Robbie Keane says he will quit playing international football

Reported on the news there that Robbie Keane said that he will quit international football if he is dropped by Trapatoni. This is very disappointing attitude from the Captain of the international team. What does he expect, he has barely played any football and he still expects to start?

We all know what Robbie Keane is like, it’s no surprise. I hope he fooks off and never plays again.

Certainly nowhere near black and white as you have made it

“I have not really worried or thought about my position with the Ireland team,” said Keane, who is line to make his debut for the Hammers against Blackpool tonight.

For now, Keane is only concerned with helping his new club avoid relegation, and he admitted that he is prepared to step aside at international level should someone come in to take his place.

“It is all about now and I’ve said before if I didn’t play for Ireland and someone else came in, I have always said I would walk away,” he added

Don’t think it is a case that if he doesn’t start the next game he will walk away, moreso if there are two better strikers in the squad or if he isn’t worth his place he will walk away

Why not stay and fight for his place then? Surely you would want a better attitude from your captain than this.

After the bones of 13 years of playing for Ireland and 100+ caps he owes Irish football absolutely nothing and if he decided to walk away when it came to a point that he was no longer first choice or there were better players than him in his position then he would be more than entitled to

Quite a selfless attitude from Robbie actually, fair play to him. There will be come a day in the near future when he probably shouldn’t be first choice and whoever the manager is would probably still have felt obliged to start him so I think it’s a grand thing to say.

I think we will see Kilbane call it a day sometime in the near future if we can unearth a credible option or two at left back…Wouldn’t be surprised to see Duff call it a day at end of this qualifying campaign either…

Very selfish of Kilbane. Would he not stay and fight for his place?

Bring back TASE’s hero Dennis Irwin

Mischievous reporting. Making it out like it’s a petulant veiled threat when it’s nothing of the sort. Of course, simpletons and haters will use it to chastise the great Robbie Keane and that’s to be expected.

More evidence of lack of ambition to go with him not wanting to join a soon to be top 6 side in Birmingham City.

Keane now distancing himself from West Ham in his 1st Press Conference, using they constantly instead of “we”.

Great way to endear yourself to the locals Robbie, good man.

Farmer - I suppose he’s got a better chance of making the WH team, i wouldn’t fancy his chances against the likes of Jerome.

You were always obviously on the lunatic fringe of the forum but I think you’ve marked yourself down as an irrational Keane hater here. There’s simply no good reason why somebody with no connection to West Ham (apart from knowing a family who support them) would be in any way upset by Keane using the third person plural when talking about the club.

Not really sure why I’m bothering to reply to an irrelevant thread but I heard the interview earlier and had a feeling he’d be quoted out of context.

Of course if you’d listened to the quotes properly you’d see it was just an extension of a pronoun carried forward from a previous sentence when he was talking in the past tense about West Ham before he joined them. He obviously referred to them in the third person in that context and simply didn’t change pronouns so as not to confuse the listener. He’s most articulate is Robbie.

[indent]"It is something I am fairly used to now, coming to a new club. It is an opportunity for me, and I don’t really have anything to lose.

West Ham are bottom, all we can do is push up the table and I am here to hopefully do that to avoid relegation.

I can only be myself, if other people can see me bringing something else to the dressing room, well great.

I am here to help the team, if that is off the pitch also with the character I am, then that is great.

The spirit is fine here, there are good lads and top quality players.

[b]Even before I came to West Ham, I thought they had the quality to stay up.

Sometimes you find yourselves in situations where you are down there and it is very difficult to get out.

It is important that sooner rather than later they get out of the situation they are in, and hopefully I can help them do it.[/b]"[/indent]

Anbody who doesn’t hate Keane is irrational. I will not stand idly by while people on here call him Mother Theresa. You can do that in your own time.

Meanwhile Robbie scored last night in Wham’s 3-1 win away to Blackpool

Well done Robbie you little ledge you

:clap: :clap: :clap:

Agreed. Robbie continues to stick it to the haters.

http://www.dailystar.co.uk/football/view/175466/David-Bentley-Robbie-Keane-eased-my-lane-pain/

David Bentley has thanked Robbie Keane for helping him survive the dark days at Spurs.

Only a month ago, the pair were frustrated team-mates, desperately trying to keep each other motivated while kicking their heels on the White Hart Lane bench.

Now, following Bentley’s loan move to Birmingham and Keane’s to West Ham, the two are ready to lock horns today in a potentially ­decisive relegation clash.

And, though ­neither will give an inch at Upton Park, Bentley, 26, has hailed the ­Republic of Ireland striker for the way he handled his ­nightmare in N17.

That clearly rubbed off on Bentley – and enabled him to remain upbeat – despite ­first-team chances under Spurs boss Harry Redknapp being so few and far between.

