Ross County v Celtic

He was grand. Celtic were untroubled until they equalised from a corner. Scales’ man got the run on him to finish behind CCV. The latter got caught under the ball a bit and it cleared him.

I think we should look at bringing in some form of zonal defending on corners. We get done by movement around the box quite regularly. Scales last night, Ralston a couple of weeks ago and Motherwell haf a chance at the weekend. We can’t leave big areas empty when we track runners because it’s hard to keep pace in those spaces. And Hart isn’t going to come and collect many crosses I don’t think.

Note: this is not a criticism of Ange.

We also had good size in the team last night too with Scales, Starfelt, CCV, Bitton and Ralston either all big guys are just very aggressive in the air.

https://www.instagram.com/tv/CXiva5LKqS2Tbm_zZk9DOBx6UquEWPPHOkQuJc0/?utm_medium=copy_link

Agreed on the corner set up. It’s been mentioned on other match threads too. Teams are putting a player or two in by the goal to grapple with defenders and occupy Hart and then leaving a few lads outside the box to make runs. There have been corners where there’s a completely empty zone to run into, from the edge of the box to the 6 yard line and covering the entire width of the goal. You should really have a couple of players on the 6 yard line ready to attack these balls. As Rocko days, if one of these lads gets a run on the defender then they’ve a free effort from 6-10 yards out.

We’ve conceded the fewest goals in the league this year but probably have lost a lot of them from set plays:

Off the top of my head:

Last night
Helander
Souttar
Ferguson (pelanty)
Ferguson (away)
Porteous

So 6/11 coming directly from set plays. 4/11 goals came from crosses from open play too.

Clearly it’s something we need to work on.

Ex Sky Sports Scottish Football Presenter when Celtic celebrate:

Same chap when Rangers celebrate: