Players Who Had It But Mysteriously Lost It

Seth Johnson :thumbsup:

Bowyer and Kewell were absolute shite after Leeds alrite. Woodgate though played in the Champions League for Newcastle I think and was a good player there and Middlesboro. Robbie Keane also did well at Spurs after Leeds. Alan Smith was always shit imo. Batty retired I think, Erik Bakke the useless cunt was at Villa for a while. Who else was there? Radebe, Kelly, Fowler, Viduka…

McPhail completely collapsed though, was a tidy ballplayer in midfield but lacked pace and presence. He dropped down to Barnsley I think at one stage but ended up captaining Cardiff in an FA Cup final at least. Harte was unemployed for a while but has scored a couple of goals lately with Carlisle. Supposed to have been a serious boozer

no he was shit on arrival and remained that way…that deal stank…i always reckoned O’leary would be found out for taking a dropsy for that…the amount they paid was disgrace…didn’t he end up back at derby for free in the end…

complete bollox…alan smith was very good at leeds…keane wasn’t…

He had a book or something out, he said he went into the negogiate the contract with Leeds and himself and the agent said beforehand they’d push for 20k p/w but settle for 15k p/w. They went into the meeting and Risdale opened the negogiations at 40k and he ended up getting 50k p/w. Madness.

Remember when Leeds got relegated and were fucked finacially, Johnson was captain and playing fairly well, next thing he had something like 24 or 49 games played for the club and they fucked him down to the reserves because if he played again for the first team they would have to pay an fee on a clause to Derby

Smith is a shit player now and always was. I never rated him in the slightest.

Keane was ok when he came on loan I think but after they signed him permanently was dogshit. Has had a good career at Spurs since in fairness.

Who competed with Gary Kelly at right back again? Kelly was a pretty average player in truth. How he started ahead of Finnan in the WC2002 I’ll never know.

[quote=“KIB man”]Smith is a shit player now and always was. I never rated him in the slightest.

Keane was ok when he came on loan I think but after they signed him permanently was dogshit. Has had a good career at Spurs since in fairness.

Who competed with Gary Kelly at right back again? Kelly was a pretty average player in truth. How he started ahead of Finnan in the WC2002 I’ll never know.[/quote]

Danny Mills, who was England’s first choice right back at the 2002 WC

tough position to play at leeds after the glory days of mel sterland…:D:D
poor mel came to a bad end at the hands of a young ryan gigss…
in modern day terms it was similar to watching bellamy running at ross tokely when he was at celtic…

oh ya he was surprisingly decent at that WC too. Pretty limited English side that one. Seaman was a shambles in goal at that stage.

Mills was rank after.

[quote=“scumpot”]tough position to play at leeds after the glory days of mel sterland…:D:D
poor mel came to a bad end at the hands of a young ryan gigss…[/quote]

I remember the halcyon days of Tony Dorigo and John Pemberton:thumbsup: two class acts

Fuck Leeds.

pemberton was muck…dorigo was good…big chris(?) whyte in the centre…:smiley: poor man’s viv anderson…:smiley:

fuck Sarsfields

super…super leeds… i reckon they’d actually beat celtic at the moment…

[quote=“KIB man”] Kewell were absolute shite after Leeds alrite.

The subject of probably my favourite Dunphy quote, “Fat and a clown. A fat clown for all to see.”

was that not about Harston?

in any case, can all these Leeds fookheads piss off to the second division thread set up and keep this thread for players who had it and then lost it, not shit players who played for a shit club.

Rivaldo is one who had it and then went to shit. His world cup in 2002 was summed up by getting the Turk sent off.

The 02 WC was set up for Rivaldo alright, then Ronaldo decided to give it one last shot and completely eclipsed him. That young skinny bucktoothed fella from PSG proved to be decent too.

[quote=“Gman”]was that not about Harston?

in any case, can all these Leeds fookheads piss off to the second division thread set up and keep this thread for players who had it and then lost it, not shit players who played for a shit club.

Rivaldo is one who had it and then went to shit. His world cup in 2002 was summed up by getting the Turk sent off.[/quote]

Dunphy circled John Hartson’s arse and said that this was his biggest problem.

He also commented on what Hartson was saying to his team mates before he scored his screamer against Liverpool in the UEFA Cup - ‘watch this lads, are ye wathcing, Jaysus did ye see that lads? That was some goal.’

He didn’t like Hartson!

I see McPhail is now receiving treatment for cancer.