I know four Finbarrâs off the top of my head. Two Barryâs who are Finbarr too.
I know an Aussie from Perth called Finbarr. Parents from Derry. Work that one out.
You know them personally?
I canât think of anybody who goes by the full name, actually I can think of one who was in school with my brother but I havenât heard of him in 30 years.
Obviously it has history in Cork but it still a dead name now.
Canât remember a Cork sportsman with the name or anybody of note really.
It canât be right??
I have known 2 finbars in my lifetime* and both were from cork.
*platonic, lads.
My little lass is in a preschool with a young lad named Senan. Not a name you hear much these days. Used to be loads of them when I worked out around West Clare.
Edit: @Juhniallio the first non-Cork Finbarr I ever met is also in the little lassâs school.
A quick Google shows a fair few of them. I always thought it went without saying it was a really popular name in cork. Not many kids though Iâd say youâre right.
Iarlah, great name. Always think of Galway with that name.
There was a chap in college from Cork called Finbarr who wasnât much craic and quite serious going. He was tagged with the name Funbarr as a result. Oh the jolly japes we had back then.
Finbar wright
Finbar galvin motors
Finbarr Saunders and his double entendres
Youâre fierce protective of Cork.
Ye are fierce protective of Cork.
Fixed that
I donât understand why a discussion on the name Finbarr equates to being protective of Cork.
Itâs just a name.
I havenât lived in Cork for over 20 years, I donât consider it a huge part of my identity, but because I was born and raised there I have sone knowledge, itâs kinda weird that itâs construed as rabid âCarknessâ here
Iâd be more protective of Limerick , just not on a GAA sense, thatâs my home
Eunan is a quintessentially Donegal name.
Canice for Kilkenny. Hugh for Monaghan. Dublin aul fellas always had a load of old English type names Arthur George etc.
Eanna as well.
Ailbhe is a Tipperary name. Common with girls now. Pronounced ALVA.
If you are named Conair Iâd say there is a 98% probability you are from northern Ireland.