Racism Continued

Stay the fuck off social media, in other words.

So, are “n” jokes considered high jinks now amongst young fellas? Pretty ignorant stuff…

Anyone read what that knob jockey Francis wrote in the Sindo yesterday?

And how exactly do you think they should be taught a lesson? A witch hunt by the professionally offended? Expulsion? For a four second clip whilst drunk?

Ignorant, absolutely, but the solution to ignorance is education, not burning at the stake.

What’s the right response when people are blatantly racist? Ah it was just a bit of hijinks/boys will be boys/sure they’re from a “good family”/leave them off twas just a joke/ah sure they were drunk they didn’t mean it?

Or call them up on it?

I’m more inclined to judge a person by their deeds than their words, which is where I diverge from the online mob. Words can be used to incite, in which case they become deeds in themselves, but a stupid throwaway drunken three second thing such as that video I’d think “eejit” and move on. I hope that the president of MIC shows wisdom and strength here, and stands up to the mob. It’ll be forgotten in a week. Calling those idiots racist may be justified, but it way well not be, neither you nor I have any idea.
In any case, everyone is tribal and racist to an extent.

Have to say, disagree and disagree. Can you explain how using the n word and black lives matter hashtags and broadcasting it for numerous people to see can be considered not racist? I doubt it.

There didn’t seem to be any context to the word being used in the short clip I saw, absolute gobshites but I’d hope this will blow over, the girl was as bad.
Lads here throw the knacker word around like confetti and nobody seems to give a fuck, what’s the difference?

It’s fairly straightforward lads, don’t be a cunt

You think everyone isn’t tribal? Really?

I think they’ve learned their lesson, the hard way.

And what do you make of the calls for their expulsion?
Do you think they should be expelled?

I think its trial by social media and its disgusting.

But they cant be shocked at it either given whats going on around the world right now. MIC will do well to slip the noose here.

Hard to disagree with any of that.
Rentamob justice is rentamob justice all the same.

Thats the way its gone now, and youngsters need to realise it. The old days are gone.

You just said everyone is racist to an extent. That’s a different thing. I disagree.

You also seem to be saying they shouldn’t be criticised on social media, they threw it up an social media so they made it public and invited response.

You said calling it racist may not be justified. Can you explain how? I think that’s utterly ridiculous. It’s clearly racist.

Why are you soft on blatant racism?

What was he saying?

what did he write?

Are you tribal in any way glas?