Rugby Union - The beginning of the end

From When Saturday Comes:

Traditionally rugby union is New Zealands dominant sport but at the moment the game is struggling. Its predicted that the 2011 World Cup, which will be hosted in New Zealand, will make a loss of around 20 million due to a lack of demand for tickets.

:thumbsup:

Brilliant. And I read earlier that Thomond Park was practically empty last night for the Munster game too. Finally, Irish people are copping on. :thumbsup:

Rugby will be back amateur in a few years. Shur look at ROG, heā€™s had to endorse nearly a dozen different products and services just to keep going such is the shit pay from these professional rugby teams. The gameā€™s up. ROG will be back playing for ā€˜Conā€™ Iā€™d say in the new year.

I think the shit pay was only part of it lad

Sounds bollocks to me. Attendances are down in NZ, more to the shite rugby since the new rules than anything else. WTF would a soccer magazine know about it anyway? (albeit I didnt bother me hole reading the article).

With regards to the Munster game Bandage, I was down there, looked to be 2/3ā€™s full at least, if not more.

[quote=ā€œmyboyblueā€]Sounds bollocks to me. Attendances are down in NZ, more to the shite rugby since the new rules than anything else. WTF would a soccer magazine know about it anyway? (albeit I didnt bother me hole reading the article).

With regards to the Munster game Bandage, I was down there, looked to be 2/3ā€™s full at least, if not more.[/quote]

The crux of the issue. The death knell has been sounded for Rugby Union.

Iā€™d graciously disagree thraw, but if the end does come, you have my permission, nay, insistence, that you return here and tell me you told me so.

Fixed.:wink:

rogbee like bogball is on the wane - dying in NZ, all but dead in britian due to it been unable to shake off its oxbridge image- never popular in Oz- only played by whites in A africa & they are a declining race in S africa- never took off in Italy- dead in France - only the pig farmers in munster seem to be getting into rogbee these days but the rogbee ship has long since sailed

forza motorsport

considering there are only 5 countries in the world that play it- its pretty dead if 2 give up on it you absolute mong:D:D:D

Itā€™s getting to the stage now where I only watch the few games which Fred Cogley commentates on. It reminds me of the halcyon days when gentlemen played this game and it still retained the vestiges of chivalry, nobility and sportsmanship. Nowadays Union is as vulgar and tacky as the League code it despises ever was.

Agree with all that bar replace Fred Cogley with Nigel Starmer-Smith.

It was a sad day when RTE shafted Fred Cogley in favour of Ryle Nugent.

Fred Cogley is a senile old fool at this point in his career. Know the one thats one too many.

official attendance is 16,700

looked half full at best from the south terrace, i wouldnā€™t be surprised if that attendance was inflated by including season ticket holders

How bitter and small minded ye all look, its sad to see the Irish sterotype played out once again, the country of begrudgers.:rolleyes:

If the IRFU dont act very fast rugby will go the same way as the soccerball has,reduced to a total irrelevance in Irish sport,a micro sport a regards attendance at all levels,the rugger people surely wont let this happen but theyre staring into that hole by trying to sustain professional sport where no market exists.

They might need to bring in some expert consultants,maybe Liam Mulvihill or Peter Quinn could point them in the right direction:thumbsup:

[quote=ā€œTHE LINK WALSHā€]If the IRFU dont act very fast rugby will go the same way as the soccerball has,reduced to a total irrelevance in Irish sport,a micro sport a regards attendance at all levels,the rugger people surely wont let this happen but theyre staring into that hole by trying to sustain professional sport where no market exists.

They might need to bring in some expert consultants,maybe Liam Mulvihill or Peter Quinn could point them in the right direction:thumbsup:[/quote]

Go back to your mud hut and shut your noise.

To be honest Fredā€™s views on the game are of little importance to a fan like me. Itā€™s the fact that heā€™s talking while moving pictures are appearing on my TV screen thatā€™s crucial to my enjoyment of the game. It takes me back to the good old days when rugby matches were incorporated into the schedule of that exciting saturday afternoon programme Sports Stadium. How many times have I heard his immortal line ā€œBig push on here by Belvedereā€¦TRY!ā€ I know a few eccentric lads from that rugby stronghold of Kilmeedy who sometimes even drape a black cloth over their TV screen so that the (largely insignificant) action doesnā€™t take from Fredā€™s commentry.

I could never undersand how Cogley was replaced by Jim Sherwin - surely they were both of around the same age, and relative senileness.