Republic of Ireland v Georgia 12/10/19 - Switzerland 15/10/19

You know you’ll get all he has for 90 minutes, he was taking on his man getting a cross in that we nearly scored from in injury time

Winning either of our final 2 matches guarantees at least the playoffs.

Two draws won’t be enough unless Switzerland draw at home with Georgia.

We are completely fucked.

We are nearly guaranteed play offs for third place, top 2 go straight to Euros.

Link?

Hourihane and Hendrick were downright pitiful in midfield today just constant sloppy passes one after the other, It’s infuriating that the two of them and Whelan will start yet again Tuesday night.

I believe he asked @anon61878697 For a suggestion and he donated it to as per ye agreed.

It’s very hard for lads in their position to maintain possession when there are only 3 static targets ahead of them, to make use of the half spaces you need a defensive midfielder that’s cute enough to take the ball off the centre halves and find you. You need genuine pace out wide to pin the full backs

This is by far the most realistic route to the finals

I don’t see us beating Denmark if they need something, and I find it hard to see us get through two play off rounds

But a draw in Switzerland is possible

Denmark’s win was a good result in my view

We’d have had to beat the Danes to get past them anyway, even if they hadn’t won today

Eire are at 4/1 to win the group - if we qualify via the group, it will likely be by winning it

One minor thing, if it’s 0-0 with the Danes in Dublin we go ahead of them on the 1-on-1’s, notwithstanding their better goal difference.

Massive pressure on the Swiss to beat us now while we have some bit of a safety net, if we can dig in and withstand the inevitable barrage for the first 25 mins and hopefully ht then the home crowd will become increasingly frustrated and anxious. We will get 2-3 decent opportunities be they set piece or counter attack but we have to be clinical. Start Connolly at worst his pace will make the Swiss defenders think twice before bombing too far ahead in support.

Away goal on head to head??

Yes, that’s my understanding.

I’m basing this on Wikipedia putting Ireland ahead of Denmark in their table and nothing else.

Lads I was watching that while drunk. What is the general consensus?

Roll on Stephen Kenny. Disgraceful performance.

I hope you apologize when you wake up.

We are still woeful shite but are still in with a fighting chance, the general way of things over the last decade.

In fairness after the draw was made if I was offered winning one of the last 2 games one of which is at home to directly qualify id have taken your arm off. Still unbeaten and they will battle like fuck limited as we are.

There’s no scenario left though where we beat the Danes to qualification by getting a 0-0 draw, because they’ll have 15 points by then as they have to play Gibraltar

We could win the group with them on second place on such a scoreline, but in that scenario we’d have already have secured qualification by beating the Swiss, so it would only matter for betting purposes

The results today were weirdly good for us, I think

It sounds crazy but there’s an argument to be made that we could have been in a worse position in real terms had we won and Denmark only drawn

If we had had a four point lead after today, it would have meant that the likely scenario would have been that we needed a draw against Denmark to qualify ahead of them, with the Swiss winning the group

But now there’s a real possibility that a win against an already qualified Denmark would secure qualification ahead of the Swiss

If you asked me which scenario I’d be more confident in:
i) Having to avoid defeat against Denmark to qualify ahead of Denmark or
ii) Having to beat an already qualified Denmark to qualify ahead of the Swiss

I’d pick scenario ii)

Myself and @chops91 have decent seats for the Danish game should be a cracking atmosphere.

I am confident we will qualify in the top two, winning wan of our remaining games wan nil.