Pubs opening

VFI says there are 50k employed in the industry. Steady on.

Pubs are not a one man band alas, there are subsidary industies and suppliers too, not to mention brewers etc. The 50k figure is doubled in Summer too.

Fuck the VFI and their cartel like behaviour. Theyā€™ll be seething people are drinking at home safely and responsibly without the Need for a publican to look out for them.

They have got away with murder over the years from politicians. Restricted off licence hours, minimum alcohol pricing all while pretending to be interested in the health of the population when all they are interested in is maximising profit

https://www.google.com/amp/s/www.thejournal.ie/oktoberfest-beag-cancelled-vfi-cork-4227983-Sep2018/%3Famp=1

How the hell will a single man pull in future?

Industry representative body wants said industry to maximise profit shocker :open_mouth:

The pub is the place for a drink mate, a social activity in the company of people whoā€™s company you enjoy, a few alcoholic beverages to loosen the tongues and enhance the craic,

Weā€™re all different, i used to enjoy a few bottles at home with the missus or even by myself the odd time but I wonder now what I ever saw in that pastime, I donā€™t see the point anymore, I havenā€™t had a drink since February and wonā€™t now for a long time,
But I look forward to getting out to a pub whenever that opportunity presents itself, I canā€™t wait

Yep under the guise of ā€œpublic healthā€.

Karma is a bitch.

Pubs will survive and thrive donā€™t worry, bumps in the road are all part of the game

I can see some lads are desperate for a pint. Pint time in 97 days, 3 hours and 45 minutes
HOLE THE LINE, You can do it boys!
https://www.datecountdown.com/?timer=1&d=8%2F10%2F2020%2012%3A00%20AM&t=Pint%20Time&fbclid=IwAR0HoTfHKnZduvfkuyvVeVGwYlrZxIcb8bjwvCfGYph-2744zfe32FpxPc8

The pubs will be full of yahoos on the first day they open, lads skulling pints like thereā€™s no tomorrow

Best avoided for a few days

Drinking is only a mugs game.

I prefer to drink out of glasses.

Bear crawls.

Sadly my noble friend I feel there will be pubs that will never reopen. Somewhere around 20% of them are facing the harsh realities that itā€™s just not worth it.
Any rural town boozer in the habit of opening at 6 pm or that oulā€™ shite is fucked.

Themā€™s the casualties of war. Thereā€™s always corpses after battles.

Yes there will be casualties, many peoples businessess, life savings, dreams are staring into the abyss. A lifetime of hard work wiped out overnight. Thousands will be jobless after this, some lads seem to be applauding all of this.
There is no happy ending for so many good decent families all over the country thats the sad truth of it.
No one out there should give up hope though, the slings and arrows of outrageous fortune will still be flying tomorrow just as they were yesterday.

Iā€™d have thought rural pubs will do okay out of this, itā€™s the pubs in larger urban and City settings which are goosed as they rely on footfall for profit.

Is eating out going to be a saviour for them? It may well be.

A lot of people who were fond of dining out probably see massive savings throughout this crisis and wonder what the fuck they were doing.
Pubs like in the UK with Drink & Food will probably take over now.

If I had put money into a pub I would be shitting it now. Potentially a cultural shift has been created with people being able to ā€˜live without the pubā€™. If that causes a fall off of even just 10 - 20% then that will be enough to seriously damage the sector.

This is it, when you see money accumulating in your account you start to wonder why the fuck you used to piss it away.

Cancelling live music & DJā€™s will hurt too, Iā€™d occasionally wonder into town if there was a good band on.

Also see a pub which opened in a town close by last year, place is fucking tiny. New owner spent a bomb on it but couldnā€™t make it bigger. Max youā€™d pack in their is maybe 65 people uncomfortably but he is actually fucked now. To safely social distance he wonā€™t get 15 in the doors.

Iā€™d imagine he was well set financially regardless but his investment is fucked now.

Ok style drinking booths need to come back into pubs.

Youā€™d have to feel sorry for them. No one would ever have seen this coming.