Youâre up and at it early this morning, the schedule has been cleared??!
Iâve a dayâs work to do. You mind that other eye, because the level of seethe, high blood pressure and constant screen use is going to put it under serious pressure. Iâm not even joking about that, thatâs a genuine piece of advice.
Shure you didnât take a break the whole of yesterday.
Just a tip, mate - if you have to resort to jeering somebody over a serious medical condition, youâve automatically lost any argument.
I feel sorry for your fellow âworkersâ, what with you going around shouting âUp the Raâ all day at the top of your voice like Alan Partridge shouting âmooooooo!â
Youâll give yourself laryngitis and you donât want that.
Unless youâre a town cryer literally as well as metaphorically?
I wasnât jeering you. There is a genuine risk of the other retina coming under pressure from over-use of the âgoodâ eye, and increased blood pressure is also a factor in it happening.
I think itâs pretty obvious you were mate and so were your fellow Limerick posters. But donât worry, Iâm a big boy and am well able to take it, Iâm getting quite the laugh from how desperate for material youse lads are.
Also you said you were supposed to be at work and wouldnât be posting and here you are back on?
Watch that blood pressure, Iâd say itâs been sky high the last 24 hours.
Reggie is now joining in⌠Who would have thought that all the screaming Marys would go and make âup the Raâ a meme to be an every day running joke in society.
It was an awful slap in the face to the families of the likes of Garda Jerry McCabe, Garda Seamus Quaid, Garda John Morley, Garda Gary Sheehan, Private Patrick Kelly and Brian Stack. Members of the Security Forces of the State murdered as they went about their jobs by gangs of gangsters and criminals who didnât recognise the State and purportedly were at war with it. âOoh ah, up the Raâ my arse.
I must admit, I initially thought âup the raâ wasnât a big deal and this was largely a contrived furore but thereâs been terrifically robust debate about it on TFK since. Itâs been TFK at its finest in my view and the likes of @Cheasty and @ChairmanDan have made several points that have made me pause for thought. Equally I think @Juhniallio (of all people) made some excellent points yesterday, not necessarily in defence of it, but contextualising it. Thereâs been some outstanding and particularly vitriolic personal abuse thrown in too. I always like it when posters drag up previous spats and unleash a torrent of pent up insults at someone. Overall, on the back of this, Iâd probably be less inclined to shout âup the raâ to myself when Iâve gotten the better of an English banker on a work call. Iâd also be more wary about joining in the singing of it at Celtic Park and perhaps limit myself to the Jimmy Bell song and other ditties of that nature. Thatâs learning, thatâs evolution, that growth, thatâs TFK.
My local is a small pub in rural Limerick. Thereâs an English lad (Walsall) in his early 50âs that lives and works locally as a contractor, and has done so for the last 5 years or so.
We were having an early evening pint yesterday when he ambled in. He was asking what the fuss was about, had b=never heard of the Wolfe Tones or had barely heard of the tradition of Republican songs. It struck me that your average English person neither has any interest or understanding of it and are generally not bothered at all. Thatâs mainly how Brexit passed too.