Paris Olympics 2024

A comment I made just now to my co-watcher was that ā€œIā€™m not sure if the stereotypical French culture suits an Olympic opening ceremony because itā€™s too laid back, you need it to be dramatic - the London opening ceremony was very dramatic and spectacular as well as having great music and it was funny too.ā€

The response I got was ā€œAh but you couldnā€™t be having them cutting off heads at something like this.ā€

Sheā€™s a mighty woman, a real hard worker and an example to all. Sheā€™s tidy out too.

The real athletes arenā€™t going until next week

What a shit opening ceremony. Darragh Moloney creaming himself over it.

Think Iā€™ve settled on the opening ceremony being absolutely terrible. Zero atmosphere away from a packed stadium.

Very sad that the real athletes and the lads partaking in the rugby 7s bullshit are getting the exact same reward for their efforts.

ā€œOh I got a gold medal for being the fastest man on earthā€

ā€œReally? I got one for a rugby blitz with half teamsā€

Needs more guillotines, Hitler references and Diana death references.

Weather looks like a damp Sunday afternoon in October in Dublin.

Nods and volleys should be in the 2028 one.

Iā€™d say it would be absolutely shit to be in attendance for.

Where are the cheap jokes featuring fencers duelling with baguettes?

This looks more like it

Itā€™s all kicking off now. :partying_face:

ye have no imagination lads. Brave by the French

Iā€™m enjoying this.

Ourselves, Israel & Iran sharing a boat?

Orla is doing mornings and Laura the evenings

Very clever from the French to use the opening ceremony to show off their city and culture instead of some generic could-be-anywhere modern stadium

She was on the Tommy Tiernan show a few months back.

Shame about the weather.

Migrant boats spotted on the seine