Racism Continued

What’s this “we” business?

Sigh

Chaps, drunk or not, need to know their actions have consequences. Sadly these lads are gonna learn the hard way it seems. High jinks no doubt, but really, take a look at whats going on around you and catch yourself on a bit boys.

Back in our day being "streetwise " was worth an awful lot. While you could possibly define it differently today, certainly from a social media perspective an awful lot of lads are very naive

Kids and their phones… Will they ever learn?

I reckon these lads have.

They should be shamed for that shit. If they were thick enough to video it…

Drop religion in school and maybe expand the Cspe classes.

It’s a shame but we really need to educate kids.

I had a case of it in my own home.last night when trying to decide what take away to get.

The eldest used a derogatory word for chinese which she wanted but ended up in her room for the night without her chinese.

Trial by Twitter Mob. It was textbook the way it played out.

1. Arrest / Booking Process: The charges were leveled via Tweet, and the accused were immediately placed in Twitter jail, while the mob bayed for blood;
2. Denied Bail: Friends deactivated themselves from the accused;
3. Arraignment and Plea Bargaining: At the first appearance in Twitter court, the accused created a Twitter account, wrote a plea bargain outlining how stupid they were for being so insensitive, etc. etc., took a screenshot, and tweeted it to the Twitter mob;
4. Trial and Sentencing: Will be taking place over the next few days. Stay tuned to Twitter. Feel free to shriek in order to ensure the maximum sentence is handed down via the Twitter mob.

Post :clap: I’ve being trying to relay this to the far right fanatics for weeks

Stay the fuck off social media, in other words.

So, are “n” jokes considered high jinks now amongst young fellas? Pretty ignorant stuff…

Anyone read what that knob jockey Francis wrote in the Sindo yesterday?

And how exactly do you think they should be taught a lesson? A witch hunt by the professionally offended? Expulsion? For a four second clip whilst drunk?

Ignorant, absolutely, but the solution to ignorance is education, not burning at the stake.

What’s the right response when people are blatantly racist? Ah it was just a bit of hijinks/boys will be boys/sure they’re from a “good family”/leave them off twas just a joke/ah sure they were drunk they didn’t mean it?

Or call them up on it?

I’m more inclined to judge a person by their deeds than their words, which is where I diverge from the online mob. Words can be used to incite, in which case they become deeds in themselves, but a stupid throwaway drunken three second thing such as that video I’d think “eejit” and move on. I hope that the president of MIC shows wisdom and strength here, and stands up to the mob. It’ll be forgotten in a week. Calling those idiots racist may be justified, but it way well not be, neither you nor I have any idea.
In any case, everyone is tribal and racist to an extent.

Have to say, disagree and disagree. Can you explain how using the n word and black lives matter hashtags and broadcasting it for numerous people to see can be considered not racist? I doubt it.

There didn’t seem to be any context to the word being used in the short clip I saw, absolute gobshites but I’d hope this will blow over, the girl was as bad.
Lads here throw the knacker word around like confetti and nobody seems to give a fuck, what’s the difference?