Rip Off Ireland - A thread for rip offs

10 trillion?

One jillion.

There has to be some limits on the cost. Saying stuff like “no matter what it costs, it’ll be worth it” will excuse the gargantuan waste that could, and I predict will, occur

We’re desperately short in housing. Living in one of the most expensive countries in Europe with more and more people slipping in to poverty… in this we pay some of the highest costs on home heating and lecky… and the I’m all right jacks want to fuck endless money on a train system for a section of Dublin alone.

Fuck off.

I presume part of the reason Dublin has fucked Shannon is to inflate numbers higher in Dublin as part of their pitch for this thing?

Do you think those shower of junkies are that smart?

Yes. Man gets clever when he needs a fix.

Rural depopulation is a huge problem. Villages and towns being kilt stone dead… but let’s fuck zillions on a gammy train most of the population will hardly ever use.

Go away ta fuck will ye.

That’s why need more MHR’s. Lads who’ll stand up to the Jacks. Men fighting for rural Ireland. And the fucking dubs trying to kill him for it

This train will be the envy of Japan with its finished.

Pity twill be China who owns up by then

They’ll come from China to see this.

For that money they should be able to see it from China

A few Dublin based lads want to feel cosmopolitan so are demanding we break the country for a choo choo.

They wouldnt let it go under their houses when they had the chance.

In my opinion, it’s no coincidence that Darragh O’Brien’s own constituency stands to benefit heavily from this project while he happens to be Minister for Transport.

This country remains hopelessly parochial, and it looks to me like he is determined to push through his own magnificent little legacy project while he has the chance, regardless of the cost.

Tens of billions for a relatively short stretch of underground railway, when vast parts of the country have no rail service whatsoever. It is unnecessary, potentially ruinous and, quite frankly, an absolute joke.

Could we ring Spain?

Yes the metro has only been talked about since Darragh O’Brien came in as minister for transport

For the past 30 years one of the main focuses of development plans has been to get balanced growth across Ireland, with the aim of getting Cork, Limerick and Galway to 50%, 33% and 25% the size of Dublin. Yet despite having 3 decades of these plans the latest one published says “a business as usual strategy would continue the pattern of over concentration of population, homes and jobs in around Dublin and the decline in other areas”. I can’t think of many better examples of business as usual than a proposal to spend €1bn per km of track to improve capacity in Dublin.

Are you proposing to relcoate people from swords ballymun etc somewhere else becuase the proposal is to reflect that a huge population basebin Dublin doesnt have adequate public transport and this will fix that.

There is no other area in ireland that requires public transport for 20k per hour.

In my opinion, the time to build the airport rail link was when they were constructing the M50 and port tunnel corridor from Dublin port out towards the airport and the Clayton roundabout. The rail alignment should have been designed and built alongside it or, at the very least, the land and infrastructure should have been reserved for it.

With a bit of foresight, we could have had a direct rail corridor from the port and city into the airport years ago, instead of now talking about spending tens of billions tunnelling through established parts of Dublin. Another massive opportunity missed.