Reckless Tackles/Challenges We All Love To See

I wouldnt be too well up on it, but from a passing viewing, its an incredible sport and that takes a huge number of talents and skills. But I’ve always seen it as full of cheap shots and crowds baying for blood and violence. You’d wonder if they take it out, can it prosper.

I must rewatch Miracle again sometime for the craic.

Apparently the soccer mom demographic, for want of a better term, were being put off so they’ve started cracking down on it, but society in general is too I spose.
I’m all for a big hard showlder, but that one above was the cheapest of cheap shots.

I await the Jackie Tyrell piece on how it was a good manly hit.

I watched the 30 for 30 recently called Of Miracles and Men. A far more interesting story about the Russians who the yanks beat in the olympics. Really interesting back story to the whole thing centred around what happened at Lake Placid. If that doesnt interest you, then one of the main stories is about Slava Fetisov and he and his incredibly fit daughter go back to Lake Placid to talk about the game.

I’ve been looking out for that one, where did you come across it?

tis on my IPTV set up.

Simeone planted the stud in someone’s leg about half way through this

luddite

That was a real junior B blind side punch from Romario :joy:

That is filth

It saddens me greatly to see the phrase “victim blaming” used in reference to hurling.

That’s Galway for you

There’s a very good documentary called The Last Gladiators, I think it’s on Netflix, about one of the old NHL enforcers. Now he’s a washed up drug addict, still mental and it’s about how all those guys ended up basically smashed mentally and physically. Very recommended.

But yeah, of course the enforcer thing is real, 100%. Every team has a designated fighter. There’s one guy who’s never been beaten and he’s a legend. He’s like a professional MMA fighter who happens to skate as well. Those guys are barely even hockey players.

It was a dangerous hit and it’s being roundly condemned. If he doesn’t get at least a one game ban then he’ll be fought by other players especially Shea Weber the lad with the reddish beard until he wishes he was banned. He was frustrated the whole third period and when he saw evans wide open took it out. Key here is how defenceless evans was looking at the puck, second key is Schiefele didn’t go near the puck. Thing is, fighting is fully necessary to discourage this as if it didnt exist what’s to stop lads at this every game?

This is a must watch if ye can find it on pissondtelly,

Hasn’t been the case for 20 years. I blame the weak Europeans.

There was an interview a few years back on OTB with an ex ice hockey player. Same craic

The Game we love is gone

If you did that to a Galway hurler he’d never again get up

Go and try it in a club game and see what happens :slightly_smiling_face: