Did he opt out to practice Softball for the Olympics?
Thorpe and Hoy were track and field? Are you so attached to your English football club that you are really this pig ignorant of the world around you?
Another asterisk laden Grand Slam for Ireland imminent.
Bonne chance Antoine!
This makes no sense whatsoever.
He is going over to play something different which requires a long preparation time. He was the home town star of the RWC and is expected to feature prominently in the upcoming Netflix documentary on last year’s Six Nations.
He’s taking an opportunity to try something different, sportsman after sportsman has done it.
It seems to be a real limited world experience of GGA types and Match of the Day football fans that makes them incapable of seeing this.
Rugby is to rugby 7s as GAA is to to GAA 7s.
Would to say the same for Euro 2016 when Italy rested their first team?
Antoine is absolutely box office. He’ll turn a huge amount of new eyes on to the sport of 7’s. Can he end up playing against Ireland or has the draw been made at all?
It’s not all negative, the story does show the positive side of rugby as well. A fella taking up a sport for the first time less than 250 days before the Olympics starts and he is already being touted as the Cathy Freeman/Ian Thorpe of the Games - there is great value in having sports at the Olympics that anybody can get involved in.
I don’t think so. I’d rather than we keep the ones who helped us qualify but I do wonder for the profile of the thing would it be worth bringing someone else over for the Olympics from rugby? Would be a win win for the Olympics and 7s profile in this country.
The six nations drives all the gaa heads insane. It’ll dominate the airwaves and the back pages until Cheltenham in march.
What an awfully muddled point there. So you’re criticising the Olympics so?
Deflection
That Six Nations Netflix doc is going to send them demented while Ballymuck vs Tibberspud in some stick fighting fixture is buffering on GGA Go in January. Maybe the GGA will give them a Pittsburgh Steelers game instead.
None of the Italian lads skipped that tournament to go off and play 5-a-side, as far as I know.
More deflection
How?
Plenty of Italians would have retired before the tournament, as is standard in football where internationals are degraded (but still the most prestigious).
I’m fairly sure you were one of the boys sent delirious that night. Was it because your English football club was doing shite at the time that you looked for anything positive in your life?
What did I deflect? I merely carried on the point made.
Or maybe the Ulster championship would be more apt.
You’ve a terrible view on everything.
If you aren’t elite you should just pack it and go home.
The six nations is an incredible tournament and it won’t destroyed like the gaa destroyed all their historic competitions.