Players who were "the next big thing" but never did anything (much)

saw him full back against Dublin in an U-21 final in Portlaoise a few years back…he was different class…got too big and slow…

I don’t think so Runt. I doubt we’ll ever see that lad play for Limerick again, unless it’s intermediate maybe. He was a phenomonal talent as a teeneager.

Was he in Colman’s around the same time as Shaugnessy…

Yeah. They had another hot prospect as well at the same time, can’t remember who.

Ringo Kearney that hurls for Waterford was on that team as well I think…

A few Kilkenny lads,

Hurling
Damien Cleere,Ollie O Connor,Kenny O Shea,PJ Delaney,Paddy Mullally

Other sports
Gary Halpin,big fat lad who scored a world cup try v the All Blacks,never seen again.

Eoghan(i think) O Dwyer,exremely wierdo looking high jump fella that they were raving about before the 2004 olympics the Irish media reckoned he was going to win medal,turned out that the cunt wouldnt be able to jump over a square bale of hay.

Emily Maher,a sprinter who won a few golds at the Youth Olympics in the early part of this decade,not much became of her after,a tidy bit of stuff when shes dolled up.

Michael Reddy,kicked soccer for Sunderland,scored against Man utd in one his 20 or so premiership appearances,dont think he plays at all now.

DJ Carey,lads were raving about him becoming a pro golfer etc,never happened,im scraping the arse of the barrell here ill stop now.

[quote=“THE LINK WALSH”]

Michael Reddy,kicked soccer for Sunderland,scored against Man utd in one his 20 or so premiership appearances,dont think he plays at all now.

.[/QUOTE]

Think he recently retired due to injuries. An exciting talent when he was young, for sure.

[quote=“THE LINK WALSH”]A few Kilkenny lads,

Hurling

wasn’t there big things expected of Mick Gordon too…hurled underage with KK and UCD?..

Hurling

I would imagine getting assaulted to within an inch of his life hardly helped him.

Unless you take Turenne’s view of things and think he should be back to work after a day.

[quote=“farmerinthecity”]I would imagine getting assaulted to within an inch of his life hardly helped him.

Unless you take Turenne’s view of things and think he should be back to work after a day.[/QUOTE]

Think he is on about a different PJ Delaney, was on the panel over the past few years, corner/wing back…

I’ll need to get my program from the Waterford game. I’m pretty sure I saw him on one of the panels. Is there anywhere online that gives the full panel for matches?

[quote=“farmerinthecity”]I would imagine getting assaulted to within an inch of his life hardly helped him.

Unless you take Turenne’s view of things and think he should be back to work after a day.[/QUOTE]

Im on about the real PJ Delaney,i wouldnt really rate the other one at all.The nearly fatal hammering he got in Thurles surely didnt help his career it ended his hurling unfortunately,i included him because he was a huge underage talent who did the business in the 93 AI final as a 20 Year old but then faded in subsequent Years and was nearing the end of his days of making the Kilkenny Senior side when the disaster that was those Tipp knackers struck his life.

bit harsh to have him in this thread seeing as it was through no real fault of his own that he didn’t make it

Link is right…he was Man of the match in '93 final and then went missing for a few years before any assault…I think he was only a sub in that KK squad when assault happened…

Michael Gordon was only a good hurler at underage level in Kilkenny,no better than another dozen lads at 16 maybe,he came on as a sub in the 1995 Minor AI Final on the day a Sean OG O Hailpin inspired Cork hammered us 2-10 to 1-01 in the rain,i was at it.Gordon was a handy forward but lacked a little pace and toughness,hes a Piltown native but is a bit player for Junior club John Lockes,Callan now.

