Rugby World Cup Memories

can someone tell me what this township upstart Fikile Mbalula knows about what it means to be a Springbok?
Eugene Terre Blanche will be turning in his grave.
Was it for this that Blackrock College’s Fergus Slattery led us on tour in 1981?, Great men like Paul Dean, Phil Orr and Keith Crossan stood and respected the wonderful national anthem Die Stem at Newlands in Cape Town and honored PM P.W.Botha.
thoughts @Sidney

Nothing as dangerous on a rugby field as a wounded bok. It will be like a modern day Battle of Blood River the next time they take the field.

That 1992 test at Ellis Park was the first meeting in 11 years since the infamous Flour Bomb test at Eden Park in 1981.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rkZMIySG75c

Not the World Cup as such but worth an honorary mention.

18 year old Federico Mendez on his test debut at Twickenham in 1990 heads for an early shower after flooring Police Constable Paul Ackford.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NHqt7LTJRLA

I think that match may have been live on Sports Stadium?

Certainly covered live on one of the six domestic, free to air channels available at the time.

Keith Murdoch, one of the more interesting characters to play for New Zealand.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=C1DcDzP43Jw

Thats a shallow pool.

Very true. There’s no more dour breed in any sport. I remember before the Australia v New Zealand semi final at Lansdowne Road in 1991, Vincent Hogan in the Independent wrote a piece in which he described the New Zealand team and New Zealand rugby people in general as charmless, brooding and indifferent, and carrying themselves with the gaiety of gravediggers. It caused a furore in New Zealand, why I don’t know as Hogan was bang on the money.

Sid Going looked like an interesting fellow.

His name is, coincidentally, also the e-pitaph I’d like to have on my profile when I inevitably rebrand in 2018 or so.

They’re a shower of precious cunts alright.

Gareth Edwards is almost universally ranked as the greatest scrum half of all time and by a lot of commentators as the greatest player of all time. Sid Going faced Edwards on seven occasions in test rugby and largely Going had the better of their head to head duels.

It doesn’t appear to be on youtube but there was a good programme in that Mud and Glory series on Sid Going and his two brothers Brian and Ken.

Only Franno. In Croke Park of all places at a Dublin v Meath match about 15-16 years ago. He was sitting in the seat in front of me in the Hogan Stand. He’s a big gaelic football fan and goes to most Dublin championship matches.

Alan Quinlan, match winning try against Argentina in 2003 World Cup.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=whLx0SxHvqY

Didn’t he clock himself scoring the try?

Yeah. Dislocated his shoulder. What heroism.

He martyr’d himself for Ireland. God bless him.

I was at that game… Drunk as a skunks myself and a man from Clonakilty left at HT and continued to drink Adelaide dry.

I have vague memories if later that night having a scrum in team hotel that night where Joe Deane and Mark Landers were part of the team facing us and Peter Stinger threw in a coke can.

Where was the fuck was Joe.ie when we needed it. :smile:

I was in Adelaide that night too - it was some craic. All the bars in the city eventually ran out of beer.

that never happened

They ran out of beer on sunday in most bars. We were left drinking smirnoff ice type shite by sunday evening or alternatively hit the top shelf which we inevitably ended up doing.