Republic of Ireland v Portugal - 11/11/2021

sadder was grown men booing Ronaldo for the first half last night. Liverpool fans no doubt.

They ran out of steam in the second half and concentrated on supporting Ireland

Booing an opposition player because of the club team they play for is a long and proud Irish tradition and long may it continue.

It’s pettiness in the best possible sense.

Éire fans have been known to boo players due to mistaken identity .

Did you boo at the telly?

Poor guy that was announced as Peter Lovenkrands

Think it was Ebbe Sand ??

I believe you are referring to the time Peter Madsen was mistakenly identified by some people as Peter Lovenkrands.

That was tremenjus fun, because most of the people booing were in fact aware they were booing the wrong player.

The spectacle of it all, the performative jollity, the performative stupidity with a hint of intelligence behind it, it all reminds me of people clapping ironically when an aeroplane lands.

And anyway, Peter Madsen was later convicted of brutally murdering the journalist Kim Wall in a home made submarine in Copenhagen harbour. So the booing was retrospectively justified for that filthy animal. The murderer may have been a different Peter Madsen to the footballer but that’s irrelevant.

When did a Rangers player last play at Aviva ?? Sign of their decline is very few internationals play for Rangers these days

Also no crowds at Aviva for last couple of years .

Glenn Kamara with Finland in the last nations league?

Was the place empty ???

No because i) Cristiano Ronaldo wouldn’t have heard it and ii) I wouldn’t have been taking part with other people in a fun performative ritual of meanness and petty begrudgery, I’d have just been a weirdo booing at the telly for no reason, in a non-interactive setting.

ii) is the more important reason here.

If I had been at the match I think I would have booed Ronaldo, mostly because it would have been fun, a bit of a laugh.

because he plays for Man United?

I would safely assume Ronaldo didn’t give a fiddler’s fuck about the booing last night

so would I, which makes it that bit sadder even

He may not have, but he played shite.

So the booing worked.

Whether it actually worked to unsettle him or not is irrelevant.

It worked.

he did not. He was a constant threat and only for a non penalty call, Bazunu and some last ditch blocking he would have had a hattrick

And Portugal, who were Ireland’s opponents last night.

And because of his pompous personality.

And because it would have been fun.

He played well last night and put in a shift .

He played shite and was badly unsettled by the booing and general derision.

He remains on 0 goals playing in Ireland, the big girl’s blouse.

Surely booing opposition players is fair game, and it’s natural the better/most renowned ones will get most attention. I think we’re developing a nice edge now and, to paraphrase our great Taoiseach Micheál Martin, Mr Kenny is taking an overarching approach to it. Things along these lines I noticed last night:

Multi ball system. Treat United ball boy and ball girl unit were obviously well briefed to get the balls back to us ASAP but the little Limerick fuckers were statuesque when it was a Portuguese ball.

Setting the sprinklers off instantly when the half time whistle went but only in sections of the pitch populated by Portuguese players. The keeper got a right soaking.

Not putting the ball out of play when their players rolled around on the ground. Coleman was very vocal and gesturing to play on any time one of our players kind of half paused and considered stopping.

Ogbene’s smiling reaction to that centre back trying to get him sent off and actually laughing at his cheating while yer man spent the rest of the first half and the walk off the pitch at half time in the ref’s ear.

Seems to be a good togetherness within the camp.

Ireland Ireland Ireland