The big ones expected to make it from his era of underage hurling in Kilkenny were Michael Hoyne(Graigue/Ballycallan) and Ramie Cahill(Dunnamaggin).Hoyne,a brother of former Kilkenny centre forward John was an excellent centre back,the best ive ever seen at underage level id reckon but chronic back problems that stemmed from genes rather than sporting injuries dogged him always and he could never get to peak fitness,he plays in goal for GBC these days.Ramie Cahill was a brilliant little forward,deadly accurate and fairly tough but he was a wild man who wasnt cut out for the rigours of the discipline required to hurl at the very highest level,had a great career with Dunnamaggin though and won many titles at club level,he hasnt hurled for them in a few Years now.

[quote=“THE LINK WALSH”]Michael Gordon was only a good hurler at underage level in Kilkenny,no better than another dozen lads at 16 maybe,he came on as a sub in the 1995 Minor AI Final on the day a Sean OG O Hailpin inspired Cork hammered us 2-10 to 1-01 in the rain,i was at it.Gordon was a handy forward but lacked a little pace and toughness,hes a Piltown native but is a bit player for Junior club John Lockes,Callan now.

The big ones expected to make it from his era of underage hurling in Kilkenny were Michael Hoyne(Graigue/Ballycallan) and Ramie Cahill(Dunnamaggin).Hoyne,a brother of former Kilkenny centre forward John was an excellent centre back,the best ive ever seen at underage level id reckon but chronic back problems that stemmed from genes rather than sporting injuries dogged him always and he could never get to peak fitness,he plays in goal for GBC these days.Ramie Cahill was a brilliant little forward,deadly accurate and fairly tough but he was a wild man who wasnt cut out for the rigours of the discipline required to hurl at the very highest level,had a great career with Dunnamaggin though and won many titles at club level,he hasnt hurled for them in a few Years now.[/QUOTE]

marked John hoyne years ago…savage hurler…played midfield for graigue Ballycallan all the way up underage…there was another lad Millea??..

Hurling

Other sports
Gary Halpin,big fat lad who scored a world cup try v the All Blacks,never seen again.

Eoghan(i think) O Dwyer,exremely wierdo looking high jump fella that they were raving about before the 2004 olympics the Irish media reckoned he was going to win medal,turned out that the cunt wouldnt be able to jump over a square bale of hay.

Emily Maher,a sprinter who won a few golds at the Youth Olympics in the early part of this decade,not much became of her after,a tidy bit of stuff when shes dolled up.

DJ Carey,lads were raving about him becoming a pro golfer etc,never happened,im scraping the arse of the barrell here ill stop now.[/QUOTE]

:rolleyes: quality - i remember that gimp got the crowd to clap for him, big build up and then couldnt get off the ground. Hilarious

Reddy’s goal was against Middlesboro or Newcastle. Equaliser in the last minute I think. Ended up in the lower leagues for years.

Why didnt Damien Cleere and Ollie O’Connor make it? Cleere looked destined for the top. Lacking pace or something? Ken O’Shea used get the odd goal but thats when KK had the likes of Niall Moloney and them playing.

Wexicans, why didnt Jim Byrne make it?

didn’t Cleere join the cops and purton about 10 stone?..

Ken Shea was some lad to get a goal ok… bit windy though.

The real PJ was finished as a hurler when the Tipp knackers struck, but was some prospect alright.

Pat Kirby, Limerick, was a serious prospect though but was just too small.

Graham Barret while in the Arsenal youth team was been spoken about in glowing terms. Turned out fairly shite. Anthony Stokes is pretty much a carbon copy.

Who was that little ginger lad, Terry something or other that got into Stans first Ireland squad as a 16 year old… no sign of him since.

Lucy Kennedy’s fella Richie Governey looked like he was destined to be an outhalf of note for Leinster and after an illfated international tour to NZ he disapearred.

Ulsters Gareth Steenson was also a points kicking machine when the Tomas O’Leary, Jamie Heaslip team got to the U20 WC final, and he disapeared off to English Division 2 never to be seen.

Declan Quill was being spoken of in Kerry as Maurice Fitz’s successor, but after some off the field hassle he disapearred.

[quote=“sid waddell”]
Laois footballers 1996 - present[/QUOTE]

A bit of a generalisation, but nonetheless :rolleyes: