Price of a Haircut

Its very sensual having a professional wash your hair.

Most if the barbers around limerick city are owned by the one family, the Hackets. The father had a shop on O’Connell St. during my student days. A noble barber. His children now run Blades, Figaros and possibly Knights.

I’d also recommend Modern Man just there at Sarsfield bridge. More suited for the trendy younger man.

I frequent JCs in Caherdavin myself. He’s one of the Corless family. James is as fast and as tidy a barber as you’d get.

I didn’t know that. I go to Blades myself.

Hadn’t had a shower before hand. It’s always busy on a Saturday. Just stuck on the tracksuit and headed down. A wash made me feel better and @ 3 euros it hardly broke the bank

Because you’re worth it

You can’t put a price on that.

Was it young wan or a bloke washed it?

A fine young lady

Lovely.

I had an experience once where a young lass prepped me for the wash, eyes closed. Lovely job. Washed the hair, scalp massage, jaysus twas magic.

Opened the eyes and it was a Turkish bloke.

Got a hot towel that day and the same man massaged my face and neck.

I’ve no gay in me but that man had the hands of God

A Turkish happy ending.

A Turkish Delight in fact.

Pre All Ireland cut done there. Three months of solid growth trimmed off.

Despite my previous misgivings, I must say my barber’s online booking system works a treat. Booked in for 4.30, walked in at 4.29. €15. Had a grand chat with the Liverpool supporting barber/proprietor, who informed at the end that he’s moving to Liverpool next week to follow the girlfriend over, so my search for a barber in the north east will have to start all over again.

Anyone been into Garvey’s of late at all? Used go in there years ago and I see they still open at the crack of dawn. You’d be guaranteed one of the three slapheads in there would crack “How much will I take off, the same as meself?” anytime you darkened the door.

I’ve just emerged from a haircut and beard trim.

The barber’s conversation was a bit nuts but he was a master of his craft and was producing different blades, clippers, razors, oils, ointments and what have you throughout.

Anyway, I reckoned he was close to finishing up when he made eye contact with me via the mirror and said:

“I’m going to give you one final once over and then I’ll close this haircut down. Okay?”

I’ll close this haircut down. Immense. :clap::clap::clap:

€31 mate?

It was only €26, as he didn’t charge for the hot towel shave (beard trim with clippers - €8, beard trim with clippers and hot towel shave - €13). A mighty sound gesture on his behalf.

Sounds like you got your money’s worth, in so far as getting fleeced by a funboy goes anyway.

Fair play. I’m sure you rounded it up to 30 mate

Paid the €26 with a card tap & gave yer man a fiver. Job was oxo & it’s a little something towards his new phone after he fired his iPhone 6 into the Liffey on his day off last week.

A mighty sound gesture from yourself.

I hope he took the sim out first