Official TFK Irish General Election 2024

Murphy getting nudged out would be a very very funny moment.

Where would RTE go for rent-a-argument :man_shrugging:

He’s probably the one TD I’d most enjoy seeing lose his seat because he’s an absolute tool.

I think yer man Ciarán Ahern comes across as being decent & a fairly impressive operator. Labour have a few of these types dotted around the place - next gen folks who’ve been councillors for a period of years & gradually building a profile & track record. Whether that actually translates to winning new Dáil seats or retaining the ones where Labour incumbents are retiring/have moved on remains to be seen.

Ah you need that viewpoint represented too surely. Even if he comes across as extremely unlikeable.

What viewpoint? 1-2% of the electorate? About the same amount of people as Leitrim. Why don’t Leitrim have a rep on every talking head show :man_shrugging:

Can some poster who WFH consolidate the predictions from each constituency into a TFK State of the Nation 2024 overall GE Result prediction tool.

Since when do PBP have a representative on every talking head show? I must have missed that.

Ah lads. There’s a fella called Brian Garrigan running in DBN. His slogan is Irish lives matter. He’s currently standing at the crossroads of the malahide rd and tonleggee road with his arms outstretched like Jesus or Richard Nixon for the oncoming traffic.

Did you give him a meaningful beep?

Labour have lots of them because they have to do a heap of local work as they cant rely on a party vote. Theres a lad up in balbriggan area called robert o donoghue who is a ferocious grafter but has no national profile. I was hoping hewould be a decent price but he’s 2/5.
It’s one of the problems SF have in councils, much of their councillors got in on the sf wave and they didnt know what to do or how to do the basic reps for people.

I let him see me laughing.

If we’re all honest here it’s a very unenthusiastic election. Even FFGers probably recognise we need a change of sorts for a term at least but the alternatives are just not there. MLMD is not T material and PBP and the Soc Dems are not serious people.

I don’t hate FFG, they’re just wankers. We’re run by wankers. We cant even pick a decent, vibrant, healthy party to be run by. We’re ruled by effete arseholes. It’s a shite state of affairs to be in TUM and all the fresh air in the world won’t make any fuckin difference.

I can’t remember where I saw it but Labour are apparently the most popular party among UCD students.

Irish politics and the act of voting is a bit like the food you have for dinner.

Traditionally Ireland is a meat (FG) and potatoes (FF) country. That was all people had for dinner. That was all they knew.

But as people have become exposed to more food from around the world the popularity of meat and potatoes for dinner has gone down. People want something different.

The other parties are like various other types of dinner you’d have. Some days you might fancy a salad. It’s healthy and makes you feel good. That’s the Green Party. Then the next day you don’t want a salad.

Labour are like spaghetti bolognese. Lots of red, you can throw half a bottle in, but it gets diluted in the cooking. People like spaghetti bolognese but they don’t want it every night.

The Social Democrats this time are like moussaka. Ooh, I might try a bit of that for a change. They want it the following day.

Sinn Fein are like curry. Strong smelling and strong tasting, ooh, I must have that again tomorrow, but once people have had a strong curry they’ve the propensity to shit themselves before they can have another the following day, and they don’t, as they don’t want their hole to feel red raw like they’ve been anally raped.

The far right are like McDonalds. Full of shit and you have to be very drunk in the head to want it.

I find the Darragh Moriarty chap in Dublin South Central good too, I don’t know if he has any chance though.

Are Aontú going to have a relative breakthrough & return an extra 4 or 5 to accompany O’Toibín?

What type of party even are you thinking of? Even from other countries. Everyone seems to want change but think the leftys are too left the righties are too right and the centreys are too centrey

“I’m old school left”

“I didn’t leave the left, the left left me”

“The left, and by left I mean Fine Gael - Simon Harris is a Marxist - they need to be more like the far right, and then I might pretend to consider voting for them”

I think a lot more people actually like the general policies of the likes of labour and soc Dems than vote for them but they’ve been discredited as middle class soft cunts and nobody wants to be associated with that. Even middle class soft cunts

A party that can get back to policy making and governing.
We have a lot of social media politicians presently that dont want to offend and want to be your friend.
Corporate capitalism also rules our politics and policies. Governments should be distinct from the market but that’s not true and hasn’t been for a while.

Tik tok Harris will be a disaster but a Phoenix might rise from his ashes… but i fear the far right will be more emboldened under a Harris led country.

RBB

Most of Ireland is middle class. People don’t vote on policy.

“The good thing about Ireland is that it isn’t an extremely social class divided country like Britain. It’s more of a meritocracy. That’s why I’m voting for the dynasty politician.”