I am the proud over of a set of cavity backed Ronan Rafferty irons. A noble set of golf clubs
Eamonn had a fine career despite having a swing that looked like an octopus hanging out of a window. Wouldnât rule him out for a wild card just yet although Christy OâConnor Junior will also be in Paul McGinleyâs thoughts, Iâm sure.
Itâs a travesty that Alexander Lyle wasnât appointed captain. I think practically all European major winners from the 1980s and 1990s have captained the side at this stage - Ballesteros, Olazabal, Faldo, Woosnam, Langer. That is all except the former Masters champion Sandy Lyle. The Ryder Cup coming to Scotland should have made him the only choice but this is farcical.
What are McGinleyâs qualifications for this role?
He likes GAA and Allianz cater for his insurance needs.
He played in at least 2 Ryder Cups and was a vice captain at the last two.
Just thinking there, it was an absolute disgrace that Mark James was ever captain.
Didnt the players make a big push for him to get this gig? None moreso than Pubehead himself?
He was a poor mans Sam Torrence
Pubehead vetoed the great Colin Montgomerie by all accounts.
Monty is the thinking manâs golfer.
[QUOTE=âSidney, post: 1000046, member: 183â]As most Ryder Cup fans will probably already know at this stage, Tiger Woods has informed Team USA captain Tom Watson that he is unavailable for selection for this yearâs tournament.
Thatâs a huge plus for Team USA.[/QUOTE]
The fact that his form was rubbish is a plus. However, I think that the idea of him not being a team player is overblown. The younger US golfers donât seem to hate Tiger as much as the older lads. In fact, I reckon they look up to him as they would have been kids when he was in his prime during the early 2000âs. In Medinah, Tiger was visibly getting on very well and having the banter with the likes of Bubba, Dustin Johnson, Snedeker and Dufner. I was standing a few yards from them during the practice days on a good few occasions and it didnât seem forced banter to me. Tiger was always out walking around the course and supporting the players mentioned above when his own matches were finished too.
Although it is reasonable to think that it was a conscious decision from Tiger to be the nice guy, in order to improve his image after his recent scandals.
When are the picks being announced? Are they announced separately or is a co-ordinated affair?
Think the European order of merit is not finalised until next weekend, so will be announced after that.I think the Ryder Cup has come a few months too early for me to get a wild card. Hopefully next time
Europe have won the three tournaments he played in and he sank the winning putt at the Belfry in 2002. Europe are also unbeaten while he has been vice-captain.
Paul is massively respected within the game which is why all the top players lobbied hard for him to get the gig. The Yanks are also weary of his stunning Ryder Cup record which is why big guns like Tiger Woods and Dustin Johnson have shat their pants.
Hi all, iâm just about to put this thread on ignore- I hope everyone concerned is struck by lightening out on the course. Best,
Choco.
[QUOTE=âChocolateMice, post: 1000212, member: 168â]Hi all, iâm just about to put this thread on ignore- I hope everyone concerned is struck by lightening out on the course. Best,
Choco.[/QUOTE]
I take it youâll be a no for the fantasy Ryder Cup golf tournament then?
[QUOTE=âSandymount Red, post: 1000206, member: 1074â]Europe have won the three tournaments he played in and he sank the winning putt at the Belfry in 2002. Europe are also unbeaten while he has been vice-captain.
Paul is massively respected within the game which is why all the top players lobbied hard for him to get the gig. The Yanks are also weary of his stunning Ryder Cup record which is why big guns like Tiger Woods and Dustin Johnson have shat their pants.[/QUOTE]
What does a vice captain do? Drive the buggy? Wash the arse towels?
Arse towels?
All the greats have arse towels, do you wipe your arse with your regular towel?