Question for the techies

It’s a complete fuck of a system.

They started building it in the late 1990s with knowing what they were doing. Some IT crowd were supporting it for the last few years and they never thought to map out what is in place and what the best solution for us would be - until I asked the question in the last year.

Fucking madness.

What or who creates the file to be sent? Some auld wagon writing shite on word or different type?

If by that you mean me then yes :pint:

It’s mainly PDFs, Excel/Word, JPGs or AutoCad files.

So someone remotes into a server to email your files elsewhere? We’re getting places now.

Sounds like an utterly shit system! Is it a gov agency/quango of some sort?

Mate of mine worked in a place for a few years. State funded agency not of huge scale but still 40 odd people working there. The lady who ran it was the only person who had access to email. So if they wanted to send a work related email they would type it up save it to a drive and walk to her desk and she would review and decide to send or not. She was doing 80 hour weeks in the place unsurprisingly. A control freak.

Yeah that’s it.

Office365 + something like Box or Dropbox and your sorted. Even without going to the cloud there are better options

How many staff roughly ?

Bout ten in Ireland departure 20 over there.

Why don’t you email them yourself?

They’re not all my files. There’s about 100gb of files relating to customer history, machine specs, photographs, historical data.

Account Managers and Sales Execs need access to it. It would take two full time admission focusing solely on Ops to manage their requests.

All that stored in the one location? Disaster zone. You need a whole new process rather than an IT solution there.

I’d get on to Hillary Clinton. What she doesn’t know about e mails isn’t worth knowing. She’ll sort you out kid.

Yeah I’ve been preaching this for a while. Had proposals in from many IT companies and the 365 one is the best I can see for us.

Have you thought about uploading everything here and using PMs instead of emails?

@KIB_man advised against that.

:ronnyroar:

I migrated a similar size company across recently to Office365.

In terms of data 100GB of files is nothing. If you have a decent connection and all of the UKs staff mailboxes etc are sitting on the Irish server you could migrate them across over a weekend . The difference would be massive, you could have a Skype for business subscription with that too which i’d imagine would save ye money, even if you only used it for IM.

It will solve your current process issues, provide you with a ready made backup and DR Solution, and give you much improved technology. It also sounds like you have no domain / account management system in place for the uk office ? You could incorporate that too.

Tell them you commissioned a report from a team of top IT consultants and they concluded that anyone who is against the proposal should fuck off and die.

Porn on your work phone? Talk to me. @TreatyStones? @Ashman

Grand on home network? Answers within the hour please.

Don’t have a work phone . Am a total Luddite . Porn utterly overrated . Sorry , can’t help .

Depends on the level of oversight your IT department have over it. Are you with a big multinational?

Fair chance you’d be grand.