Unless you get into the fancy lounge
The lounge is a ball of shite now. The bar before it, whiskey bar or something I think it’s called is decent but pricey
I haven’t been but was told, the aer lingus lounge is fair shit
There’s only 1 after pre-clearance, 51st & Green. The normal Aer Lingus one isn’t great but it’s a grand place for a clean toilet when you’ve an early morning flight
I was in it, horrificly hungover the day after the munster final, the free bottles tied me over, a few crackers to eat, it was a tough flight but i lived. Thankfully i didnt have to pay.
Shannon is shite beyond security. But it’s bliss to fly from really. Went from my door to beyond security in 30 minutes the last time. I was thinking I should have waited another hour to go.
I really love that you don’t have to park 4 miles from the airport and that you don’t have to walk 2 miles inside it.
The only pity is the lack of options to fly to. But it’s worth it.
We flew from Dublin this year and tbf it was grand. But the 2 and a half hours up and down and being in the airport an extra bit before hand in case @Batigol has decided to do fuck all, the bus from the car park to the airport etc etc it all adds a lot of time on. Not to mention the cost of the parking. Which was like €150 or something onto the holiday.
Shannon is the way forward.
Kerry is a dream altogether. But you can go fuck all places from there and it’s more expensive again then Shannon.
That is the other killer about Shannon you never get the really cheap flights from there. Unless it’s to the UK
My parents flight to Shannon got diverted to Dublin the other day. When they enquired about the transfer back to Shannon they were told they’d have to sort that themselves (although to be fair they did arrange something for them eventually).
I went to London on 7:40 flight two weeks ago from Shannon . Entered car park after 7… Can’t beat it
A great airport. My young fella kicked his football onto the runway when we were dropping the rental car back after a few days in Killarney. Don’t worry says the fella, we’ll get that back for you.
5 mins later ground staff arrived and the lads were back kicking the ball around the car park.
Now ya wouldn’t get that in Heathrow!
They used have a desk thing (may still) for passport control. If you are flying from Dublin or the UK they roll it into the corner, from anywhere else they pull it out and stop you. Always makes me laugh seeing the passport guy at a wooden pedastal.
If you’ve no bag you could literally be in your car/through security within a minute
I got a bit of an exclusive on this at the weekend from an ex employee whilst in Mulligans of Deansgate. Didnt pay much heed to it, but looks to have blown up on Twitter today.
https://twitter.com/lemachine/status/1719499596353728808?t=5U34K-zeNHbFAx_0VH68NA&s=19
Is he the guy who decided to throw the cake at o Leary ?
Sounds like the twitter guy got too big for his boots
I’m sure the paddy power mischief department could find a spot for him
Thats what immediately came to mind, although they look to have downsized also.
Who’s going to touch him after that meltdown
He came from there AFAIK.
A Bantasauras Rex.
Maybe the two johnnies hire him as a bants writer ?
With Paddy Power and Ryanair on his CV he’s surely next line to be the next Archbishop of Banterbury?
Full time mad bastard