Saver or spender?

How do you aim to have twins lads? Is there a certain position you use?! Locke, anything to add here? :wink:

Leave it in the garage for a little bit longer.

I know a fella due them, I’ll ask him what the trick is.

are they going to cut it on 7th of April Link?

save it up for 6 months i heard.

Should have cut it before then

They had a little go at it in December by bringing the cut off point down from 6 to 5 and a half,on April 7th its going to be cut down from 1000 to 800 per unit im hearing,its a bit of a blow for me but im countering it with the arrival of our 3rd child in a little over 2 Weeks time,touchwood that happy event will result in my gleaning 8400 out of the bastards next Year.

at a loss of 200 per unit Link, why not just feed them a little less, its not like you are fattening them for the mart

* savings club

Traditionally, as in originally, I was a saver, but not in the careful prudent type. In the starving need type, as I had to pay my own way from a very early age. Also my generation always had the piggy bank or the *diddle-um. So I suppose I was a saver from climate exposure, whereas my personality is far more carefree and careless.

I saved for my first house and had a second job (collecting glasses in Bad Bobs.). And I bought only because it was cheaper than renting it. (I’ll spare you the trauma of seeking a mortgage of 20K. But it was ugly enough for me to explain my hatred of banks to this day.)

My lifestyle now is actually the result of luck and sensible investment choices rather than saving and prudence. When I left the private sector, my salary dropped considerably, but I didn’t really notice because I always spent what I had and the extra 15 days a year holidays and the 35 hr week more than compensated.

When I was working I was always in a substantial overdraft, and it never bothered me 'cause I would always sure of a nixer to clear it (eg correcting or some Tax stuff)

I have now more or less decided not to return to my post. I loved working, and am my nature a grafter, and I was and am truly dedicated to my profession, but I no longer have the stomach or the patience for the “workplace.”

What I’ll do next, I don’t know. I have options but they are so far fetched and contradictory to each other that it’ll take another 6 months of “me time” to decide. But I’m confident that the pension I’ve already accumulated as well as fully paid up property will be supplemented by my other hobby (collecting that started at a very young age, not telling ye the details.)

So its not all about saving, penny pinching, staying off the sauce, wearing shoes until they fall apart and being tight; its about making good decisions.

Some advice.

Do buy a property, but, only with a mortgage ONE salary can service. If it’s for investment, make sure it’s a House within 30 mins walking distance of a City. Ifs its for holiday, make sure you love the place.

NEVER take a car loan. Why pay interest on something that will eventually be worth nothing and unusable? If you need to finance a car, blag a Home Improvement Loan and take the interest relief (if it’s still available) Also consider the Company Car option, BIK is a great and efficient way to fund the use of a car.

Prize Bonds: Instead of the tenner a week on lottery tickets; sign up to a 50/ 100 yoyo a month DD. They’re always there, and you never know. To date 7 of mine have come in, ok nothing more than a ton, but its better in my poca.

For those with Children. Seal the Children’s Allowance. It can compound up to 25%. At 18, it’ll pay for Columbia or a Wedding of the year, or a deposit for a gaff in Stoneybatter.

I suppose I’m fortunate, and for my age it is a luxury not to have to worry about my financial future, but I have made mistakes too. I walked away things I shouldn’t have, both personal and financial, and I also bought 5k worth of Eircom shares, but I did exercise the capital loss so no real pain other than the stupidity. I also bought a car (that I love mind you) that I didn’t need, and it’s after taking a bigger hiding than Tip and Waherfurd combined. I have a Vivienne Westwood suit that I will never wear; I have shoes that have never seen durt and handbags that should be reclassified as designer clutter.

I have never feared being broke because I have never been afraid to work, again this is a by-product of the “earn your keep” rearing, but that’s probably what some of ye should take on board. Wether its going into business or buying the house of your dreams or starting all over again, if you’re not afraid to go back to picking spuds or plucking turkeys then you’ll always have a roof over your head and grub in the fridge.

So there ye go. Spend it, don’t spend it, but what ever ye do don’t ever ignore your gut feelings and never begrudge the luck or success of another for something you could have had yourself or may have in the future.

Jaysus MGG thats a fine post.

