Terry Dixon, with West Ham now, still fairly young, had a bad knee injury that hasn’t helped his development
[quote=“HangBlaa”]Ken Shea was some lad to get a goal ok… bit windy though.
The real PJ was finished as a hurler when the Tipp knackers struck, but was some prospect alright.
Pat Kirby, Limerick, was a serious prospect though but was just too small.
Graham Barret while in the Arsenal youth team was been spoken about in glowing terms. Turned out fairly shite. Anthony Stokes is pretty much a carbon copy.
Who was that little ginger lad, Terry something or other that got into Stans first Ireland squad as a 16 year old… no sign of him since.
Lucy Kennedy’s fella Richie Governey looked like he was destined to be an outhalf of note for Leinster and after an illfated international tour to NZ he disapearred.
Ulsters Gareth Steenson was also a points kicking machine when the Tomas O’Leary, Jamie Heaslip team got to the U20 WC final, and he disapeared off to English Division 2 never to be seen.
Declan Quill was being spoken of in Kerry as Maurice Fitz’s successor, but after some off the field hassle he disapearred.[/QUOTE]
Barrett has a lot of injuries in fairness. Think he could be at Falkirk since. Stokes - joker. Showed up the SPL for what it is. There was a lad on one of Kerr’s underage teams - Shaun Byrne I thought had the makings of a cracking player. Barry Quinn the captain of the under 18s was at Coventry but is now in the Conference I think. Terry Dixon had criminal injuries but West Ham signed him there last season. Was all set to make his debut but broke down again towards the end of last season.
Quill was the best player I ever played against. Think he was a non playing sub for about five years. Wasnt he on the panel last year? Dont know how lads can do that just be a perennial sub.
Quill was Kerry’s top league scorer 3 years in a row I believe. I guess he just thought he’d get his chance at the show. He never really did apart from one MSFC start I believe.
Micko made a big play for him when Laois boss.
[quote=“KIB man”]
Quill was the best player I ever played against. Think he was a non playing sub for about five years. Wasnt he on the panel last year? Dont know how lads can do that just be a perennial sub.[/QUOTE]
There was talks before that Limerick were trying to get him to transfer up from Kerry and play for them, think he was studying/teaching in the county at the time…He was a class act in fairness…
[quote=“HangBlaa”]Ken Shea was some lad to get a goal ok… bit windy though.
Good one for ya about Ken Shea as hes known in Kilkenny,mesef and a few of my associates were travelling to Croker for an AI Semi Final,think it was 98,on a bus when one of them annouced to us that Ken Shea was in the car beside us on the carriageway.we stared out at him but he didnt take much notice of us,he was very busy with a blondy wan in the back of the car,tongue down her throat and mauling the shite out of her,a few oul lads werent impressed,we but it down to nerves before the game:D,he wouldnt do it if Cody was in charge.
He might have been alright
Felt he was blackguarded a bit for Kerry. Sure the Gooch was always going to be number one but he was definitely as talented as Russell, Sheehan and other inside forwards who got chances ahead of him at the time. If you can pop them over in the league you can pop them over in the Championship. Surely he could have been given a chance at centre forward too.
Lacked pace but lads I know from Tralee felt that the whole course case thing went against him big time too.
He should have gotten more chances than he did, but in a county like Kerry you only get one or two chances and if it doesn’t happen there’s a lad equally as good to step in.
Pity he didnt take up the chance elsewhere, I doubt any Kerryman would have begrudged him.
[quote=“myboyblue”]He should have gotten more chances than he did, but in a county like Kerry you only get one or two chances and if it doesn’t happen there’s a lad equally as good to step in.
Pity he didnt take up the chance elsewhere, I doubt any Kerryman would have begrudged him.[/QUOTE]
Think Crowley and himself were the two corner forwards when Meath annihilated them could be wrong on this but I think neither player was given much of a chance afterwards.
