Also, give the manager a percentage rating in terms of how well you think he did over the season.
I’ll go:
- McGeady
- McDonald
- Hartley
- Boruc
- Robson
- Caldwell
- Nakamura
- Hesselink
- McManus
- Samaras
Strachan - 78%.
Ah yes, that was lovely and arbitrary.
Also, give the manager a percentage rating in terms of how well you think he did over the season.
I’ll go:
Strachan - 78%.
Ah yes, that was lovely and arbitrary.
1.Torres
2.Torres
3.Torres
4.Torres
5.Torres
6.Torres
7.Torres
8.Torres
9.Torres
10.Mascherano
Benitez - 45% (Close but failed ultimately)
Celtic:
1 McGeady
2 Robson
3 Boruc
5 McDonald
6 Hartley
7 Vennegoor of Hesselink
8 McManus
9 Caldwell
10 Hinkel
Really it’s a 7-3 split though. Top 7 can all say they had good seasons. Other 3 had good spells and bad spells.
7 Nakamura
I’ll give Strachan 79
TFK Astro:
1 Rocko
2 Tinnion
3 Bandage
4 Fats
5 Smelly
6 Farmer
7 Kylo
8 Colly
9 Ro
10 Jugs
And 99% for Rocko as manager.
[quote=“therock67”]Celtic:
1 McGeady
2 Robson
3 Boruc
5 McDonald
6 Hartley
7 Vennegoor of Hesselink
8 McManus
9 Caldwell
10 Hinkel
Really it’s a 7-3 split though. Top 7 can all say they had good seasons. Other 3 had good spells and bad spells.
7 Nakamura
I’ll give Strachan 79
TFK Astro:
1 Rocko
2 Tinnion
3 Bandage
4 Fats
5 Smelly
6 Farmer
7 Kylo
8 Colly
9 Ro
10 Jugs
And 99% for Rocko as manager.[/quote]
Rocko - your list is as messed up as your face. Why is Naka out on his own? Why do you have two 7s and no 4? You’re stupid.
Farmer, stop making a mockery of my thread.
Christ did some chopping and changing and fecked it up.
I’ll go again with:
1 McGeady
2 Robson
3 Boruc
4 McDonald
5 Hartley
6 Vennegoor of Hesselink
7 Nakamura
8 McManus
9 Caldwell
10 Hinkel
tis is a toughy:
lot of tough calls…tomas o leary and o connell would have made it is they hadnt been injured for most of the year…as would mick o driscoll if he hadnt lost his place…
declan kidney:9.75…made some tough calls and was pretty much correct in all of them(loses 0.25 as we lost to the lady boys twice)have a feeling it could be a bit of a poison chalice of a job for who-ever replaces him…
Sir Alex- 100% Cant fault Ferguson on anything.
Notable exclusions
Alonso - unlucky with injury but doesn’t seem up to the pace of the english game anyway
Finnan - on the way out I’m afraid
Crouch - didn’t play enough and more’s the pity
Benitez - 65% - Decent in Europe. Got closer to the top 2/3 but still out of the prem at christmas
Shan, I know the achievement of winning the European Cup and League mean he can’t be questioned at all overall but were there isolated moments during the season when you thought he fooked up with team selection, tactics or whatever?
[quote=“Fran”]1. Torres - no explanation required
2. Mascherano - probably the best defensive midfielder in the prem
3. Carragher - down on other seasons but still gave his all
4. Skrtel - good start. should be a regular next year
5. Gerrard - played in fits and starts. Good link up with torres at times
6. Reina - needs to improve on the crosses but other than that was solid
7. Hyypia - very happy with his contribution seeing as I thought he wouldn’t play at all
8. Aurelio - Had a decent 2nd half of the season. Might hold on to his position for it
9. Babel - Very frustrating at times but he’s young and has showed glimpses
10. Kuyt - Hard work alone really isn’t good enough but got some very important goals in Europe
Notable exclusions
Alonso - unlucky with injury but doesn’t seem up to the pace of the english game anyway
Finnan - on the way out I’m afraid
Crouch - didn’t play enough and more’s the pity
Benitez - 65% - Decent in Europe. Got closer to the top 2/3 but still out of the prem at christmas[/quote]
Yeah, fairly on the money there Fran. I’d maybe swap Gerrard with Carragher though and although I quite like Aurelio it’s hard to see how he sneaks in as he never properly got to establish himself in the team.
Gutted that Crouchie’s off. I reckon Mascerano is the best defensive midfielder in the world tbh.
Here goes so…
The rest
Carlton Cole - Useless fooker
Anton Ferdinand - See Carlton Cole
Lee Bowyer - washed up, go back to Charlton
Other players - buck up your idea’s lads, 10th not good enough…
Curbs - Turned the club around, didn’t get relegated the season before, went well for a while but nearly renamed the club West Ham Athletic. Went to shit once we had 30 odd points and did rap as a club after Valentines day. Last big win was home to Liverpool around the start of Feb, shite after that. I fear for Wham next year, 14th at best. Sucks!
[quote=“Locke”]Here goes so…
Meant to ask actually - what is the story with England keepers? I saw Joe Lewis of Posh was called up in place of Sicknote Kirkland. Is Carson injured or just out of the picture? And what about Green?
Manager 80% - Wenger believed in the team when most people thought they would struggle to hold their place in the top 4. Would dock marks for not addressing the centre half situation and thinking the team could win a championship with Senderos playing more than 6 or 7 matches.
I don’t buy this whole notion of a defensive midfielder and another defensive midfielder being better than another. A midfielder is a midfielder - they should be able to tackle, pass and generally create.
What is a defensive midfielder anyway? A midfielder who can defend well? Well then Sissoko was terrific at that - problem was when he tried to pass the ball. Mascherano is a decent midfielder, terrific energy is his biggest plus but he is a decent passer and excellent at breaking up the play. A very good midfielder…
as Rovers season is only mis season ill give my top ten for Roma
totti
de rossi
mexes
aquilani
mancini
pizzaro
vucinic
pannuci
juan
giuly
spaletti - 95%
[quote=“Bandage”]
Farmer, stop making a mockery of my thread.[/quote]
My reason for picking Torres in nine of the ten places is that I fail to see the reason of picking a top ten for Liverpool when you are struggling to do so (Kuyt in Fran’s list obviously) and when it was a very disappointing season with Torres and possibly Mascherano emerging with any credit - in the case of the former immense credit…
Well, that was the whole point of a 1-10 Farmer. I wanted to get a real spread of players across teams. I was surprised for example that Shan rated Vidic as low as 7th and Tevez as high as 3rd. Also, with Monkey Allen rating Toure quite low at 10th. Just wanted to get a wide-ranging perspective from the people who support the teams and watch them most often as their perceptions might differ from the generally held view in the media.
seems like a reasonable request
There is a lot of possible cannon fodder on the end of my list. But it does tell you how short Liverpool are of genuine quality
didn’t know that CC. Mental if Green isn’t called up. Might be injured. He was on the last Soccer AM of the season but only saw him miss his spotter in the Hollywood game. Don’t know about Carson.