Do the Soc Dems at some point just have to throw as many candidates as possible into it for them to become anything? You’d wonder if Labour stayed out in 2011 would they have been in a good position to be the strongest party in 2016
We’d Burke and Troy both call to the door this evening, wife is from dyed in the wool FF, he was a bit nervous, the Burke entourage 4 of them were exuberant, now we’d be an area of FFG all the way, wife thought the Burke camp were over confident, they batted off the teacher/O’Leary jibes as per script.
The end of the Galway West 2016 count was the only time I’ve ever been at an election count. This was the one where Hildegaarde Naughton narrowly beat Trevor O’Clochartaigh of Sinn Fein, who left the party not long after.
The groups gathered outside the Bailey Allen Hall smoking cigarettes who were supporting each candidate did not do very much to dispel stereotypes. The SF group were youngish lads down from Belfast who were smoking rollies. At least one of them seemed like he might have smoking something stronger. There was one FGer who was wired to the moon over the count and frantically ringing different people though he seemed like a very nice fella and was happy to talk. His blood pressure must have been through the roof. He was definitely one of the FGers who are mad Democrats come US election time. He looked exactly like this guy:
Like a happy Dom Wycherley?
Don
Tomato Tonato
Sandro Tonali, but this is not the betting thread
I see from Si’s insta he was running around Raheny this morning. Helping auld wans load their shopping from trolleys into their car boots outside SuperValu & bounding around the place. Hard to know how this constituency will go with Richard Bruton & Seán Haughey retiring & Aodhán having decamped to Brussels. Denise Mitchell (SF) & Cian O’Callaghan are the other two TDs here & Mitchell surprised everyone, including SF & herself, by topping the poll on the SF surge the last time.
Is there a full list of runners & riders? FF & FG have a couple of the perennially useless councillors (Heney & O’Muiri) going, while FG have Tormey as a running mate. TFK’s Sutton & Howth correspondents post very highly of her. FF have Brabazon going too. Healy’s going again for the Greens - him missing out last time was a failed tap in but think he wasn’t liberal/lefty enough for the green brigade - he’s a conservative environmentalist. Presume IRA/SF have a second candidate this time. Shane Folan going for Labour but not expected to hold the seat. Assorted headbangers & religious zealots going too.
Any list of runners & riders here?
So Browne, Byrne, Mythen plus Verona?
That’s fairly uninspiring.
Will Timmy Dooley get back in Clare?
Violet Anne Wynne will hardly hold her seat?
Dooley in
Doley Wynne
Violet Anne Lose?
Macs absence makes Clare very interesting.
I reckon 2 FF. Timmy and Cathal Crowe. Joe Carey’s sister will just about get a FG seat. Last one will be tremendous and could go anywhere. Róisín Garvey to buck national trend of anti Green and spring a surprise . Something for the parish to celebrate at least anyway.
She’s very unconvincing - her primary line being that “I’m Joe’s sister” shouldn’t carry much weight beyond Clarecastle
Joe Cooney might pull it off yet
The kids came up with this themselves??
Denise Mitchell got over 21000 first preference votes in 2020. I’d never heard of her before or since. As you mentioned the ffg candidates are pretty uninspiring
Candidates
Cllr Aoibhinn Tormey (FG)
Cllr Naoise Ó Muirí (FG)
Cllr Tom Brabazon (FF)
Cllr Deirdre Heney (FF)
Denise Mitchell (SF)*
Mícheál Mac Donncha (SF)
Cian O’Callaghan (SD)*
Shane Folan (Lab)
David Healy (GP)
Barry Heneghan (Non-party)
John Lyons (Non Party)
Bernard Mulvany (People Before Profit),
James Morris (Aontú)
Paul Fitzsimons (Irish Freedom Party)
Diarmaid Ó Conoráin (Independent)
Michael Burke (Independent)
Brian Garrigan (Independent)
If anyone can, it’s Barry Heneghan…
Joe Cooney has every chance unfortunately
Is there even one constituency in the country where at least one of FF or FG wont get a seat? The headbangers are going to go absolutely mental when the results come in. They are spending all their time among very angry people on twitter and they see trump coming in and causing wreck in America. Then we vote back in the exact same government! It must be incredibly frustrating for them
We had Mick McGrath’s brother (cant remember his first name) at the door last night with a huge smile that radiated ‘energy’ … The eldest two were in the bath and i had the suds (bubbles) (soap) all over my hands and arms so i kinda gesticulated with my hands - kids - bath - gotta dash. He bid me a good evening and took that radiating smile next door.
The FG bint sent one of her cronies to the door Tuesday. She lives local and is a teacher in Passage cc @Juhniallio … they were her main selling points. I’d rather lose a testicle than vote FG - that cretin Buttimer bettee not come near my door . He makes my skin crawl. FG people as a whole do.