Price of a Pint

It’s down in the arsehole of Temple Bar past that Fitzsimons place which is another abomination of a place. Haven’t been in the Turks head in about 3-4 years but the last time I was in there our group were nearly the only caucasians in there. Could be closed now for all I know.

The Duds will be everywhere. I’d imagine Harcourt Street and Wexford / Camden Street will be more mobbed than usual. The taxi drivers will be queuing up from about 10am I’d say!

The real question though is why would anyone want to go to Coppers when its going to be uncomfortably packed and impossible to get a drink in there*
D2, Whelans, The Palace etc are much better spots. The only thing that lets them down can be the crowd at times, but they’ll have no such problems Saturday night and are way better options IMO.

[size=1]*I will probably end up in Coppers myself as a few mates from Kerry are up and are unlikely to be persuaded their annual trip to Coppers is a bad idea.[/size]

I’m confused.

I have never been stamped on the way into Flannerys. I have been stamped into Coppers but that has been while going into the nightclub which only opens at around 11.30.

Maybe it is a smoking thing?

You’re correct. They’ll stamp you if you want to go for a smoke and there’s a queue. Or you can just request a stamp at any time as far as I know.

All this turning up early and getting stamps seems like an awful lot of bother to essentially ensure smooth entry into Flannery’s and Copper’s. I think Julio Geordio knows the score here.

I remember being out drinking with brian tinnion the night before the Tyrone Wexford All Ireland semi final in 2008. We went into Coppers at half fucking10 because he was meeting a pile of Wexford lads up from the country for the night and they wanted to head to Coppers. I was still well in the pint drinking mood but wouldn’t touch the slop in there, so went on bottles. Of course that limited my ability to get locked and the place got absolutely wedged, and the usual heaving and pushing occured. Shite night it was.

Also having your night out planned before it even starts is sad. I like to go out with the intention that I can go anywhere, and with great ideas of trying somewhere different before I eventually give up and end up going to Flannerys and Coppers.

Flannerys is a cunt hole.

Coppers is a fine establishment, which lends itself to the ultimate drinking experience.

If you want a lady of foreign extraction Fitzsimons and the Turk’s Head are the place to go. I’m a regular in both.

Queuing for pubs is just wrong. There’s no shortage of watering holes in Dublin. Jokeshop stuff.

Fitzsimons is the greatest kip I ever stepped into. Last time i was in there it was full of Chinese gay men. I’ll reserve my judgement on the Turks Head until I can remember most of it.

The Hairy Lemmon (I think it’s called) is another spot we’d frequent. Seems full of cunts though.

Bring loads of money with you.

Robbing bastards.

It’s €6.50 for a pint or even a bottle of beer in Fitzsimon’s. It’s almost like some kind of postmodern prank.

TRE - you’d need to sort out this habit yee have of going to shitholes and overpriced mediocre bars. Tis no wonder you’ve such a bad impression of Dublin. There’s a thread here on decent boozers in Dublin from a few years ago which you should read through before the weekend.

Turk’s Head is a grand spot, though I obviously invite the allegations of bias. Can’t stand that Fitzsimons place though. But they’re completely different types of venue.

Forum member Nemesis was in Diceys one Thursday or Friday last summer during the World Cup. Had a few drinks watching one of the afternoon games and at about 5 when the work crowd were due to arrive they asked him to leave. I think he made a scene and stayed and tried to act even more scruffy and uncouth to piss them off.

You’re dead right Mac, unfortunately it’s a bit of a pilgrimage going to all those spots. If I can persuade the gang to venture off the beaten track this weekend it’d probably make a better weekend out of it by getting cheaper booze and better women.

He sounds great, why does he never post?
Turk’s Head is actually a decent spot, the price of a pint is reasonable for Temple Bar and there’s usually good music.

your “gang” sound like a bunch of honky tonk retards

There was a black bird in Coppers on Saturday night, and i made a play for her…

They are mate. Here is a recent picture of them:

http://mos.totalfilm.com/images/1/10-coolest-movie-gangs-03.jpg

TRE is their leader and tells them what to do, his party piece is where he sings a song about it. I’ll see if i can find a video of him singing it…