Started out with a Ford Escort that gave me wheels in college but every fucker always wanted to go somewhere it was shook enough in the finish but it was never touched in Dublin so I suppose that gives an idea of the shit box it was.
Got an Opel Kadett after that, but it didn’t last long as I got an Astra after that, hard to compare he Astra to the previous cars but the escort had the most personality, now on my second Landover defender and the wife has an Audi A4 but I still love that ford….
Previous to having the escort I had a Honda 50 a true rural icon
a niffty 50 no insurance of course,had a load a yokes corona,corolla,golf,cavilier,celica,jeep cheeroke,nissan quest ford explorer, ford puma but my favourite was a diesel corolla van fukin great wagon espcially on the green diesel i loved that van till a chestnut tree jumped out on the road one night and killed it
got a holden commodore my09 imported and use that as my weekday car- nothing spectaculur about that but got it so my wife could show some aussie patriotism- my weekend car is a 1967 Sprint GT veloce
Ford: Bucket of shit but it was my first and had WX reg on it
Peugoet: Bucket of shit
Nissan: Okay car
Ford: Smelt like shit because I bought it off a farmer. I nicknamed it the calf
Opel: Good car, poor man’s
Ford: Good car, my first diesal
Renault: Loads of extras but I don’t trust it
Would drive Mrs. Lockes car the odd time too
Toyota: Small car
Toyota: Bigger car
Ford: Family car
Only car I’ve ever had in my name was a renault Megane Coupe. Lovely drive had it two months and left it outside an apartment I was staying in behind the Aqaurium in Salthill in Galway one New Year’s Eve. Woke up to find the whole area flooded to fuck and water up to the windows. The thing was fucked.
Made the picture on the front of the Connacht Sentinel though.
In 96 i got an 89 Nissan Micra 2 door,hated the cunt of a yoke,put me off Nissans forever
In 97 i got a 94 Peugeot 306 Diesel,good motor car
in 99 i got a demo model 306 D-Turbo,the business,what a fucking machine.
In 2002 i got a new Peugeot 307 1.6 HDI,a good servant of the hoesehold,sold it onto my brother in 05.
Since 2005 ive been driving a company vehicle(the jeep) but have purchased a good few cars for the Wifes use.
She had a 01 Corsa in 2004,pure cunt of a yoke,
Got a new Fiesta in 2005,nice little car,plenty of go in it.
Got a new Ford Focus in 2007,bolix of a car,no power and drinks juice.
Our current motor car is a 08 Citroen C4 Grand Picasso 1.6 HDI,fabulous car for a medium sized family,loads of room for the three young lads and all thier stuff,good power,fairly economical and hasnt given one bit of trouble in 50 thousand kilometres.
Yeah, I’ve driven a Focus or two and think they are rubbish as is the Golf imo.
I’ve only owned two cars, a 96 Punto which I didn’t love and an 01 Punto which I did. I managed to kill both althoughit was possible to salvage the 01.
At the moment I have no car which is grand in Dublin. I look forward to driving the Mazda 3 when I go home to Galway though.
Holden’s are crap cars, especially the Commodore. Why in the jaysus would you import a pretty average car all the way from Australia to Ireland? You’re full of shit NCC.
Nice car alright. Did you pay for that with the commission from the Clonmel job?
Am thinking about investing in my first car but know it would make little or no economic sense. I always thought the Focus was a grand car to drive but ya lacks juice. VW Golf looks nice but wouldnt be as easy to drive as the Focus imo. The Punto what a horrific pile of shite. Any accident at all and you would be smashed to bits in it.
As a first car what would ya recommend over here. Ideally I’d want something with a bit of space for the golf clubs, surf boards, sheilas etc. Obviously second hand, something that wont burn a whole pile of juice but would keep its resale value fairly well.