cheers, looks like a literal game changer for me. I’ve been using wireless for xbox live as otherwise ive to run a 10M cable to the router and when its wired its actually slower than the wireless
Well worth the 30 quid.
Hard to see things improving so unless you have a dodgy cable.
itll stop the disconnects for a start.
cable must be well past its sell by date, its over 10 years old at this stage
Your ethernet port on your modem and xbox will be specked CAT5, CAT6 or CAT6E. Have a look. Your cable will also be labelled, if not assume it’s old and useless. Match your cable with the specs on your devices for best speed.
https://www.dignited.com/38483/cat5-cat5e-cat6-cat6a-cat7-cat7a-ethernet-cables-explained/
if Ethernet is slower than wifi it is usually something happening at the Ethernet card. Drivers or a dodgy network card.
A simple test is to run the cable to another device and check connection speeds. If it is slower on more than one device it is the cable.
If not update your drivers on the NIC on the dodgy device
I agree with all that but, and you knew there was a but coming, this is a domestic setup between an xbox and a router, you’d have to suspect and change the cable first.
Check it first, run it to another device. If it’s fucked, new cable. If it’s not, have a look at the NIC drivers. Which is what I said in my original post
No offence to @artfoley but I don’t think he’ll be looking at the NIC drivers in his router or xbox anytime soon.
nah, I’ve a new router sitting beside me that sky kindly sent me which ill set up shortly. it appears that CAT5e and CAT 6 are the way to go with wires
Saga continues. Swapped to Sky, just getting their broadband plan. Averaging only 21-25mbps which is a load of shite.
Anyway of ensuring the fuckers don’t throttle the account and instead maintain the 50-65 they recorded the first week or so?
If not, any other suggested alternatives to sky/virgin? Any decent wireless/5G suppliers that would suit domestic usage?
21-25 mbps is ample for home usage
Minimum 30 for IPTV to run smoothly
ah it’s not.
I run about the same range as you and I’ve never had an issue with iptv
That’s what IPTV provider has said to me himself, 30mbps for smooth service.
Keeps dropping in and out. Cousin on same provider saying running without fault.
Are you watching 4k or UHD? Even then you only need 25mbps
Is there many people using the internet in your gaff?
No, SD, HD tops.
Yeah, could be 5 or more devices on the hop at same time between phones, telly, laptops, tablets etc.
If they are using bandwidth at the same time you’re watching the fillum that could be an issue, and probably still would be at 50mbps
Turn off all devices except one. Hook up a cable and do a speed test