Random Questions About Ireland

Something to do with the ancient knights from the Island, valiant, etc Fitzgeralds of Desmond I think

Beal Inse

How come Tyrone (with a population of 312k, mainly taigs) can’t manage to win a senior club all Ireland?

I’m going with @Julio_Geordio explanation on this one kid

Oh jaysus don’t get him started

How come a small club in KK can in hurling but counties with larger populations can’t ? What a stupid question.

No offence cowpat but you’re hardly best placed to judge what is or isn’t stupid.

What’s your excuse ?

I sincerely and earnestly wished to further my understanding of club football in Tyrone

That is fairly offensive :joy:

Bumped for @feck_it

thats not it man, its one cocolitemice had

Dunno then kid. I just did a search based on what you asked

What was Nighthawks lads? Was it a series or just lads drinking cans?

If it wasn’t the latter I am bringing the idea of “Lads with Cans” to RTE

That’s an excellent idea except with RTÉ it would end up having Pat Shortt, Jedward and Jennifer Zambrotta or whatever her name is as “the lads”

Shirley Temple Bar?

It was a concept based on the Tom Waits song Nighthawks at the Diner. So it was a curious beast. It was a talk show essentially set in a diner/bar. Shay Healy was cast as the owner of the diner/a waiter and would wander around the room and occasionally sit down and talk to a punter who just happened to be a politician or celeb. The rest of the diner was full of ordinary Joe’s chatting away and having a drink. It was on late night on RTÉ 2 and was ideal coming in from the pub telly for midweek drinkers. It’s lateness of hour coupled with the relaxed atmosphere of the diner meant that guests talked more easily.

There was also a ludicrous waitress with a silly foreign accent and there would be music.

That’s 'Allo 'Allo you just described.

There were similarities I’ll admit.