The Blues winger, who made 42 league appearances for Spurs in two-and-a half years, told the Daily Star Sunday: “Robbie was an inspiration.

“He’s a great lad, a great club captain and a great ­servant. He was a big ­influence in the dressing room.

“Robbie always plays hard but, even when not playing, he trains hard. You can only look up to somebody like that.

“Yes, it is tough when you are training every week and not playing. But having ­somebody of Keane’s ­experience going through the same thing as me was a big help.

“It enabled me to see the right way to try to deal with it. That you have to keep strong, stay ­focused and keep

training hard – ­perhaps even harder!

“That’s what Robbie did when he wasn’t in the team and it was definitely what I tried to do.”

Even before Keane, 30, scored on his Hammers ­debut in midweek, nobody needed to warn Birmingham, who are ahead of Avram Grant’s strugglers on goal difference, about his attacking threat.

After all, Blues boss Alex McLeish tried to sign Eire’s most prolific marksman – along with Bentley – ­during the January ­transfer window.

And Bentley is convinced Birmingham’s loss is very much West Ham’s gain as he predicts Keane will be a giant hit in the coming months.

The ex-Blackburn man ­added: “When I heard Robbie had scored for West Ham, I wasn’t surprised. He had a point to prove.”

But can he keep the ­Hammers in the top flight?

“We’ll see,” said Bentley. “I don’t know if his goals alone can keep them up.”

Excellent article from Eamonn Sweeney today

Robbie’s record speaks for itself

By Eamonn Sweeney

Sunday February 06 2011

What’s the problem with Robbie Keane? Or, to be more precise, what’s our problem with Robbie Keane?

Take last week’s story that Keane had threatened to retire from international soccer if Giovanni Trappatoni dropped him from the Irish team. Here’s what the man said: “I have not really worried or thought about my position with Ireland. It is all about now and I’ve said before if I didn’t play for Ireland and someone came in, I have always said I would walk away.”

You could perhaps construe this quote as being an implied threat by Keane to quit if he’s dropped. And if that’s so, it’s a disappointing statement from a player who has always spoken about how much the green jersey means to him. But you could also look at it as an acknowledgement from the player that when he’s no longer good enough to command a place with Ireland, he’ll know it’s time to pack it in. The statement isn’t completely transparent, you can read it one way or another.

Ireland’s record goalscorer surely deserves the benefit of the doubt. But the problem is that people aren’t inclined to give Robbie Keane the benefit of the doubt. He seems to get on a lot of wicks and you get the impression that quite a few fans out there would be happy to see their erstwhile hero take a fall.

I’m at a loss as to why this is. And I’m at a loss as to where the idea that Robbie Keane isn’t worth his place on the Irish team anymore came from. His form in the last couple of games was pretty dire but he was arguably our outstanding player during the World Cup qualifying campaign. And while Shane Long’s current run with Reading is undeniably impressive, the fact remains that the 13 goals in 33 games he has scored this season came in the Championship. Until Long is reproducing a similar scoring rate in the top flight talk of his ousting Keane is premature. After all, West Ham were rumoured to be interested in Long to help their fight against relegation but in the end they went for Keane. They knew that right now the older player is the best bet.

There seems to be a reluctance to give Keane credit for his considerable achievements. His 122 Premier League goals put him 11th on the all-time list and only Michael Owen and Frank Lampard of current players have more. Should Kevin Doyle reach a ton of goals in the top flight – he’s currently on 30 after three and a half seasons – it would be a tremendous achievement for the Wexford man. Yet the insinuations that Keane has something left to prove continue to abound.

The contrast between Doyle’s bustling all-action style and Keane’s more instinctive opportunistic way of approaching the striker’s role means that the former is increasingly invoked to deprecate the latter. Yet compare Keane’s 45 goals in 104 games for Ireland and Doyle’s nine goals from 40 and it seems odd that the Dubliner is the one who’s under pressure. His best days may be behind him but Keane scored six goals to Doyle’s two in the World Cup qualifying campaign. There’s nothing wrong with Doyle’s performances for Ireland. But there’s even less wrong with Keane’s.

I wonder if it’s a question of style. Keane, the streetwise night-clubbing Dub, the bundle of confidence with the beautiful model wife and the unfortunate knack of adding fuel to fire by thoughtless media utterances, perhaps seems less like the national idea of a sporting hero than Doyle, the plain-spoken, modest countryman who reminds everyone of a GAA player, or for that matter, Long who was a GAA player. Hence they get the praise and Robbie gets the stick.

It might be unfair. But nobody’s ever worried about being unfair to Robbie Keane.

• Eamonn Sweeney

I think this closes the book on Robbie Keane, well done Puke.