Official UFC Thread dammit there's two threads

Probably a longshot but is there any fans of UFC(Ultimate Fighting Championship Mixed Martial Arts) on this forum?
I absoloutely love it myself, started following it about 7/8years ago, the shows are normally on Bravo on the Sunday night after they happen in the States. I’d be a big boxing fan myself too but I have to say the UFC really know how to stack a card and give value for money compared to the boxing cards the last few years. Boxing cards nowdays seem to have the one big headline fight and maybe one other decent name fight at best, the rest being shitty fights that no one really cares about.
It’s common practice for the UFC to sometimes have 2 massive headline fights and then about another 3 or 4 fights with top notch contenders or fighters on the rise. They also seem to pit there best guys in each division against each other whereas there are so many different branches of various titles in boxing and greedy promoters etc, sometimes you don’t get the match ups there should be for title fights.

Anyway UFC86 is on Setanta1 at 3am live on Saturday night/Sunday morning.
Forest Griffin(tough as nails with great submissions) is fighting Quentin “Rampage” Jackson (a beast of a striker with great wrestling) for the Light Heavy Weight Title. If no one has ever watched it tape it and check it out. I myself think Rampage will stop him within 3rounds but I hope I’m wrong as I love watching Griffin fight.

Watch the links below for his epic fight with Stephan Bonnar that won him his UFC contract off a reality TV show years ago. It’s not a very technical fight skillwise but great to watch especially from 1min59seconds on.
Forest has improved 10fold since those days and he needed to bigtime so I’m looking forward to watching it on Sunday morning if I’m not too pissed.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MEbyOAlx5KA&feature=related

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=EzW2kJYPnbQ&feature=related

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dQScCrbF6qU&feature=related

If you’d done a search of the site balloo you’d have seen I started a thread on UFC before but it wasn’t very popular. Afaik Setanta have the rights now for all future shows. I’m quite a newcomer to the sport but love it myself. Love Anderson Silva and GSP. Wish GSP would go up a weight and fight Silva as it would be awesome imo. Both are dominant at their divisions. Michael Bisping has dropped down a division so it shouldn’t be long before he earns a shot at Silva. Other than that I’m craving a rematch between Chuck and Wandi - their first fight was fooking class.

As you alluded to above, one of the best things about UFC is that you’ll enjoy almost any fight. I wouldn’t be too interested in watching West Brom play Hull but you can really get into a fight between two lightweights you’ve never heard of before.

Sorry about that CC I didn’t think anyone else would have a thread started as it wouldn’t be a popular mainstream sport on these shores, apologies.
I can’t understand why there are not more posters here into it, especially anybody that even just likes to watch boxing which I love to watch too.

Setanta had last nights show live at 3am, I’m just after watching it there this morning as I was too langers last night when I got in to stay awake. In fairness last nights fights weren’t the most exciting but the title fight between Rampage and Griffin was fooking awesome. Griffin took the title by a well deserved decision. I was sweatin’ bullets watching it as I wanted Griffin to win so badly. Rampage hits like a mach truck so every time he connected I was shitting my pants that Forrest would be KO’d.
Good job he has a concrete chin as he needed it in the first round when he was dropped by a punch. He reminds me of a MMA version of Wayne McCullough, a granite chin, excellent cardio but no power whatsoever. What won it for Forest was he buckled Rampages knee with a kick in the second and he had limited mobility afterwards so Forest was able to get in fire 2or3 shots folllowed by a kick to the bad knee and out again away from the dangerzone.

Anderson Silva v GSP would indeed be a classic as they are the two most technically gifted fighters out there. Personally I think Andersons power would shade it as GSP has a suspect chin as he showed when Serra stopped him in one round.
I would like to see BJ rematch with GSP also again.

Anderson Silva intends to try and win the light heavyweight belt now as well as defending his middleweight one. He is moving up to 205 in his next fight to take on James “The Sandman” Irvin. Sandman is the hardest hitter in that division believe it or not, even harder than Liddel or Wanderlei. He KO’d Houstan Alexander with one punch a few months ago in less than 10seconds. Should be a good one if they stand and trade, if it hits the ground Silva will destroy him immediately. Looking forward to it though.

Agree with you about the lightweights, even the guys I’ve never heard of are unreal exciting fighters, they seem to all have excellent standup and excellent ground game as well.
UFC has an excellent website if you were never on it check it out.

Yeah I frequent ufc.com alright. mmajunkie.com is also pretty good.

I saw a DVD boxset in Vietnam yesterday with UFCs 1-75 on it for about 15 euro - absolutely raging that I didn’t pick it up now.

On Silva vs GSP, Silva probably would shade it but I’ve seen old footage of Silva (possibly from PRIDE?) and he doesn’t have the best chin himself. The problem is trying to get a shot at it. GSP v BJ (vicious bastard) would be awesome too.

Jesus Clarkey you should have picked that up especially for that price. Some lad on Pirate Bay has UFC1-85 for downloading. I could never download it though as I have mobile broadband with a 10gig limit per month. I’d have to check what size file it is again but it’s well over 100gig anyway.
I’d have to check my collection but I reckon I started recording them around UFC35 to last nights one but missing about 5 as pricks I lent them to lost them, drives me fooking cracked that.

[quote=“balloobasluvsbeer”]Jesus Clarkey you should have picked that up especially for that price. Some lad on Pirate Bay has UFC1-85 for downloading. I could never download it though as I have mobile broadband with a 10gig limit per month. I’d have to check what size file it is again but it’s well over 100gig anyway.
I’d have to check my collection but I reckon I started recording them around UFC35 to last nights one but missing about 5 as pricks I lent them to lost them, drives me fooking cracked that.[/quote]

Yeah, in hindsight not picking it up is the 2nd biggest mistake of my life, after picking accounting as a career.

Went to watch some Muay Thai tonight in Bangkok. Pretty class but nowhere near as good as MMA.

hah, i opened this thinking it might be about the ulster football championship

come to think of it, its not too far off

Holy fook Clarkey did you see the last Ultimate Fight Night? I’m just after watching it now.
“The Spider” made absoloute bits of “The Sandman” in standup. He has the power to match the accuracy in his strikes as was demonstrated by his catch of Irvins kick and a haymaker straight down the pipe on to Sandmans chin to flatten him.
Is there anybody that can beat him, I’d like to see Dan Henderson get another craic at him, he didn’t do himself justice at all in the first fight. Silva is impossible to hit his movement is so quick.
I see “Rampage” Jackson went haywire a few weeks ago and got arrested. He was driving up the wrong way in a one way street and nearly ran over a few people. Not sure if it was booze related or not, I’ll have to read up on it. He must have took the loss of his title to Griffin pretty bad.
Brock Lesnar is fighting Heath Herring in August and I can’t wait. I was awful impressed with Lesnar in his debut fight with Frank Mir even though he finally got caught in a submission. No shame in that though Mir is a former UFC heavyweight champion with the best submissions in the game next to Nogeiras. Mir commented after the fight that he could only submit him with an ankle lock as every other part of his body is too wide(even his arms) to control. Lesnar looks to be by far the strongest guy in the division but Herring will severely test his chin with his excellent power and standup game.
Herring also has excellent submissions so it could be a shitty matchup for Lesnar again.
I’m a massive Heath Herring fan but would love to see Lesnar win as two losses in a row could end his UFC carreer and I personally would love to see him stay there and do well.

For any of the wrestling fans out there that are interested, former WWE champ Brock Lesnar is fighting sat night/sun morn on Setanta1 at 3am.
Personally I think he’ll be beaten but I hope I’m wrong, the guy he’s fighting is 15/8 with Paddy Power, definitely worth 20euro at that price as it’s excellent value for Heath Herring who is a top heavyweight and Brock is still unproven in MMA despite his excellent debut.

[quote=“balloobasluvsbeer”]Holy fook Clarkey did you see the last Ultimate Fight Night? I’m just after watching it now.
“The Spider” made absoloute bits of “The Sandman” in standup. He has the power to match the accuracy in his strikes as was demonstrated by his catch of Irvins kick and a haymaker straight down the pipe on to Sandmans chin to flatten him.
Is there anybody that can beat him, I’d like to see Dan Henderson get another craic at him, he didn’t do himself justice at all in the first fight. Silva is impossible to hit his movement is so quick.
I see “Rampage” Jackson went haywire a few weeks ago and got arrested. He was driving up the wrong way in a one way street and nearly ran over a few people. Not sure if it was booze related or not, I’ll have to read up on it. He must have took the loss of his title to Griffin pretty bad.
Brock Lesnar is fighting Heath Herring in August and I can’t wait. I was awful impressed with Lesnar in his debut fight with Frank Mir even though he finally got caught in a submission. No shame in that though Mir is a former UFC heavyweight champion with the best submissions in the game next to Nogeiras. Mir commented after the fight that he could only submit him with an ankle lock as every other part of his body is too wide(even his arms) to control. Lesnar looks to be by far the strongest guy in the division but Herring will severely test his chin with his excellent power and standup game.
Herring also has excellent submissions so it could be a shitty matchup for Lesnar again.
I’m a massive Heath Herring fan but would love to see Lesnar win as two losses in a row could end his UFC carreer and I personally would love to see him stay there and do well.[/quote]

Didn’t get to see it but saw that Silva stopped him in style.

The video of Lesnar v Mir is on here somewhere. Tbh I didn’t find Lesnar all that impressive. While he’s clearly a strong guy, and he has worked hard, I still think he’s very undeserving of main event status and clearly it’s because of his WWE draw. He was still caught in a fairly easy ankle lock yet commanded the biggest salary on that particular night. Having said that I do look forward to seeing him fight.

I see the bauld Brock Lesnar is the real deal, even though I had 30euro on Herring to beat him I found myself shouting for Lesnar all through which is very strange indeed.
Lesnar is an animal and his punches and knees are so powerfull when he lands them it must feel like getting hit with a cannonball. He destroyed Herring in that first round alltogether, how he continued to survive the full fight distance is beyond me. A tough cookie no doubt about it.
Didn’t like the way Lesnar pointed at Herring when the final bell came and started to laugh, no need for that he had suffered enough without disrespecting him afterwards too.

Did you watch UFC 88 Ccat?
I couldn’t believe Rashad Evans knocked out Chuck, I knew Evans had a decent chance of the victory but thought he’d jab and run his way to a decision. That was one of the most brutal KOs I’ve ever seen in either boxing or MMA. Chuck was out for over 5minutes which says it all. I’m sickened though as I wouldn’t be a big fan of Rashad and wanted Chuck to win and rematch with Rampage. Looks like thats all gone by the wayside now though.

Nice to see Dan Henderson get the win at last in the cage, he’s had the toughest reintroduction ever back into the UFC with losses to Rampage and the freak that is Anderson Silva. That guy he fought was a ground wizard and with arms on him like tree trunks, it was a shitty match up for Dan but he used his brains for a change to stuff the takedowns and outwork him on the feet then. In fairness your man had some chin on him as he took a few of Hendo’s best haymakers and survived no bother.

I made a small few quid on Nate Marquardt who looked awesome dismantling Martin Kampmann who I rate very highly. Kampmann is a kickboxing expert and Nate destroyed him at his own game, he looked very impressive once again.

Rich Franklin moved up to 205 and TKod the deay guy Matt Hamill who I despise so I was delighted with that one. Poor old Rich kind of has to stay in that division until someone manages to beat Silva and he can challenge for the 185title again. I still want to see Hendo rematch Silva. He had a good 1st round against him that time and has said since he had a nightmare time cutting the weight for that fight and was tired/gassed nearly straight away.

Tim Boetch looked very impressive again, I like the way he fights he’s great to watch.
Brock Lesnar is announced to fight Randy Couture for the heavyweight title which is an absoloute disgrace in my opinion as Lesnar has only had 3MMA fights and is 1-1 in the UFC. Thats very unfair on guys who have bust their balls trying to climb up the ladder for a good few years. Fabricio Werdum/Gonzaga etc must be sickened.
Money talks I suppose and that will sell for megabucks

Nah, there’ll be no UFC for me til I get back to the emerald isle, unless I buy a laptop, and I probably won’t. Really wanna see that Chuck knockout now. I got UFC Ultimate Knockouts thrown on the mp3 when in Thailand and there’s some brutal stuff on there.

I tape them all on dvd if you ever want any of them when you’re back anyway.
The only other way to get them is on Pirate Bay, no UFC clips seem to get allowed up on Youtube any more. Some brutal knockout it was unreal I never realised Rashad had any power at all.

Today’s announcement of UFC 93 being added to the schedule on 1/17 from the O2 Arena in Dublin, Ireland, leaves a potential head-to-head showing on PPV, as well as a definite in the Dublin market.

The show, will be headlined by Rich Franklin vs. Dan Henderson. UFC sources have confirmed the fight will be at light heavyweight, with Henderson moving up a division and Franklin staying put. This means it is not a match where the winner would be in line for a match with Anderson Silva, who has beaten both men, who were considered by many as No. 2 and No. 3 as middleweights before Franklin moved up.

Also announced is the return of Maurcio “Shogun” Rua against Mark Coleman, who turns 44 before the match will take place. Coleman did defeat Rua in 2006 when Rua dislocated his elbow early in the match.

UFC also officially announced this as a PPV show and not a Spike special.

Affliction/Golden Boy had not announced a 1/17 date at the Honda Center in Anaheim for a combined MMA and boxing PPV show that would feature Fedor Emelianenko, but several key sources have confirmed that was the date they were looking for.

In what is purely a coincidence, the UFC show at this point is scheduled to go head-to-head in the Dublin market with a TNA house show that same day. It is possible TNA could move its show to the afternoon.

The O2 is certainly getting the events. I wonder how much tickets will be. Tna are fooked. http://www.thefreekick.com/board/public/style_emoticons/<#EMO_DIR#>/tongue.gif

That is a pisser. I can’t believe they put them on the same night. TNA are gonna be the biggest losers out of it but I imagine there will be some people who are interested in both who would have gone to the UFC that will go to TNA. It’ll probably sell out anyway but it will hurt building the UFC market in Ireland.

I was at UFC 49 in the MGM and have never been to TNA before so I’m tempted to go to TNA but I imagine I won’t. It is only a house show after all. That UFC card isn’t all that impressive though. No title match in any division?

The UK UFC PPV cards have not been that great either. Is there any Irish UFC fighter?

Was just thinking, seeing how UFC will be a live PPV. And the main market is the US, will the event start quite late? If so, if TNA have any sense, and I’m sure Kurt Angle etc would like to be at the UFC event, surely they would put TNA on a little early and maybe us fans can have our cake and eat it!?!

Shite!

UFC 93 will be available on pay-per-view at 10 p.m. EST/7 p.m. PST on iN DEMAND, DIRECTV, DISH Network, TVN, Bell ExpressVu, Shaw Communications and Viewer’s Choice Canada for a suggested retail price of $44.95 for standard definition or high-definition broadcasts (where available); UFC fans also have the option to watch the UFC 93 pay-per-view live from Dublin, Ireland at 3pm EST/12Noon PST.

[quote=“cluaindiuic”]That is a pisser. I can’t believe they put them on the same night. TNA are gonna be the biggest losers out of it but I imagine there will be some people who are interested in both who would have gone to the UFC that will go to TNA. It’ll probably sell out anyway but it will hurt building the UFC market in Ireland.

I was at UFC 49 in the MGM and have never been to TNA before so I’m tempted to go to TNA but I imagine I won’t. It is only a house show after all. That UFC card isn’t all that impressive though. No title match in any division?

The UK UFC PPV cards have not been that great either. Is there any Irish UFC fighter?[/quote]

They save the best stuff for the States Card which is a shame. I think this would be down to the fact that they would show the event on tape delay and this may effect the buys.

Tna can move their show as reports suggest. 3pm start would give plenty of time for people to go to both.

I’ll defenitely be heading to the UFC. Franklin vs Henderson should be a great stand up fight before Hendo eventually knocks Franklins head clean off with a right hand. 2classy fighters though and appear to be sound lads in interviews as well.
Shogun Rua is also on that card against Mark Coleman who’s in his 40s, should be an easy comeback win for Rua.
You don’t need title fights on the UFC cards to have a good show, you’ll find in the next 6weeks loads more decent fights will be added to it.
Shame it’s so expensive, normally to get decent seats you could be talking from 250euro up. I’ve never been in the o2 areana, does anyone know the capacity and whats the layout like if you were far away from the centre(I assume the cage will be in the centre somewhere)