Official UFC Thread dammit there's two threads

Fooking sweet. Couture v Lesnar. Haven’t had my ear to the ground on UFC recently. When did Couture agree to come back? Seemingly this is a title fight so he was obviously given the belt back. Definitely going to find a way of seeing this.

http://www.ufc.com/index.cfm?fa=eventDetail.fightCard&eid=1645

Lesnar v Couture truly will be off the hook, off the chain (to borrow a phrase)… I assume Setanta will show it or are these events ppv?

Setanta will show it I think. They are making a big deal out of their subscription meaning that you get all their featured shows and no PPV.

[quote=“ClarkeyCat”]Fooking sweet. Couture v Lesnar. Haven’t had my ear to the ground on UFC recently. When did Couture agree to come back? Seemingly this is a title fight so he was obviously given the belt back. Definitely going to find a way of seeing this.

http://www.ufc.com/index.cfm?fa=eventDetail.fightCard&eid=1645[/quote]

Nogeira is the interim champ(made when couture went AWOL), Couture is the real champ. Couture fights Lesnar and Nogeira fights Frank Mir with the winners facing each other for the undisputed title.

Anyone watch the Chris Lytle/Paul Taylor fight there, 3rounds of war, those lads have concrete chins no doubt about it

Setanta1 now a fookin war between Sean Sherk and Tyson Griffin, great stuff this

Thiago Alves is looking like he might be able to take the belt away off George St Pierre if he gets a title shot. Fair play to Koschec for surviving and not getting knocked out. He got hit with bombs and took them really well despite getting knocked down early.
He has great recovery powers when he gets hurt.

Patrick Cote was doing excellent against Anderson Silva before his knee blew out in the 3rd round and the fight had to be stopped. Felt awful sorry for him, I hope he gets a rematch, he’s another one of the concrete headed brigade, how he kept standing after that knee to the head he took in round1 I’ll never know.
He’s still the only maan to bring Silva into a 3rd round in the UFC, no mean achievement to say the least.

Brock Lesnar destroyed Randy Couture. Only Wwe and Ufc champion in history. A double that will probbably never be repeated.

Brock Lesnar beat Randy Couture by TKO in the round 2 last night. He’s some beast of a man and the ref stopped it after he decked Couture with a punch to the temple and then pounced on him and was kneeling on top of him and pounding the head off him.

Up until then I thought it was fairly even but when Brock gets down on you like that its over. The Pain is here.

Deadly! I was delighted watching it. Couture is a legend and all but at 45 you’d think that he would retire.

UFC needs to sort out how they rank fighters. Lesnar’s fast track to the title must be disheartening for other fighters. The same can be said of how couture went from losing his Light Heavy title match to getting a Heavyweight title shot.

Their once semi-strong Heavyweight division has been eroded by the loss of guys like Cro Cop, Sylvia and Arlovski.

I think this should open up the heavyweight divison, Lesner was caught in a hold in his first fight, should be interesting if he goes up against 1 of the small Brazilians

[quote=“cluaindiuic”]Deadly! I was delighted watching it. Couture is a legend and all but at 45 you’d think that he would retire.

UFC needs to sort out how they rank fighters. Lesnar’s fast track to the title must be disheartening for other fighters. The same can be said of how couture went from losing his Light Heavy title match to getting a Heavyweight title shot.

Their once semi-strong Heavyweight division has been eroded by the loss of guys like Cro Cop, Sylvia and Arlovski.[/quote]

I’d agree with you about the heavyweight division not being too strong now. Fabricio Werdum has also left the UFC and I rated him highly. Arlovski is a massive loss, I never liked Tim Sylvia and Cro Cop never did himself justice at all in the cage for whatever reason.
I don’t think Randy should retire, he’s in excellent shape physically and mentally and doesn’t seem to have lost any of his speed and skillset. If anything it’s better he’s gotten with age.
I’d like to see him drop to lightheavy again and take on the winner of Rampage Jackson and Wanderlei Silva.
Chuck Liddell is one guy that needs to retire if he loses again.
His game has never evolved, he hasn’t knocked out anyone in 2years and his punch resistance seems to have completely faded. It’s the same gameplan he has in every fight, if he started adding a few takedowns into his fights like he did with Wanderlei he could still cause problems for a lot of the light heavies. At the minute every fighter seems to have a winning gameplan for Chuck so he needs to change it up a bit.

I was awful impressed with Kenny Florians stoppage of Joe Stevenson using Stevensons own favourite finish the guillotine.
I thought Kennny would win but I expected it to be by decision.

Lads any ideas about tickets for UFC in Dublin? Think it’s sold out, any spares floating about?

It’s sold out Rock, I might have 1spare but I won’t know until 2weeks time, if I come across1 do you want me to hold on to it.
They’re expensive as fook anything from 70 up to 250ish.
I got 2 for the 250each plus a fee and the spare1(I might have) is 175 plus a fee, is that too expensive for you?

Thanks for that. Looking for 2 so I’ll see what I can source but if you do hear of 2 together then let me know. If I don’t hear anything in the next week or so I might come back to you on that 1 but if you have to get rid of it or anything then obviously do. Just let me know. Thanks BLB.

[quote=“balloobasluvsbeer”]I’d agree with you about the heavyweight division not being too strong now. Fabricio Werdum has also left the UFC and I rated him highly. Arlovski is a massive loss, I never liked Tim Sylvia and Cro Cop never did himself justice at all in the cage for whatever reason.
I don’t think Randy should retire, he’s in excellent shape physically and mentally and doesn’t seem to have lost any of his speed and skillset. If anything it’s better he’s gotten with age.
I’d like to see him drop to lightheavy again and take on the winner of Rampage Jackson and Wanderlei Silva.
Chuck Liddell is one guy that needs to retire if he loses again.
His game has never evolved, he hasn’t knocked out anyone in 2years and his punch resistance seems to have completely faded. It’s the same gameplan he has in every fight, if he started adding a few takedowns into his fights like he did with Wanderlei he could still cause problems for a lot of the light heavies. At the minute every fighter seems to have a winning gameplan for Chuck so he needs to change it up a bit.

I was awful impressed with Kenny Florians stoppage of Joe Stevenson using Stevensons own favourite finish the guillotine.
I thought Kennny would win but I expected it to be by decision.[/quote]

Harsh on Chuck. He’s still a massive draw and when he’s focussed he can be superb - the Wandi fight was absolutely class and how he didn’t drop him I’ll never know.

Didn’t realise I’d miss UFC so much. Probably my second favourite sport.

[quote=“ClarkeyCat”]Harsh on Chuck. He’s still a massive draw and when he’s focussed he can be superb - the Wandi fight was absolutely class and how he didn’t drop him I’ll never know.

Didn’t realise I’d miss UFC so much. Probably my second favourite sport.[/quote]

Do you have You Tube access in work Down Under? Most fights get added on there in the immediate aftermath of the bouts.

Hopefully he does have access… If he does,

Maybe we should help a brother out from now on…

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-4cQHhXm_Jk

[quote=“ClarkeyCat”]Harsh on Chuck. He’s still a massive draw and when he’s focussed he can be superb - the Wandi fight was absolutely class and how he didn’t drop him I’ll never know.

Didn’t realise I’d miss UFC so much. Probably my second favourite sport.[/quote]

I know what you mean Clarkey and he’s my alltime favourite fighter but at the end of the day he has lost 3 of his last 4 and got knocked out twice. He hasn’t knocked anyone out in 2years either.
I’m not saying he should retire now but if he loses another fight to an up and comer he should retire.
Chuck should never lose to a Keith Jardine or a Rashad Evans(especially to him by knockout but credit it was a beauty he landed). I guess Father time is catching up on him, but if he just mixed in some of his wrestling a bit more in his fights and also keep his left hand up higher he’d have a better chance of winning against counter fighters. He seems to have enormous difficulty with opponents who don’t come straight forward at him hence he needs to come into the octagon with a gameplanB to fall back on when his usual one doesn’t appear to be working.
In the Wanderlei fight he unusually took him down a few times so then Wandy had to look out for his haymakers and also his takedown attempts so he was able to tag him more.
I personally hope he rediscovers his top form and starts leaving lads unconscious left, right and center, nothing would please me more to see in fact.

Sound, no bother