Saver or spender?

I will discuss this with the War Office on her return from Sligo.
The most junior Boxties are twins (men-now 28).
This children’s allowance money is astronomical altogether.
I can honestly say that when our 4 were eligible the most we ever got was about 180 a month.
Scrap this waste of money altogether I say.:rolleyes:

[quote=“Mairegangaire”]Traditionally, as in originally, I was a saver, but not in the careful prudent type. In the starving need type, as I had to pay my own way from a very early age. Also my generation always had the piggy bank or the *diddle-um. So I suppose I was a saver from climate exposure, whereas my personality is far more carefree and careless.

I saved for my first house and had a second job (collecting glasses in Bad Bobs.). And I bought only because it was cheaper than renting it. (I’ll spare you the trauma of seeking a mortgage of 20K. But it was ugly enough for me to explain my hatred of banks to this day.)

My lifestyle now is actually the result of luck and sensible investment choices rather than saving and prudence. When I left the private sector, my salary dropped considerably, but I didn’t really notice because I always spent what I had and the extra 15 days a year holidays and the 35 hr week more than compensated.

When I was working I was always in a substantial overdraft, and it never bothered me 'cause I would always sure of a nixer to clear it (eg correcting or some Tax stuff)

I have now more or less decided not to return to my post. I loved working, and am my nature a grafter, and I was and am truly dedicated to my profession, but I no longer have the stomach or the patience for the “workplace.”

What I’ll do next, I don’t know. I have options but they are so far fetched and contradictory to each other that it’ll take another 6 months of “me time” to decide. But I’m confident that the pension I’ve already accumulated as well as fully paid up property will be supplemented by my other hobby (collecting that started at a very young age, not telling ye the details.)

So its not all about saving, penny pinching, staying off the sauce, wearing shoes until they fall apart and being tight; its about making good decisions.

Some advice.

Do buy a property, but, only with a mortgage ONE salary can service. If its for investment, make sure its a House within 30 mins walking distance of a City. Ifs its for holiday, make sure you love the place.

NEVER take a car loan. Why pay interest on something that will eventually be worth nothing and unusable? If you need to finance a car, blag a Home Improvement Loan and take the interest relief (if its still available) Also consider the Company Car option, BIK is a great and efficient way to fund the use of a car.

Prize Bonds: Instead of the tenner a week on lottery tickets; sign up to a 50/ 100 yoyo a month DD. Theyre always there, and you never know. To date 7 of mine have come in, ok nothing more than a ton, but its better in my poca.

For those with Children. Seal the Childrens Allowance. It can compound up to 25%. At 18, itll pay for Columbia or a Wedding of the year, or a deposit for a gaff in Stoneybatter.

I suppose I’m fortunate, and for my age it is a luxury not to have to worry about my financial future, but I have made mistakes too. I walked away things I shouldn’t have, both personal and financial, and I also bought 5k worth of Eircom shares, but I did exercise the capital loss so no real pain other than the stupidity. I also bought a car (that I love mind you) that I didn’t need, and its after taking a bigger hiding than Tip and Waherfurd combined. I have a Vivienne Westwood suit that I will never wear; I have shoes that have never seen durt and handbags that should be reclassified as designer clutter.

I have never feared being broke because I have never been afraid to work, again this is a by-product of the earn your keep rearing, but thats probably what some of ye should take on board. Wether its going into business or buying the house of your dreams or starting all over again, if youre not afraid to go back to picking spuds or plucking turkeys then you’ll always have a roof over your head and grub in the fridge.

So there ye go. Spend it, don’t spend it, but what ever ye do don’t ever ignore your gut feelings and never begrudge the luck or success of another for something you could have had yourself or may have in the future.[/quote]

I’m saying nothing.

[quote=“Boxtyeater”]I will discuss this with the War Office on her return from Sligo.
The most junior Boxties are twins (men-now 28).
This children’s allowance money is astronomical altogether.
I can honestly say that when our 4 were eligible the most we ever got was about 180 a month.
Scrap this waste of money altogether I say.:rolleyes:[/quote]

Outrageous. What is this, Cuba?

ah go on

Have to say, when I read her post I couldnt wait for farmers reaction. Have to admit though, it was slightly disappointing.

wait for the twist

My interjection on her post about the Big 4 accountants, and the subsequent canvassing of her for IOTM based on it, was with the ultimate aim of getting her to change her ways. It was for her own sake.

And now that she has returned to her old ways I cannot give as much energy again to get her to change which will probably only end in heartbreak for me.

If she is happy, let her be.

[quote=“farmerinthecity”]My interjection on her post about the Big 4 accountants, and the subsequent canvassing of her for IOTM based on it, was with the ultimate aim of getting her to change her ways. It was for her own sake.

And now that she has returned to her old ways I cannot give as much energy again to get her to change which will probably only end in heartbreak for me.

If she is happy, let her be.[/quote]

I suppose farmer. But I think the post on this topic has a bit more sense than the last one. This one does actually offer bits of advice to people rather than just harping on about how great she is.

Didn’t read it all to be honest Mac. Saw the savings thread, saw a long post by Gangaire, scanned through it, saw the preachy nature and wept.

Nah, there was pucks of logic in it, one of the finer and more useful postings you’ll find in here.

MGG is an alright sort.

[quote=“myboyblue”]Nah, there was pucks of logic in it, one of the finer and more useful postings you’ll find in here.

MGG is an alright sort.[/quote]

I would agree with that. It was a good interesting post from somebody who has obviously done a lot with her life. Beats an angry rant about someone having two slightly different coloured socks or other trivial matter.

[quote=“myboyblue”]Nah, there was pucks of logic in it, one of the finer and more useful postings you’ll find in here.

Glad I’m not the only one who thought it anyway. Whatever drugs she’s on at the moment are obviously working wonders for her.

You’re an alright sort Mac.

[quote=“Garda Sean Horgan”]Major saver. I have a fear of debt.

GSH.[/quote]

Yep, debt scares the shit out of me. Around the time I qualified I was spending every bob I earned, set up a DD into a lifetime policy for 100 quid a month just so I would not have the cash on my current account. Have kept it going with indexation since. Probably lost a few bob on the valuation in the past year but haven’t lost overall.

Wouldn’t go as far as saying that she is an alright sort.

Put it this way – Boxty has probably as much experience to share of his life but you don’t see him going off on ones to the same extent.

Some of you are obviously grateful for a post from some old one telling everyone the best way of doing things because of her ‘life experience’, as is your right, but I find much of her posts very patronising to be honest.

[quote=“farmerinthecity”]

Some of you are obviously grateful for a post from some old one telling everyone the best way of doing things because of her life experience, as is your right, but I find much of her posts very patronising to be honest.[/quote]

Must be the difference between a lad with money just lying idle in his bank account and other lads up to their balls in debt :rolleyes:

I find that people with the most to say generally know jack shit.

Says me with my nigh on 7,000 posts!

MGG is an alright sort but if her shite smelled of roses she wouldn’t be long telling you about it.

Mrs. Rintintin is expecting twins in the next few months but i don`t think it was any certain position that done the job, making her do a handstand for two hours after the deed might have helped though.

Legs were gone were they… :rolleyes: