FYI look up Gombeen ,got it wrong shmuck,they were those who helped landlords and their agents evict ppl , Gombeens were like yourself native Irish
Crawl back into your FG box
Lolz. Hilarious how the useful (useless) idiots for a far right anarcho-capitalist agenda who invoke “Tom Barry”, are actually ultra-partitionist gobshites.
Of course none of them get the irony.
The McGanns own a 100 acre farm don’t they, why don’t they sell it to cover the debt?
Look up fawning/ Gombeen man bud ,it’s you, Ireland always produces langers,and you’re right up there kid with the worst of them
Ask them, pissing competition over,I just pissed over you,bye,kiss,kiss
I did. It sums up perfectly you and the other partitionist gobshites who support this crook.
A Gombeen man is a pejorative Hiberno-English term used in Ireland for a shady, small-time “wheeler-dealer” businessman or politician who is always looking to make a quick profit, often at someone else’s expense or through the acceptance of bribes.
Seamus Coffey the economist based out of UCC attends these hearings monthly and does detailed reports of outcomes
In short. V few defendants bother to show up. Amd even if you dont you will almost certainly be granted a deferral if your hearing
It’s quite relevant.
I think honestly from having witnessed same,at that stage of the game ppl are browbeaten and at an extremely low ebb,lives shattered,break ups , family disintegration,and ultimately for a lot suicide and mental illness,which is relevant to facing eviction
You’re not answering the question.
Have u been in court to witness same? Doubtful,and life isn’t black and white,or bricks n mortar,as I said previously finished the pissing competition,i grow tired trying to explain to such as you , compassion ( obviously not in your make up)these poor individuals stuck in this situation,so as they say here,shag off boy,and invest in a bit of Christianity
I asked you about this case. You said it was a tipping point. Did you think the same about the O’Donnels of Dalkey?
There is no emotive depths to which these gobshites won’t sink.
Famine, the Land League, Tom Barry, 1916, “for what died the sons of Roisin etc.”, ethno-nationalist racism, partitionism, depression, suicide etc.
All of it faux emotive, historically ignorant bullshit, and all of it to mask outright wanton financial and violent criminality which is based on naked greed and an outright rejection of the concept of society.
Kisses hugs ,kiss
Hugs and kisses
Why not? Roscommon is symptomatic of all that is wrong with banking debt in this country. No-one is defending the non payment of debt but our judicial system and banks ignored it for years. Now that they have been given government support to sell off debt, it will be the foreign vulture funds that will tidy up the system. That, allied to the fact that they are willing to import loyalist thugs from the North of Ireland to do their dirty work, makes the entire system unfit for purpose. Strawman arguments about the numbers of people not engaging is ignoring the real issue and also ignoring any fault which lays firmly with the banks.
Spare me nonsense about banks having to make profits. Part of the obscenity that is the banking system is the profit they make for doing literally fuck all. The fact that banks are co-coordinating the robbery of people through the tracker mortgage scandal, and getting away with it, tells me all I need to know about what this shower of cunts in government are going to do. Fuck all.
They aren’t strawmen arguments, they are absolute facts.
If you don’t like them, that’s your issue. The banks have been willing to deal with people who got into issues where they engaged. The Central Bank have a paper which draws a parallel between the 2011 ruling on repossessions by the High Court and strategic defaulting. I don’t think there’s much doubt that financially we should have looked at not just restructures but write downs, but the moral hazard argument is a big one and there is substanial evidence of people taking the piss over Ireland’s treatment or non payment. Those people were imo the people more likely to have money under a Bath tub or squirreled away abroad.
I am not defending banks here, but look at the facts. They have had too many NPL on their books and were told to sell by Regulators. They could not/would not enforce security. All of this is connected, international banks will not look at Ireland in this climate for retail banking operations, meaning everyone continues to suffer.
I find it funny that on the one hand people will say there was no regulation of banks in the 2000s and it was an absolute disgrace, but at the same time they’ll also give out about regulation here.
Profit isn’t why these loan books were sold.
The Irish banks balance sheets are shrinking and will likely continue to shrink. It’s why BOI have bought loan books at par, for market share. The banks are getting hammered in the corporate space. Retail banking is going to continue to shrink as people move to fintechs, and I am delighted with that as we were ripped off for years by banks. I personally think they’re shite investments right now and the Irish State who would have NFI how to run a bank in the old times, would certainly have no clue on how to do it in a time of huge change for the industry. The evidence from State ownership shows an inability to normalize lending to mortgage holders and SMEs.
The vultures exploiting the tax loophole was wrong and should not have happened, but they are a significant part of the normalization of our system and delivering write downs which state owned banks could not.
Back to the specific story and your claim that this is the breaking point. People like you are suckered in by this story and stuff about Loyalists. These people were not normal borrowers, neither were the O’Donnells. This is not breaking point, people who aren’t idiots know what went on here in this very specific case. This is like the Quinn case- gombeens.
Of course there are people who are using the recession to try to pull a fast one but the argument that people in trouble with their mortgages are the cause of bank stealing money from people does not stand up to any kind of scrutiny.
The banks only began to deal with people when they came out of negative equity and many of their victims/customers were penalised horrifically for their misfortune. Moral hazard applied to the banks, their debts were covered with barely a stop in their bonuses.
You are defending the banks.
The regulatory office here was hopelessly inadequate, nothing in that regard has changed.
The loans were sold for accounting purposes, the banks are back in ‘profit’, another accountancy scam.
Are you Michael ‘The vulture lover’ Noonan?
The ODonnels and Quinns were not banking insiders and so were sold down the swannee. Again, no-one is defending non payment of debts, but no-one is saying force the banks to pay their debts or punish the boards of those rogue institutions.
Roscommon GAA fueling the housing shortage