Saver now, used to be a desperate spender. Had to turn things around a few years back and happy since. We in the Locke household have a good size nest egg now in fairness to us (mainly Mrs.Locke). I have two current accounts too. One main joint one and another old one in my name. Same bank so I can push money from one to the other if I need to. Internet banking is the way to go. I set a reasonable level that the main account has to be at and anything off the top I put in the other. Then if there’s an emergency or a bill to pay I just take it from there. Works a treat. Credit card gets paid off every 3 months or so so that’s under control. Mortgage and car payments, that’s it. If I see something I like I buy it if I have the money. If I don’t, I go without. Simple!

Mary G not only has a hugely impressive CV, she has a fantastic lifestyle and is rotten with money!

nice to hear a success story amid all the doom and gloom

I just want to add something to the Credit Card method

I have two in my name.

One (MC) is only every used on the 15th, 16th, 17th & 18th of the month, or when overseas.

This is because my bill is dated the 14th, so transactions on those specifice dates don’t get billed until the following month plus my 15 days to pay. Which I do in full, fuck yer interest charges…but loving my free 45 day credit.

Using the card overseas allows for cheaper exchange, using dollars to buy yoyos is cheaper than yoyos to buy dollars. In otherwords your getting the handier side of the arbitrage in currancy dealing. I know its only pingins but again, I hate helping out banks.

The other card, Halifax, I took out when they offered 6 months free transfer credit. So the week before Christmas I loaded my MC up, I even agreed with my Dentist to bill me (some serious work btw) on the 17th. On the 26th I flew to NY, and absolutely hammered the card. Then when I got home I applied for a Halifax. Paid the bill in July. 11k credit for 40 yoyos.

How bad.

[quote=“HBV*”]Mary G not only has a hugely impressive CV, she has a fantastic lifestyle and is rotten with money!

nice to hear a success story amid all the doom and gloom[/quote]

I wouldn’t say its fantastic but It suits me. I was never a greedy begruding hoor. I worked. I earned. I’ve no intention of retiring and cruising around the world. I don’t want the big house and I don’t care for fancy addresses. I’m happy with my lot.

I genuinely sympathise with anyone suffering at the moment. Ok, naturally, we all know some who deserve some gloating comeuppance but I only wish the best for those who were genuinely hard done by by the current situation.

And if I can do my bit, I will.

She also saves money by buying her fags in Spain (along with half the country at this stage!)

ah now in fairness

I’m off 'em

For the moment.

[quote=“Mairegangaire”]ah now in fairness

I’m off 'em

For the moment.[/quote]

:wink:

Plenty of people do it so I wouldnt castigade anyone for it. Even in the US you can bring back a box of 1000 for 100 quid. Thats a saving of nearly 300 quid. Dont know if you can do the same from Spain.

You’re dead right about the Credit Cards though. Shopping around and moving balances is one of the best ways to save money if you’re gonna be short cash for a while.

[quote=“Mac”]:wink:

Plenty of people do it so I wouldnt castigade anyone for it. Even in the US you can bring back a box of 1000 for 100 quid. Thats a saving of nearly 300 quid. Dont know if you can do the same from Spain.

You’re dead right about the Credit Cards though. Shopping around and moving balances is one of the best ways to save money if you’re gonna be short cash for a while.[/quote]

afaik you can bring back as many as you like from Spain.

The limits apply to stuff thats Duty Free, we can’t buy anything in Spain Duty Free (unless you include Andorra, but its not smokes I’d be buying there)

[quote=“Mairegangaire”]I wouldn’t say its fantastic but It suits me. I was never a greedy begruding hoor. I worked. I earned. I’ve no intention of retiring and cruising around the world. I don’t want the big house and I don’t care for fancy addresses. I’m happy with my lot.

I genuinely sympathise with anyone suffering at the moment. Ok, naturally, we all know some who deserve some gloating comeuppance but I only wish the best for those who were genuinely hard done by by the current situation.

And if I can do my bit, I will.[/quote]

I was waiting for maire’s sermon so this thread could really take off.

Well I past by a funeral at the weekend and I guess that no matter what at least it’s better to be alive and well and have your sight, the use of your legs and a big wanger.
Yours in bringing perspective to town,