McGrath, Jim Bob, Fogarty at all minimum. Chin didn’t deserve an all star either. Good season alright and good signs, but there is more to go with him.
McHugh got young player of the year, so it was inevitable he wouldn’t get an all star, and I’m not sure who he’d replace anyway.
As I said, there was fuck all surprises, the selection process is a mess as Manuel says in the other thread about it
[QUOTE=“Gman, post: 1036053, member: 112”]McGrath, Jim Bob, Fogarty at all minimum. Chin didn’t deserve an all star either. Good season alright and good signs, but there is more to go with him.
McHugh got young player of the year, so it was inevitable he wouldn’t get an all star, and I’m not sure who he’d replace anyway.
As I said, there was fuck all surprises, the selection process is a mess as Manuel says in the other thread about it[/QUOTE]
Again all based on one game. Whereas Donaghy, Paul Murphy x 2, Flynn (a half really) get it based on one game.
Shane McGrath was decent most of the time, but was only all star quality again for 35 mins. Chinn carried a team several days. When his forwards kept throwing games away he kept coming back.
Its like they either ignore or completely fail to grasp mental strength.
However I accept Fogarty ahead of Chin, forgot about him. McGrath no.
McHugh is a complete joke, he was excellent all year. Ahead of Flynn all day. I thought Flynn and Connollys decision making and general availability went to shit after h-t v. Donegal. So again if we’re basing it on the last game or two everyone played , which appears to be the way, then both are questionable too.*
I think connolly deserves one, just based on some lads getting one for a good half or two and others losing one for same, he actually lost the head to head with McHugh. Flynn did not have anyway near the influence on his team or the games this year than McHugh had.
[QUOTE=“caoimhaoin, post: 1036231, member: 273”]Again all based on one game. Whereas Donaghy, Paul Murphy x 2, Flynn (a half really) get it based on one game.
Shane McGrath was decent most of the time, but was only all star quality again for 35 mins. Chinn carried a team several days. When his forwards kept throwing games away he kept coming back.
Its like they either ignore or completely fail to grasp mental strength.
However I accept Fogarty ahead of Chin, forgot about him. McGrath no.
McHugh is a complete joke, he was excellent all year. Ahead of Flynn all day. I thought Flynn and Connollys decision making and general availability went to shit after h-t v. Donegal. So again if we’re basing it on the last game or two everyone played , which appears to be the way, then both are questionable too.*
I think connolly deserves one, just based on some lads getting one for a good half or two and others losing one for same, he actually lost the head to head with McHugh. Flynn did not have anyway near the influence on his team or the games this year than McHugh had.[/QUOTE]
Only all star quality for 35 minutes ffs. Arguably Tipp’s best player against Dublin and Cork. I thought you would have seen the Cork game or were you too busy bawling your eyes out? Then the two All Irelands finals. The first day he got two points himself and Richie Hogan barely touched the ball while in midfield and had to be moved to centre forward. Chin only played well because he was playing against teams like Waterford and Clare,pure shite last year. They met one half decent team and one quality team and he did fuck all in either game. Fogarty actually had a good year and I think he’s a good hurler but up until the replay he hadn’t put in any All Star quality performances
Eddie Brennan starts it off with the tweet: Clearly Conor fogartys interviews didn’t match his performances on the field #joke[/URL] [URL=‘https://twitter.com/hashtag/AllStars?src=hash’]#AllStars
Jackie Cahill: @NedzerB13 what Tipp player is that aimed at?
EB: @cahilljackie just stating that media engagement certainly carries weight!
JC: @NedzerB13 but you’re referring specifically to the midfield area. And if so you’re inferring Shane McGrath, he didn’t speak to media in 14
EB: @cahilljackie dont put words in my mouth I’m not referring to any player specifically careful now
JC: @NedzerB13 you’re normally well able to speak up for yourself rather than leaving things open to interpretation. It’s clear what you meant
He couldn’t just take his beating, he had to say ‘don’t put words in my mouth’ when it was clear he was talking about McGrath. Absolute cunt
[QUOTE=“the man himself, post: 1036329, member: 1766”]Eddie Brennan starts it off with the tweet: Clearly Conor fogartys interviews didn’t match his performances on the field #joke[/URL] [URL=‘https://twitter.com/hashtag/AllStars?src=hash’]#AllStars
JC: @NedzerB13 but you’re referring specifically to the midfield area. And if so you’re inferring Shane McGrath, he didn’t speak to media in 14
EB: @cahilljackie dont put words in my mouth I’m not referring to any player specifically careful now
JC: @NedzerB13 you’re normally well able to speak up for yourself rather than leaving things open to interpretation. It’s clear what you meant
He couldn’t just take his beating, he had to say ‘don’t put words in my mouth’ when it was clear he was talking about McGrath. Absolute cunt[/QUOTE]
A horrible dirty bastard is Eddie,isn’t he a cop aswell?
[QUOTE=“Kinvara’s Passion, post: 1034641, member: 686”]You fairly nailed it. Late 30’s woman, a single woman in her late 20’s and a single lad in his mid 20’s.
@Spidey yes, that’s the key. There are moments when we all need to put our best foot forward. No more than 2/3 times a year I would suggest.[/QUOTE]
If your still working as hard at 35 as you were at 25 then your doing it wrong! As for 45, that’s a time for long days of thinking not working as far as I can see!
Nailed it. I remember in a previous company they had tried to rework the performance appraisal system to include technical ability on systems like Bloomberg and Reuters. My boss, in front of all his staff, said to the presenter: “I don’t know how to work Bloomberg but I know how to get someone who does, to do it for me.”
[QUOTE=“the man himself, post: 1036329, member: 1766”]Eddie Brennan starts it off with the tweet: Clearly Conor fogartys interviews didn’t match his performances on the field #joke[/URL] [URL=‘https://twitter.com/hashtag/AllStars?src=hash’]#AllStars
He couldn’t just take his beating, he had to say ‘don’t put words in my mouth’ when it was clear he was talking about McGrath. Absolute cunt[/QUOTE]
Cahill has mugged him off good and proper there.
I’d still argue that Shane McGrath was fortunate to receive the award but to be honest the second midfield slot this year was a lottery between about 5 players. Whoever did get the nod was going to be scrutinised/criticised. On reflection, considering he was close enough to being MOTM in the quarter final and semi final (and was decent in both finals) I can understand why McGrath was selected - even if I’d have given it to one of the other nominees.
Brennan didn’t have the guts to just come out and say it though, a sneaky underhanded attempt to undermine the recipient. Not a big fan of Brennan as an analyst - like Cody and most of the Kilkenny players he is a master of saying a lot while actually saying very little at the same time. Can’t really remember one thing he said this year on The Sunday Game that was noteworthy.