[quote=“sid waddell”]Richie Partridge
Stephen Elliott
Sean Thornton
Javier Saviola
Denilson
Antonio Cassano
Joaquin
Mark Keane
Declan Quill
Matthew Clancy
any number of Galway hurlers
Kieran Hero Murphy
Mickey O’Connell
Seanie McGrath
Philip Clifford
Laois footballers 1996 - present[/QUOTE]
Had a superb innings as a Cork senior. Was older than alot of people think when we won in ‘99, and was the only decent forward we had along with Barry Egan in the mid 90’s. He then fell out with O’ Grady and decided not to play into his 30’s. Not at all under achieved. Over achieved i would say due to his size.
[quote=“myboyblue”]He should have gotten more chances than he did, but in a county like Kerry you only get one or two chances and if it doesn’t happen there’s a lad equally as good to step in.
Pity he didnt take up the chance elsewhere, I doubt any Kerryman would have begrudged him.[/QUOTE]
You don’t really know Kerrymen so.
Why the feck would he go play for another county, especially when his own got him out of the height of shit back in the day.
He still is one of the best club players in Kerry.
[quote=“KIB man”]Barrett has a lot of injuries in fairness. Think he could be at Falkirk since. Stokes - joker. Showed up the SPL for what it is. There was a lad on one of Kerr’s underage teams - Shaun Byrne I thought had the makings of a cracking player. Barry Quinn the captain of the under 18s was at Coventry but is now in the Conference I think. Terry Dixon had criminal injuries but West Ham signed him there last season. Was all set to make his debut but broke down again towards the end of last season.
Quill was the best player I ever played against. Think he was a non playing sub for about five years. Wasnt he on the panel last year? Dont know how lads can do that just be a perennial sub.[/QUOTE]
barrett was released by falkirk i think
Maurice O Brien also on that Colmans team. Great prosect, never really delivered.
[quote=“caoimhaoin”]You don’t really know Kerrymen so.
Why the feck would he go play for another county, especially when his own got him out of the height of shit back in the day.
He still is one of the best club players in Kerry.[/QUOTE]
I realise what shite they got him out of, but there was no obligation for him to hang once it was clear he was never getting the nod. What was done to him up in Donegal was pretty harsh and he never pulled on the shirt after that.
He’s a fine Club player no doubt and regular top scorer down there, but he was given two chances to go elsewhere and I think his talent deserved the recognition either of these chances would have given him. Muprhy from Cork done ok with Kildare if memory serves me correctly, Karl O Dwyer the same, neither were begrgudged it in their own county.
[quote=“KIB man”]Why didnt Damien Cleere and Ollie O’Connor make it? Cleere looked destined for the top. Lacking pace or something? Ken O’Shea used get the odd goal but thats when KK had the likes of Niall Moloney and them playing.
O’Connor was windy as fuck, Cleere wasn’t a lot better on that score. Davy Buggy much better than both of them but had weight problems. At least he’s still goin strong for Comer. The other two have long since fallen by the wayside.
What happened Brian Barry from Dickboro, think he was training to be a doctor and couldn’t commit to the training, looked a very good hurler in the making, had a great sideline cut on him
Fine hurler with UCD, got a few runs with KK but never nailed down that spot.
remember hearing a story about Dublin playing Cork in a league match one time in Pairc ui Coamhain…the dublin manager michael o’ grady was handing out the jerseys when it came to one of the beefier players, he dipped into the bag and gave him the no. 4 jersey and said ‘your marking Seanie Mcgrath today’ to which the corner back replied ‘jaysus Mick , you don’t have a spare moped in there (the bag) ??’…whole dressingroom was in tears laughing…obviously went out and got bet by about 20 points…:rolleyes:
Fell out badly with his club, think he played a leinster club game with UCD rather than a relegation semi-final with Dicksboro. Didn’t go down well with them. AFAIK he hasn’t played for them since.
Shame on him…
It’s reassuring to actually read about these lads from Kilkenny who chose birds and booze over hurling. Sometimes I get the impression that Kilkenny folk ride their birds in handball alleys while practicing flicking the ball one handed off the wall.