A lot more restrictions on pcp to achieve that value. Whereas the bank loan it was an asset belonging to you with the liability to the bank. Granted the value of the car falls drastically from new
[quote=“Heyyoubehindthebushes, post:881, topic:8647, full:true”]
A lot more restrictions on pcp to achieve that value. Whereas the bank loan it was an asset belonging to you with the liability to the bank. Granted the value of the car falls drastically from new
I wouldn’t touch pcp if I was doing any kind of serious mileage.
There’s usually a 15k a year threshold
You mightn’t be able.
Jayses. Thats 3 months driving for me
I don’t do over 5.5k for work, the mileage rate drops off a cliff then
I’ve always been of the mind that if you can’t drop a wedge of cash on the table for a car, you can’t afford it, unless it’s a tax write off.
Christ, I do 5 k a month for work. Probably rack up another 10 k a year personal.
I’ve never placed any value in cars. I always think it’s an absurd thing to put a large sum of money into.
An asset that immediately loses its value just by you buying it.
It’s just a car at the end of the day. Once it works it ticks the boxes for me
+1. Absolutely no interest in them. This may be conditioned by only passing the driving test at the age of 37 though.
I’ve had a few high end cars, and soon realised that they’re nicer from the outside in than the inside out. I’ll get an electric mokka next.
Reliability is the key.
I had a Ford Focus that just wouldn’t start every now and again, Following a lot of investigation, time and expense it was concluded that a new alternator was needed. Which was fine for a while until it happened again.
I decided there and then I would change, Bought an Audi at a good price and have changed to another Audi since. No hassle (Touch wood).
Cars - meh.
Ah I think it’s important that the little people can drive a nice, fresh reliable car too.
If they can afford it on a monthly basis what harm.
You can buy a reliable car for fcuk all, but you can twist my words any way you want.
Similar, can’t get my head around someone changing every year. Bought a 17 Audi few years back from an auction in the UK at a good price as I wanted something with cruise control and Bluetooth. Haven’t had a bit of trouble with it and will drive it for a number of years.
I drive an 07, I bought it back in 14, as long as it keeps passing the NCT I’ll hold onto it, when it doesn’t I’ll buy another car 5-8 years old and start the process all over again, I think it’s mental to be paying back a large loan for a car that does pretty much exactly what mine does
I had a Mondeo that started giving me grief. Supposedly had low mileage and bought off dealer. Spend a fortune in repairs. Went new in 2019 and again last year. PCP offers lower interest rates than ordinary bank loan. Wouldn’t go back to second hand for main car again. In at NCT centre with the secong jalopy now. Fuck knows how much it’ll cost to get it fit enough to pass.
Mondeo was some hape of shite
Premium prices though
And most s hand Audis have been to the moon and back( mileage)
Great yokes though
I’d 2 way back
Audi 100
And 80
Both had mega mileage but got one for 500 pounds and got a year plus hassle free driving
Since stuck to jap hybrids ,
Frugal and dependent
( like meself)
I’ve a mate in Bishopstown
Bought a Audi 80 Quatro in years back,
Black, pristine
Only comes out a few times a year
Best I’ve seen in Ireland n or S,
He drives a small white can himself,‘ say he’d sell the wife and kids first rather than part with his baby.