Paul Galvin

What a legend :clap:

New found respect if true.

Oliver Callan is a knob.

Contrary to his on the field persona Galvin wouldn’t be one for getting caught up in stuff like this. Be very interested to hear the full story.
Even if Callan was just sitting there minding his own business Galvin was well within his rights to punch the retard anyway. Did Callan ever do impressions of him?

From the Indo

[color="#306294"]GARDAI[/url] are investigating an alleged pub row involving controversial Kerry footballer [url=“http://searchtopics.independent.ie/topic/Paul_Galvin”][color="#306294"]Paul Galvin and impersonator Oliver Callan, who regularly parodies him on his radio programme.
No arrests have been made in relation to the alleged incident which occurred at Kehoe’s pub on South Anne Street, Dublin last night.

“We can confirm we are investigating an alleged assault between two men at approximately 11.40pm at a licenced premises on October 19,” a [color="#306294"]Garda spokesperson told Independent.ie today but she would not comment on the identity of the individuals involved.

Neither Mr Callan nor Mr Galvin were available for comment today.

The GAA star has been wickedly skewered by Mr Callan on numerous occasions for his fashionista persona. He writes a fashion column for the Irish Independent Weekend magazine.

Eye witnesses claimed that Mr Galvin confronted Mr Callan in the late night incident.

Mr Galvin was seen earlier in the evening at the [color="#306294"]Shelbourne hotel with Arts Minister Jimmy Denihan, but it is not known if he was with him at the time of this confrontation.

[color="#306294"]Gardai at Pearse Street have confirmed that they received a complaint of assault.

It is understood that ribbing over Mr Galvin’s ‘relationship’ with Grainne Seoige escalated into an argument and the gardai were called.

Kehoe’s pub staff were not prepared to comment on the incident today.

Mr Callan who has [color="#306294"]parodied the GAA star on his RTE Radio One satirical show Green Tea[/url], has had many laughs at his expense – including one sketch where Galvin gets Taoiseach [url=“http://searchtopics.independent.ie/topic/Enda_Kenny”][color="#306294"]Enda Kenny to ‘man up’ by giving him a body wax.

The footballer was recently linked in newspaper reports with presenter Grainne Seoige and the pair have reportedly struck up a friendship.

Last year Mr Galvin hit the headlines after accidentally striking a pupil with a duster in the classroom.

The All-star and former Kerry captain is understood have thrown the duster while teaching a class at St Brendan’s College in Killarney last January.

The duster ricocheted and struck a pupil on the head, but the student was not injured.

The incident plunged Galvin back into controversy after his notorious suspension during the 2008 championship.

His dream of captaining the Kingdom to All-[color="#306294"]Ireland glory was shattered that year after he slapped the notebook from referee Paddy Russell’s hand in Kerry’s championship opener against Clare.

But he turned his football career around in 2009 and won his fourth All-Ireland medal with Kerry as well as being chosen as player of the year.

He has now taken a break from teaching and is studying fashion.

Oliver Callan is a gifted mimic who became known for his daily satirical show Nob Nation on Radio 2.

Originally from Co Roscommon, he began his broadcasting career as a newsreader before teaming up with Mario Rosenstock of Gift [color="#306294"]Grub[/url] at [url=“http://searchtopics.independent.ie/topic/Today_FM”][color="#306294"]Today FM. The pair ended up in legal dispute and Mr Callan moved station to establish his own show on RTE.

I’ve a new found respect for Galvin if he hit Callan a few thumps. Callan is a creep.

A gifted mimic? Fuck off. Well done Paul Galvin.

Callan getting a bad name here.

Oliver Callan is a muppet
Callan is a fine spot

A poverty-stricken and underdeveloped third world country’s Mario Rosenstock.

A’boy Galvin!

Hmm I wonder who rang the guards?

What the usual thing here? Bound to the peace.

2 wrongs dont make a right but I cant imagine Callan ellicting much sympathy!!

Not to mention the “friendship” with Grainne Seoige". Maybe they go shopping for clothes together.

don’t know much about callan but Galvin appears to be a complete idiot who wears clothes far too small for him…
maybe he should escape to new york where nobody knows him for a few days just like he did in the documentary…que tonto! :rolleyes:

Balls.ie have put together a case file - http://www.balls.ie/…ing-last-night/

The row between Galvin and RTE’s resident nob, ‘funnyman’ Oliver Callan, was allegedly rooted in a ‘comedic’ sketch for last week’s Green Tea. (I had to google Green Tea. Apparently it’s a satirical comedy programme on Radio One on Saturday. If you jump to around 7.10 on the clip below, you can hear it for yourself. The sketch is criminally unfunny and the impression of Galvin is appalling, which makes you wonder why he got so angry. Galvin’s had to acquire thick skin on the pitch, though maybe he thought he was doing the country a service. (And please, please, please, don’t listen to any other parts of this programme. Life is too short and there is enough pain in this world without willingly subjecting yourself to that.)

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yXFJ27PqQcI

These quotes are all from today’s Herald and include the views of Labour senator John Phelan. We urge you all to buy it for posterity’s sake.

Labour senator John Whelan: ‘The Nob Nation team were there and they were part of the banter. It seemed that they engaged Paul Galvin in the banter. An exchange took place but to be I honest I thought it was a skit at first. But then there was a shemozzle and handbags at five paces. I was surprised when the Gardai were called. He seemed to get annoyed when they started jeering at him about Grainne Seoige. He was offside, but it was a question of handbags.’

Anoymous #1- ‘There was high jinks. It seemed to get out of hand. One word seemed to borrow another. The guy [Callan?] was shouting ‘he hit me, he hit me’. He went outside and phoned the guards. I thought that he was joking. I just said to Paul to calm down down and not to make a fool out of himself. Callan was very upset about it all. It was unnecessary. They were slagging him off about Grainne Seoige. Galvin was silly to get involved and get so irate. They really seemed to get under his skin.’

Anonymous #2- Galvin didn’t budge for a second – next thing he comes over all aggressive…he called Callan a ‘fucking cunt’. We thought we was joking and that he would start laughing in a while. Galvin then goes to the toilets. Hr comes back up and starts again…next thing he goes to Oliver and goes to headbutt him – it’s more of a push than a headbutt. We were saying, ‘what the fuck’?

could be a PR stunt

if not the whole lot of them are criminally immature

What a cunt for calling the guards.
Even the witnesses said it it was only ‘high jinks’ and ‘more of a push’.

Callan’s so called career could well be fooked after this anyway

Galvin has struck a friendship with Seoige… New found respect for the man if true

Seems to be callan got lippy Galvin squared up to him/ pushed him and callan called the guards. what a sad prick callan is. Wasn’t seoige supposedly riding heaslip

Great to see the support for Galvin on this thread. :clap:

Sounds like Callan had a gang retards with him shouting their unfunny shit at Galvin, and Galvin sorted him out. Well done Paul Galvin I say.

Is the labour lad trying to be funny by mentioning handbags?

Personally, I don’t see how there’s any winners here. At the end of the day, Paul Galvin will still wake up tomorrow and be Paul Galvin, a deluded simpleton from Kerry who dresses like a Victorian-era chimneysweep.