Where would a scullery fit into all of this?
Have you an auld dresser in the kitchen
I also suspect it’s a clamping Fagan, not one for the ages, but a clamping nevertheless.
On a related note. I proposed a whole back that we appoint a clamping commissioner.
It would clear up a lot of petty squabbles over wether a fella was clamped or not.
I’d go the while hog and even suggest @Little_Lord_Fauntleroy for the role. His experience on the celeb spotting would be invaluable and he’s very, very impartial and fair. …
We’re building at the minute and will have to redesign one of these in. But we might call it a pantry - just to be different.
ah here, I ditched the roast and made a fish curry that Hugh Fearnley Whittingstall created, I can’t remember if someone here gave it to me, but by jesus, it was one of those magical moments, a road to Damascus moment, when it all came together perfectly for me, one of those dinners you never want to stop ateing as you approach the end because it is so nice, i could ate it everyday for the rest of my life, thank god I made a pot of it for the week, Hugh is the greatest Englishman of all time in the cooking stakes
Throw up the recipe there, pal.
this will change your life for ever
I threw an Irish stew in the slow cooker this morning. We got home this evening about 5.45 and the aroma in the gaff was fantastic. Gorgeous stew and the Kids lapped it up. Job done juhniallio
That sounds fucking delicious
I’m not exaggerating, its mind blowing, and it took less than half an hour, I followed it to the tee. Sure it would work savage with chicken aswell, I have the next three weeks dinner planned out already
I need to dust off the slow cooker… What did you put in it?
Lamb, spuds onions celery leek carrots and garlic. And thyme. The slow cooker just does all the work for you.
We have on occasions thrown a full chicken in there with spuds onions carrots etc. Come home to a full chicken dinner. Try it kp. It’ll change your life in ways you never knew were possible.
Tell ye now lads. Had roast beef in the Anner today before the match. There was a great choice there. Beef, lamb,turkey or bacon. All the veg you wanted. Very good in fairness
How long do you leave it on for?
What setting do you use? Mine has high, medium and low.
Last time I did a stew, I left it for 9 hours at medium and it was still under cooked.
I can’t stand Irish stew, the smell off the mutton sickens me
That’s mental kp. What were you stewing? Bricks? I threw it on high for an hour before hitting low as I left the gaff this morning. So one hour on high to get it going then low for about 7 hours. Lamb was melty and the veg was nice and soft so even the picky princess loved it.
If you’re designing one of these larder type rooms I’d suggest putting In a big fucking mad extractor fan, if I’d my time back again I’d do it. Just to clear the horrid fumes from the deep fat fryer.
While I’d be a fan of deep fried food of all types I cannot stand the vile smell from the frying apparatus. I’ve mentioned to Mrs Bradley on several occasions that I’d prepare our deep fried meals outdoors but she reckons I’m just a raving spastic for going on and on about the smell of a few chips, in short Ironmoth a find a well ventilated spot for the frier.
Cheers pal. That’s sound advice, and I will be putting in a big extractor fan - if only to make sure moisture is removed. Had considered putting a smaller extractor in pantry, but on second thought I suspect it would end up pulling air in there.
Would you deep-fry a ham sandwich, ya roaster ya! Because if you did, I’d be interested in knowing what it’s like.
I’d second @Juhniallio here - there’s no way it should have been undercooked. Wonder could the element be fucked if it’s been shelved for a while? Only other thing I can think of is were you taking the lid off regularly? Even on high it’s not really going to cremate the food, so don’t be afraid to throw it on and resist lifting the lid.
Slow cookers are brilliant for families that are out and about constantly with kids. I’ve even made an apple and cinamon porridge in it before bed and left it on slow. Now that was a smell to wake up to!