Price of a Pint

You’re not familiar with the Garda Benevolent Fund….

They’re not exactly an NGO so may be forced to exist on charitable donations.

The lynx brand was more or less seen as the yellow pack of deodorants in particular back in the late 70s/80s . You couldn’t give it away. Unilever bought it out in the early 90s I think and did a serious marketing and image job on it. So much do that the lynx Africa deodorant became a global number 1 best seller and the lynx brand in general climbed right up the ladder. Shur you wouldn’t get a can of lynx for under a fiver today bar it’s on promo

A fiver to smell like a hoors handbag.

Linden Village also. Goons they were called in Galway.
Tinker Juice the affectionate name.

If I’m not mistaken the noble flagon of cider fell victim to the dreaded minimum unit pricing trick a few years ago. I haven’t seen them in years at any rate. Probably UK only now….

Not sure. I’ll report back next time I’m in Withington which does a strong line in depressing booze shops.

Frosty Jacks was our drink of choice in University in Bangor. 3 litres for £2. You’d be done for the night after it.

Or else Sainsbury’s Cider , 3L for £4 if you wanted a more “sensible” night.

The last time I went looking for cider to cook a ham the cheapest flagon of cider was up on €7

I could murder a few now

Nothing brings this place together like chatting about pints and helping a man find a watering hole. The camaraderie is something else.

I had heart burn more or less constant for 5 or 6 years until I realised Cider was burning a hole in my stomach.

Lived on Druids in college. Savage tack.

Sadly I can no longer indulge. One bulmers the odd time on a very warm day

I could drink ice cold pint bottles now. It’s an absolutely glorious day.

Same. Lived on the the stuff in college and couldn’t touch it now. Even on a roaster of a day I’d sooner go for beer.

I’ve drank about two pints of cider in my life.

Not my thing.

Does nothing for me. In the heat I find beer way nicer

Every man, woman and child in our area was drinking pints bottles in our area in the early 00s.

Do ye remember the :owl: shnakebites?
They were a one way drip to the gutter.

Jugs of it in O’Malleys, King’s Cross, Sydney for 8 dollars were how I spent my Sundays

There was a right burst of lads drinking cans of it in the pub too. Think it worked out a bit cheaper

There is a real bang of 'Shameless" off lads drinking cans in pubs.