Where should i go Bandage? Where would you go?
Near the mecca? Go to The Beggar’s Bush - 20 yards up the road from Slattery’s.
Slattery’s is a disgrace:
- didn’t open on FAI Cup Final day because they perceived themselves as better than domestic football supporters;
- have a ‘club’ for the rugby football world cup where you sign up and get entry into the pub for the morning games;
- don’t allow people into the pub if they have any football related garments on;
- sometimes don’t show live football matches on the TV and have recorded rugby football games playing.
Here’s an anecdote that was on Liveline - a girl was meeting a friend in there once but the other one’s dart was delayed. So the first one’s boyfriend said he’d keep her company for 5 or 10 minutes while she was waiting for her pal. He ordered her a glass of wine and just asked for a glass of tap water for himself and yer man wouldn’t serve him because he said he wasn’t paying enough and was taking up bar space.
Slattery’s. :guns: :mad:
You should object to them getting their licence renewed. [quote=“Bandage, post: 68752”]
Near the mecca? Go to The Beggar’s Bush - 20 yards up the road from Slattery’s.
Slattery’s is a disgrace:
- didn’t open on FAI Cup Final day because they perceived themselves as better than domestic football supporters;
- have a ‘club’ for the rugby football world cup where you sign up and get entry into the pub for the morning games;
- don’t allow people into the pub if they have any football related garments on;
- sometimes don’t show live football matches on the TV and have recorded rugby football games playing.
Here’s an anecdote that was on Liveline - a girl was meeting a friend in there once but the other one’s dart was delayed. So the first one’s boyfriend said he’d keep her company for 5 or 10 minutes while she was waiting for her pal. He ordered her a glass of wine and just asked for a glass of tap water for himself and yer man wouldn’t serve him because he said he wasn’t paying enough and was taking up bar space.
Slattery’s. :guns: :mad:
I’ve heard enough, cheers mate.
Beggar’s also has a BBQ on the go in the courtyard mate. They’ll fire you out a hot dog or quarter pounder with your pint.
Have a great day above in Dublin pal.
Slatterns is a grand spot dunph. You going to listen to two mulldoons like me and ss or a self confessed urbanite like bandage
On another note bandage I’m surprised you went to mcsorleys. A he’ll hoke filled with mutton dressed as lamb. Smyrna is superior in every possible aspect including talent
I’ll look forward to Dunph bumping his “Dublin” thread next week. Always enjoyable to read about his impressions of the capital.
Still, I’m concerned about Bandage’s legitimate complaints, dan, that sounds like utterly cuntish behaviour. I’ve had my issues with Slattery’s over the years but I’ve recently left bygones be bygones and have had no problems there after coming from Mecca latterly. They had a guy there who used to wear surgical gloves and had a sort of ‘Mundy’ hair cut. He tried to take a high stool from under me one night when he was attempting to clear the place mere minutes after serving me a pint. I ate the stupid head off him and prolonged my supping up time by an extra ten minutes while he raved to himself in what sounded like modern Greek.
I would agree that Beggar’s Bush is the soundest pub on the road but I was thinking of Dunph’s weight and the fact that crossing the junction there would be difficult, it’s up to you big man.
I’ll only be drinking coffee at Mecca tonight as I’ve an important day ahead of me tomorrow.
Look it, dan & SS** make some fair points and I’d be happy for Dunph to visit either or both watering holes later.
How is The 51 tipping along these days Bandage? Have they remained true to their roots?
Sad to hear Coppers has recently got notions above its station and has instituted a ‘VIP section’. A laughable concept for that joint.
I intend on pissing all over the VIP section next weekend.
I was in the “VIP” section of Kyrstle last night. A very average spot with the cunt ratio even higher than I expected.
What the fook? What does this consist of? The sooner people stop going to that place the better, it’s been sucking the life out of other places in the area for too long.
[quote=“SHANNONSIDER, post: 68760”]
How is The 51 tipping along these days Bandage? Have they remained true to their roots?[/quote]
Seems to be doing okay since they acknowledged prices need to come down. Lots of specials all the time, all pints for €3.50 Monday-Wednesday, free food platters for groups etc. We still control the TV and jukebox for the most part so that’s a positive.
Ended up in a place called ‘Diceys’ last night. Full of absolute cunts so it was, i would rank it as possibly the worst place of its kind i’ve been in. We drank our pints swiftly enough before making for the exit and onto Copper Face Jacks…
Diceys isn’t as bad as the place next door (the name of which I can;t recall right now), Coppers is the worst of the worst though.
How much was Coppers last night Dunph? I suppose I can expect to part with at least €15 for the pleasure of gettin robbed for a pint and ending up in a scrap next weekend?
Pricey enough. Ten bucks to get in and i got myself a brandy and red bull at one stage, it came to €9.70. I nearly fell on the floor in shock. What an absolute outrage.
Diceys is the biggest cunt of a spot in the country true enough. Only thing that saves it is t cheap booze midweek
They’ll definitely crank up the prices next weekend anyway. I’d say we’ll stay in the Merchant Saturday night and do the dog on it Sunday.