Regular Savings - Suggestions

Funds… meh…

By the time the ‘fund guy’ gets his cut and all entrance and exit fees are paid then there is fcuk all of a return.

I bought 10 heifers last January. They are all in calf now and will produce 10 calves in March. Thats where its at. That and property.

guys,
i have 4,000 euros in a betting account
what should i do with it?

[quote=“mickee321, post: 881352, member: 367”]guys,
i have 4,000 euros in a betting account
what should i do with it?[/quote]
2k on Our Conor Champion Hurdle
2k on More Of That World Hurdle

[quote=“Kinvara’s Passion, post: 881351, member: 686”]Funds… meh…

By the time the ‘fund guy’ gets his cut and all entrance and exit fees are paid then there is fcuk all of a return.

I bought 10 heifers last January. They are all in calf now and will produce 10 calves in March. Thats where its at. That and property.[/quote]

What would be your profit off that?

[quote=“Kinvara’s Passion, post: 881351, member: 686”]Funds… meh…

I bought 10 heifers last January. They are all in calf now and will produce 10 calves in March. Thats where its at. That and property.[/quote]

That’s why you go passive. Much lower management fees. Also shown that they tend to produce higher returns on average, partially due to the fees issue.

[quote=“farmerinthecity, post: 881346, member: 24”]@Bandage

You will of course be aware that higher interest rates are offered for accounts where you have limited access to. I would be amazed that you don’t have some levels of saving/excess cash given that you are such a high flyer. I would shove that off to one of those accounts. Also useful if you going looking for a mortgage which considering where you are in life at the moment shouldn’t be too far off.

You should then have your regular savings. 200 quid a month isn’t worth a shit.[/quote]

I led an exuberant lifestyle during the Celtic Tiger years, mate. And I’m now taking the average industrial wage as a measure of my regret at how the banks damaged our economy. I’m in it for the pure love of the game.

Vodafone

**all based on having your own land of course!!! and you cant price your own time, if you do you’ll make a loss!!

Year 1 - you make a loss of about 3000 euro (feeding, fertilizer, vet, testing etc)
Years 2 - you make a profit of about 6000 (9000 in sales minus costs)
Year 3 - you make a profit of about 6000 (9000 in sales minus costs)
Year 4 - you make a profit of about 6000 (9000 in sales minus costs)

[quote=“Bandage, post: 881343, member: 9”]A mix of a Rabo savings account and some Rabo managed funds then, is it?

@Rocko[/USER], @[USER=246]Boxtyeater[/USER] and @[USER=122]dancarter - please advise.[/quote]

I have no idea as to why you asked me for advice Bando my oul’ flower, but here’s my tuppence worth.
In October 2012 I speculated €1k on Bank of Ireland shares @ 10.6c (9433 shares). They’re about 26c now. In the interim I’ve put in another grand in fits and starts and expect them to see the 50c mark this year. I’ll probably offload them if they reach this dizzy height but don’t expect them to crash either. It’s a slow burner.

Kerry Foods and Glanbia are winners too (gains of 20% or so over 2013) but the share price is prohibitive for the ordinary punter. Not inferring that a man of your standing could be deemed an ordinary punter though.

[quote=“Boxtyeater, post: 881715, member: 246”]I have no idea as to why you asked me for advice Bando my oul’ flower, but here’s my tuppence worth.
In October 2012 I speculated €1k on Bank of Ireland shares @ 10.6c (9433 shares). They’re about 26c now. In the interim I’ve put in another grand in fits and starts and expect them to see the 50c mark this year. I’ll probably offload them if they reach this dizzy height but don’t expect them to crash either. It’s a slow burner.

Kerry Foods and Glanbia are winners too (gains of 20% or so over 2013) but the share price is prohibitive for the ordinary punter. Not inferring that a man of your standing could be deemed an ordinary punter though.[/quote]

Boxty, hav’nt you heard - past performance is no guarantee of future results

In small caps, Escher

No harm to have a few grand in a credit union account. Wont make alot of interest but you have access to instant cheap credit if you need it.

Those Rabo funds are handy but they are taxed as offshore funds so watch that on any tax return. No small gains exemption for them either so all Gains are taxed. Also a couple of years ago Rabo closed a fund I was invested in unilaterally. It was not a big amount of money but the fund was down on my entry price so if I was waiting for it to recover I couldn’t and my loss was crystallised when Rabo took the fund off their platform and closed it. One to watch if you are heavily invested in any one find on it.

Any city boy I ever talked to about this always told me to pay off your house before you start worrying about anything else. They said that even in a decent economic climate, you will struggle to reliably make the returns that will offset the cost of a mortgage. They said there is no point in investing in anything until you have the house paid down and have cash to play with. That is what I have tried to do in any case. Not too far off now barring disasters. I’d be interested to know the thoughts of the financial lads on here about this.

It is very good advice. No mortgage and owning your home gives a lot of freedom.

My main issue with this is the lack of liquidity. Any money put into the mortgage can’t be accessed if needed quickly unlike most of the savings/shares/funds suggested here.

Well they did say to have “thirty or forty grand aside as rainy day money”, as only cityboys would. This wasn’t an option at the time. To an extent it may be a bit more possible now, but with the finishing line in sight with the mortgage, it’s hard not to fire every spare penny at it bar holiday money.

Agree 100 per cent flatty.

Thanks all of you. That is good to know.

Is it worth your while paying chunks off a tracker mortgage?

I thought wrongly that the bank would be interested in giving me some sort of discount as they are seemingly losing money on tracker mortgages.

I don’t know. I wonder could you get more back from a high interest type savings account? Not sure to be honest, as you may gain on the swings and lose on the roundabouts. I figured the advice I had was sound enough as it was from more than one good source, and I hope that not having a mortgage will be liberating (though I suspect that in actual fact it will make feck all difference in the general scheme of things). I’d imagine the lads here would know better.