Busy day Kid. What have I missed? Can you not survive here without me for a few hours?
Had the great honour several times of meeting Tom Barry,also Tom Kelliher who despite failing health addressed a crowd of anti good Friday ppl at Derrys republican plot one Easter Sunday many moons ago( prior to CIRA/ RealRa)
The man spoke of Kilmichael/Crossbarry etc etc,and the direct link with then and now,
The group including T.Kelliher were surrounded by shinners trying to bully,and the outer ring were several hundred of Britainâs finest+ RUC thugs, despite all this ,the pissing rain,shite Mike etc,Kelliher spoke and republicans listened
Youâre a bona fide rastool hard man.
Were/are you anti good Friday?
youâre a bona fide imperialist scum bag
Incorrect,one I donât drink
2_ definitely donât support the ra as you describe them ( did for a long time)- donât for a long time
3 Arrested for suspected membship in Dundalk and one other place,14 years ago
4 Donât drink
5 For the last 13 years+ all my time effort+ money goes into my son,( no time for rubbish in my life - in fact thatâs WHY when finished my rant Iâll not be in conversation with Tu fein aris)
6 I donât lie ,as a commited Roman Catholic/ Christian Iâm totally against violence,but what was done I wonât deny,
7 my god will judge me not the likes of you
Yes,was
TG4 now.
Tnx bloody missed it
Met the man himself and his second in command
What was it called?
As good and all as Kilmichael was Crossbarry was probably far superior in terms of military acumen. The war would have been lost if the British were successful at Crossbarry. It was pretty humiliating for them to take such a beating when they were supposed to be ones doing the ambushing.
Incredibly it was called Guerilla days in Ireland⌠Youâre totally correct in your summation of the events at Crossbarry, a tactical masterclass. An historian called Peter Hart has put together a book I gather in which his account of the events at Kilmichael differ fundamentally from Barryâs and portrays the flying column and their reactions on the evening in a less than kindly manner. He alleges they basically wiped out the remains of regiment while they were in surrender mode. Barry was adamant it was a false surrender.
Iâd imagine Barry as being a somewhat complex individual, thatâd be the Cork in him.
Pretty sure Hartes âresearchâ has been completely debunked.
Yes he invented loads of evidence and then conveniently died. Meda Ryan filleted his work.
Is it not slightly irregular to air a programme of historical matters where the research has been, as you say, debunked.
That Hart chap was only an auld bollox
True. Meda isnât the most reliable herself either though. But Hart was a bollox.
No sure itâs a free country. Thanks largely to the likes of Tom Barry.
The Irregulars are next week