Official TFK GAA Coaches Corner

Do they pay the specialist coaches handsomely?

What are you getting at here?

You are laughing at female sport as well as me getting well paid to help out and coach the coaches.

Its both sexist and dumb

Nope

I’m laughing at camogie and horrified the spirit of volunteering has left the gga

No there was volunteers there as well. They brought me in.

Its hilarious after all your shit talk about participation etc you think some sports and volunteers are more valuable than others.

I’ve used this drill with a co development squad this year and even the very best of them have gotten something out of it.
It involves movement, ball handling and using your brain.
That ticks all the boxes for me.
Now I used it in a fairly confined space. 4 vs 4.
I found that even some of the better lads had a habit of panicking in the confined space and immediately trying to pass, however this drills it into them to take their 4 steps and get out of trouble.
The fraction of a second that it takes for them to take the 4 steps gives them improved options for laying the ball off.

Whilst I’m sure the drill works well and achieves what you want out of it, I would have thought in confined spaces the best option would be quick transition of the ball and not to over carry or take it into contact. Where I would want my players taking their 4 steps is when the space is open in front of them or when the ball carry is on. Confined spaces to me is a drill for quick ball movement, get it out of the confined space as quickly as possible. Carrying the ball is the opposite of that.

But what if taking 4 steps is the wrong option?

You don’t seem to get it, this is extrinsic coaching.

The results you are seeing are what you want because tgat validates the drill. A predetermined drill is obviously eventually going to get tge right result.

They learn the decision of taking 4 steps and passing, and nothing else.

I know luttle if Tipp development squads, but what i have seen of Cork football squads the fact that its a decelooment squad does not mean there is any quality there. In fact some of it is truly awful.

Elite players need more than basic drills. They are already compentent. They need to be challenged. The difference between the good and the best is decision making. Force them into uncomfortabke situations where the real quality will emerge. You have already said the best lads struggle with the decision making. So to me they are not the best lads. They are nore likely the more physically dominant or one-trick-ponies.

I am sure you will take this personally, but you are only doing your best and doing things the way you have been shown. But there is another way.

Make the constraints decisions the players make, not the drill.

Spot on.

Cork underage squads went with size for the past 7-8 years. I have seen a hell of a lot of interco underage games.

Kerry won all the big games since at minor and now at 21s by concentrating on ability and pace

A guy you know @caoimhaoin ?

Doesn’t get much sleep.

Interesting piece.
One of our ex club players is running the sports dept for a high school in dallas which has a big American football set-up having done the s&c base work in ireland inclung tralee and a couple of intercounty positions.

Yeah we’ve a lad from our club working with one of the bigger rugby clubs in England too. Mad the talent in Ireland for this but such little work. As Kev would probably agree, the gaa and it’s voluntary set up makes a fuck of things really, no money in it and very little big jobs available then outside of that.

He’s working his hole off, the American way… You’d imagine he’d get a decent job at home when it becomes available… Cork City FC S&C coach or even Cobh…

Not personalky no, but he was a good player with an ajoining club and went to school with lads i coached. I knew he was out there.

S&C very different in American Football to any Irish/European Sport. Its changing but science and balance does not mean a whole oile to them.

Read an interesting article recently on the death of American football (may have been posted here). The middle class has rejected it and numbers are falling off the cliff.
I have a Dr. friend (physio doc) who works in pro sport in Canada and he believes the concussion thing is way over blown and that the levels for failing some of the cognitive tests is really low. As in much of it could be aging anyway.

Saw a ridiculous article from a Cali doctor trying to get soccer, rugby, LeCrosse et all banned as well. Fucking gobshites

But it seems to have fucked American Football anyway.

Hey @Brimmer_Bradley and all ye other egomaniacs coaching. Start reading ed. Coughlan on the examiner. He is a recognised coach on the mainstream media preeching what i do about skills and kids coaching. Ye might listen to him

David Breen ex Limerick is a physio with Wasps.

Three lads who I played rugby with in home club are physios with proffesional sides, one in Ireland and two in UK. Another is a video analyst with a french side. The video analysis piece is brand new in france even top sides only catching up with need for them now so huge opportunity for people.

That last paragraph is pure gold. Kev calls all coaches here egomaniacs but tells them they might learn something from a guy who happens to do the same things Kev does.

All coaches?

No, only the likes of brimmer who exposed that here in the past. Its more about him than the people he coaches. Not to mention his gross misunderstanfing of how learning takes place.
Ed Coughlan is an expert in the area. He has improved many teams, including your own Dublin Hurlers, dramatically over the years.

And doung the same thing as i do is an athlete/child centred approach that is based i apllicable science

Anyone get Fergus Connolly’s book? Game changer?