 Likes

He’s unlikely to feature for the Dubs at a later stage

Communal helmets are the bane of my life at camogie nursery. We run it as you describe in stations. I’m usually over the camogie stuff.

Putting on the helmets is a disaster zone. Girls with unicorn head bands, pigtails, buns, high ponytails, braids, plaits…

I’ve asked on numerous times on the parents whatsapp to send them up with low ponytails or nothing at all but I may as well be talking to a wall.

The station is usually 12/14 mins. Its a cycle of undoing all the stupid hairstyles, pulling pigtails through ear loops on helmets, unopening plaits, redoing ponytails and a rake of empty promises from me about fixing their hair back to its original way after we are finished. This usually takes 2/3 mins while the usual gomdaw parents stare from the other side of the fence with their takeaway coffees. I’ve given up asking them for help. I then do an incredible 9 minutes of coaching so much so that the girls have forgotten about hair mishaps and the next group arrive.

It’s by far and away my most challenging hour of the week.

23 Likes

That’s class.

They don’t teach that in the coaching manuals

The takeaway coffees. :saluting_face:

It’s a fine moniker for the cohort.

The poor man.

Half time in the go games
https://twitter.com/cncain/status/1716987396007289046

Stand up and hit him back ye cowardly cunts

Sage advice. If only, at such an integral and impressionable age, these lads had someone like yourself to recognise, counter and lead the charge against a bully just as you’ve suggested.

If only theyd a man who taught them to recognise those who, for reasons I cant understand, seemed intent on forcing themselves as a central figure to the group even if that meant employing divisive, threatening, polarising or underhanded means at the expense of those in the group.

Takes a bit of figuring to recognise these types lurking among us- those dressing it as commitment or passion or whatever. All part of the learning curve I suppose.

I do my best around here but I fear it falls on deaf ears

Just the football this year, but nice to beat the neighbours today

FILLHERUP

https://twitter.com/coachshanerice/status/1720141469808210042?t=8O8VKRzxJ1VyB4r-c7anJA&s=19

https://twitter.com/pint4paddy/status/1720156638202429639?t=xNlxcidEqhmYo1plVp485A&s=19

Were they well bet?

Lost in ET.

https://x.com/smallerfishgaa/status/1720192699196686408?s=46&t=naJekC2sVA0B68lxi_xLWA

Irish twitter is an awful place.